JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19.04.2011, 23:47
carlmart carlmart is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 162
Default Problems in automatic downloading

Is there something going on that I don't know about? Instead of going forward, making things easier, we are going backwards, making things harder.

I ask this because now it seems that Netload too, after Filesonic last week, does not allow automatic download after a break or something, going on from the point the file was down.

As it is now, it sees only Rapidshare and Megaupload allow that. Is there anyone else?

Is there anything that can be done about it? Is it related to some JD upgrade?

Last edited by Jiaz; 20.04.2011 at 17:55.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20.04.2011, 04:32
tony2long's Avatar
tony2long tony2long is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5,513
Default

Netload seems working as usual, maybe slower.
Please explain more about the problem, post example links and log.

Last edited by tony2long; 20.04.2011 at 04:34.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20.04.2011, 05:46
carlmart carlmart is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 162
Default

The problem was very simple. I tried to download a file, the connection cut off after about 1/3 was down. When the link was restored, Netload zeroed what was down and started from zero again.

The link was this one

Code:
**External links are only visible to Supporters**
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20.04.2011, 11:47
remi remi is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Absurdistan
Posts: 16,237
Default

There is no resumable icon in the Host column. Netload.in might have removed that feature for free loaders.
__________________
WikiLeaks is the Intelligence Agency of the People, defending People against the Hypocrisy and the Crimes of the Neo-Communist Power Elites. Governments are like a metastatic cancer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20.04.2011, 13:56
carlmart carlmart is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 162
Default

What host column is that and what icon should be there?

Netload removed that feature for that file or for all?

That's my original question: has Netload changed features for free loaders?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20.04.2011, 14:51
remi remi is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Absurdistan
Posts: 16,237
Default

I don't know for sure, but your link didn't show the resumable icon (2 blue circular arrows) in the Host column of the Download pane.

I need more example links to confirm this.
__________________
WikiLeaks is the Intelligence Agency of the People, defending People against the Hypocrisy and the Crimes of the Neo-Communist Power Elites. Governments are like a metastatic cancer.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20.04.2011, 17:55
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 51,502
Default

netload free does not support free
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20.04.2011, 17:55
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 51,502
Default

without logfile we cant provide further help
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20.04.2011, 18:47
carlmart carlmart is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
netload free does not support free
What does that mean? What is Netload free?

I'm telling you that until last week I was downloading files from Netload with no problem. Even if there were interruptions, they didn't reset the files to the beginning. They took a long time but did download.

Has that changed?

Filesonic also did not reset the files, but now they reset, as Fileserve and others. Did Filesonic change that too?

Last edited by carlmart; 20.04.2011 at 18:51.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20.04.2011, 20:02
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 51,502
Default

Netload has server issues that can cause your download problems.
Netload free = you are a free user (not having a premium account) and free users cannot resume a download. so after a download problem, the download starts from beginning.

please provide a logfile?
do you use virgin media?

http://support.jdownloader.org/index...&kbarticleid=8
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20.04.2011, 20:48
carlmart carlmart is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Netload has server issues that can cause your download problems.
Netload free = you are a free user (not having a premium account) and free users cannot resume a download. so after a download problem, the download starts from beginning.
OK. Server issues might cause my problems indeed.

But it's not exactly true that free downloading from Netscape does not allow download resume. As I said, they did until last week, as I am downloading a series from them. As their free download is slow, if the downloads do not resume it would be impossible downloading from them.

But that changed from that file I put above, so I wonder if no resuming is specific for that file only, if Netload changed their policy, or if recent JD upgrades might not have influenced that.

Quote:
please provide a logfile?
Please forgive my ignorance, but what is a logfile? Logfile for what? The only thing I have is the file name I put above.

Quote:
do you use virgin media?
What does it have to do with this problem? I use DVDs and CDs as virgin media indeed.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20.04.2011, 21:11
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 51,502
Default

i just checked source, netload free never could resume, nor they provide this function serverside. your only way to resume downloads was by using a premium account

virgin media had a firmware update that caused alot of connection issues for most of the ppl using their routers
http://support.jdownloader.org/index...kbarticleid=25

logfile:
http://support.jdownloader.org/index...&kbarticleid=8
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20.04.2011, 21:33
carlmart carlmart is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
i just checked source, netload free never could resume, nor they provide this function serverside. your only way to resume downloads was by using a premium account
That is not so. I disregard and rarely use servers that do not provide free download with automatic resume, besides RS where I have my premium account. RS, MU and NL always did resume. Your information is not right, or the source you checked is wrong. Filesonic also did resume, as I was informed on this very same forum. Not it doesn't either. Fileserve apparently does resume, but you have to your their download manager. In all cases I am talking about free downloading, not premium.

Quote:
virgin media had a firmware update that caused alot of connection issues for most of the ppl using their routers
Oh, Virgin media was a specific media brand? No, I never used it. Just TDK, Sony and Philips for my media.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 21.04.2011, 10:48
remi remi is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Absurdistan
Posts: 16,237
Default

That host was resumable for free loaders, otherwise my list has contained an error for some time. I've now updated my list of "Resumable hosts for freeloaders".
__________________
WikiLeaks is the Intelligence Agency of the People, defending People against the Hypocrisy and the Crimes of the Neo-Communist Power Elites. Governments are like a metastatic cancer.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21.04.2011, 13:34
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 51,502
Default

i checked last 6 months, was not possible as free user to resume on netload.in

virgin media is isp/router.

rs free never did resume.
fileserve free also did not resume.

mu,filesonic free do resume.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 21.04.2011, 13:34
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 51,502
Default

still no logfile
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 23.04.2011, 23:13
carlmart carlmart is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 162
Default

Please forgive me, but which is the logfile?

The only thing I have is that URL I put above.

Fileserve never resumed. They claim that it does, even free, if you use their File Manager, similar to JD but too invasive.

Filesonic did resume, but now it seems it doesn't.

Netload always resumed, or I wouldn't be using it. They did not, at least on that file. Could it be something specific on that file?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 23.04.2011, 23:44
drbits's Avatar
drbits drbits is offline
JD English Support (inactive)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Physically in Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 4,437
Default

Fileserve does not resume with JD (they check the software you are using). The developers are aware of the problem and looking for a solution.

Netload, FileServe, and FileSonic all dropped resume for free users during the past year.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 24.04.2011, 00:29
carlmart carlmart is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 162
Default

Difficult problem downloading with no resume then. Nobody can afford premium fees on all servers, so it's a difficult decision.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 24.04.2011, 10:06
remi remi is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Absurdistan
Posts: 16,237
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by drbits View Post
Netload, FileServe, and FileSonic all dropped resume for free users during the past year.
Filesonic is still resumable here. I'm a free loader.
__________________
WikiLeaks is the Intelligence Agency of the People, defending People against the Hypocrisy and the Crimes of the Neo-Communist Power Elites. Governments are like a metastatic cancer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:43.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.