JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13.12.2010, 13:17
MartyMcFly42
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default JD window stays on top

I'm having this problem for a long time, I'm not sure if it's just me or if it happened to someone else as well, but the situation is as following:

I have JD window on top and when I want to go somewhere else (for example to browser window), JD window stays on top. It simply is over other windows all the time and I'm unable to get rid of it, unless I minimalize or quit this window. I'm not sure why this is happening, but this way, I cannot ALT+TAB tasks, I cannot have the window in background.

I don't know when it stops happening, but after some time, it's back to normal.

Anyone else had this error ?

Last edited by Jiaz; 13.12.2010 at 14:04.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13.12.2010, 13:18
MartyMcFly42
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Oh, I have latest Java & Win XP. 2GB RAM if it's of any worth.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13.12.2010, 13:44
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

what jd version do you use? what java version? what theme in jd?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13.12.2010, 13:46
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

@MartyMcFly42

I've had this issue with other applications, not with jD. When it happens I restart the application and the problem is solved. I'm using Windoze XP as well. I think it's one of the many Windoze bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13.12.2010, 13:51
MartyMcFly42
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Looks like I have 0.9.580. Well, I'm not sure about Java version, but it's JRE and either V6U20 or V6U22 (latest), I can't find it.
Substance Twilight is the skin, but I belive it's not about skin, because I change skin every month or so and this problem was on all of them.

As far as I know, I wasn't writing this problem down back then.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13.12.2010, 14:02
Michl
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MartyMcFly42 View Post
Anyone else had this error ?
Yeah, pretty often.

Windows 7 Professional, 32bit.
java version "1.6.0_22"
JD -xmas- Version 0.9.580
Windows Style, no Windowdecorations

Somehow I believe this only appears when JD and/or Windows had been running for a few days, but I'm not keeping any records of it.

What is even more annoying though, is when the captcha windows pops up.
Even though it is in the foreground, it is only active when the JD main window is closed (but not when its somewhere in the background or minimized).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13.12.2010, 14:03
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

please upgrade to nightly. the always on top bug should be fixed there.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13.12.2010, 15:04
MartyMcFly42
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Oh, it happened again. I was just watching a film (in Media Player Classic with - bingo, "on top while playing" option enabled) and captcha window popped up over this window. Yep, it was on top even over film with "on top" option :-D

Then, I had to minimalize JD window, because it stucked on top.




Maybe nothing, but worth mentioning.

Gotta search for some info about what Nightfly is.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13.12.2010, 15:46
MartyMcFly42
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remi View Post
@MartyMcFly42

I've had this issue with other applications, not with jD. When it happens I restart the application and the problem is solved. I'm using Windoze XP as well. I think it's one of the many Windoze bugs.
Which can be a problem in JD, because even though some hosters allows continuing of unfinished downloading, others such as rapidshare or hotfile doesn't have this option, so I either have to wait till they're finished (and meanwhile others will start, or I have to disable them, or click on "stop after all current downloads are complete", which however would prevent me from downloading new stuff that could be continued). Sigh, it's difficult.


----------------------------------------------------

Also, I've read posts in Nightfly section of these boards and ... isn't Nightfly for Developers (and not public users as myself) only ? Just trying to understand.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13.12.2010, 16:23
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

The Nightfly? That's one of my all time favourite albums.

Please read "What is Nightly and where do I get it?".

Note that I never experienced this problem with jD.

@MartyMcFly42

The captcha dialogue will always come on top, no matter what version of jD you'll use. Jiaz, correct me if I'm wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13.12.2010, 17:22
MartyMcFly42
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remi View Post
The Nightfly? That's one of my all time favourite albums.

Please read "What is Nightly and where do I get it?".

Note that I never experienced this problem with jD.

@MartyMcFly42

The captcha dialogue will always come on top, no matter what version of jD you'll use. Jiaz, correct me if I'm wrong.
I would rather go with "Fly by Night" by Rush. But I like Nightfly as well.

Yep, I've read it. This topics says that it's for developers, not users. I can use it, but I'm afraid of the fact that it's testing version.

And also:

http://board.jdownloader.org/showpos...2&postcount=17
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 13.12.2010, 17:29
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

the version is very stable (more stable than current public) and less ressource needing (cpu/ram) and new features and so on. i never use the public version
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 13.12.2010, 19:11
MartyMcFly42
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

(shocked smile). Well, then it's time to try this one out. I hope that my download list can be somehow transfered to Nightfly. I'll try.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 14.12.2010, 12:37
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

Just copy your old jD\config folder over the new \config folder.

@Jiaz

I think you need to make a decision here.

If you're recommending the Nightly because it's more stable, uses less resources and has new features, why don't you officially make it the new Stable version?

If some features of the Stable version are still missing in the Nightly, just describe them and the customers will then be able to decide which version to use.

When the Nightly becomes the new Stable version, the developers can then start experimenting with a new Nightly version and the testers have something new to test.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 14.12.2010, 15:54
bici-boci bici-boci is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 753
Default

I hope we will get the Nightly for Christmas as a new Stable.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08.01.2011, 14:16
Michl
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
please upgrade to nightly. the always on top bug should be fixed there.
Nope, had it happen just the other day again.

-NIGHTLY- Build 13261
1.6.0_22
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08.01.2011, 14:36
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

I've never experienced this. I would try update 21 of the JRE.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 26.05.2011, 16:22
tazztone
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hi
just want to share a workaround:
in the link grabber: click on ADD URLs and then just cancel.
JD should act the way it should again now
hth
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 26.05.2011, 17:19
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

thanks for feedback
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 16.07.2011, 07:13
smoker68x
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default W00000!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tazztone View Post
hi
just want to share a workaround:
in the link grabber: click on ADD URLs and then just cancel.
JD should act the way it should again now
hth
Not a fix, but I'll definitely take it, lol...

Running Window 7 x86
JD 0.9.581
Java 6 Update 26

I have had this problem quite often (and for some time now) and have never been able to resolve it without restarting JD.

On a side note, I generally don't restart my computer, I put it to sleep at night and when I leave for work, and it only gets rebooted about 2-4 times a month or less. I usually have to give JD a restart at least once a week because of that or resource usage... Not sure if any of this will help pinpoint the problem, but I figured I'd add my 2 cents...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:44.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.