JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07.01.2012, 14:17
7leagueboot's Avatar
7leagueboot 7leagueboot is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Livigno
Posts: 169
Default

jre-6u21-windows-i586.exe?
Are you sure it's compatible with a 64bit O/S?
Do I need to uninstall the existing java app first?

Before I do any of the above, please note there is a megaupload link in the current list. Could it be there's a problem with their servers again, in which case should I just change to the nightly version?

I have not had any problems downloading from megaupload until the most recent jD update.

Last edited by 7leagueboot; 07.01.2012 at 14:28.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07.01.2012, 14:25
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You don't need to un-install the 64 bits version, but you need to make sure that your default java for jD is the 32 bits version.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07.01.2012, 14:31
7leagueboot's Avatar
7leagueboot 7leagueboot is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Livigno
Posts: 169
Default

Please check out my previous post as I edited it at the same time you were posting your reply remi. My fear is that this has nothing to do with java. As others have noted, jD begins downloading and then freezes. I have to use the task manager to exit and even then Windows says it cannot close it but that message is followed by another window that lets me close the app.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07.01.2012, 14:38
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,303
Default

We haven't updated any core parts of jd for ~1 year, what you download are plugin updates and they have no ability to crash jdownloader/java, at worse they throw exceptions. So it must be something external that's causing issues, I would revert to java 1.6.0 see if its reproducible. If it is then it's not java and something else that's causing it like firewall/antivirus/infected computer with virus/trojan. Do you have any hs_error files in your install directory?
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07.01.2012, 14:57
7leagueboot's Avatar
7leagueboot 7leagueboot is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Livigno
Posts: 169
Default

Virus scan shows a clean machine. There are no recent hs_error files. In fact, there are only 2 and both date back to november 2010. Before I make any changes to java I'm going to delete the megaupload link and see what that gives.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07.01.2012, 15:19
7leagueboot's Avatar
7leagueboot 7leagueboot is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Livigno
Posts: 169
Default

Works fine without the megaupload link. So jD is having trouble with MU links again.
Before you guys ask people to make changes to their system you might want to ask if they are attempting to download any MU links as this could well be the common denominator.

If you don't believe me, read this post:
http://board.jdownloader.org/showthread.php?t=34701

Last edited by 7leagueboot; 07.01.2012 at 15:22.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07.01.2012, 15:44
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

a crash is a close of jdownloader = doesnt matter what you load
a freeze is not updating / reacting of jdownloader windows
rest are bugs

if your jdownloader crashes because of megaupload link in list, it is not jdownloader fault. jdownloader cannot crash java and never has. it's very likely to be a firewall/av caused issued
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07.01.2012, 16:02
editestowy's Avatar
editestowy editestowy is offline
Polish Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: PL
Posts: 3,029
Default

Are you sure that your AV/FV is set correctly?
Maybe with this specific link your antivirus/FV blocks the app (in this case jD) causing freeze or Java crash.
Correct rules are: add java executables to the AV/FV trusted apps and switch off web scan/do not allow AV to trace network traffic for these executables.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07.01.2012, 16:26
7leagueboot's Avatar
7leagueboot 7leagueboot is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Livigno
Posts: 169
Default

It is definitely not a firewall or AV issue. All java apps and jD are added to the exclusion lists of both in Comodo Internet Security.
The megaupload link I was having trouble with downloaded without problem using the Firefox extension DownThemAll except that the speed was very poor compared with say Filesonic.

To me, when a program no longer responds (you can no longer access it), it has crashed. jD does not close when it crashes, it simply ceases to do anything and if you even try to move its window nothing happens. The only way to close it is via the task manager.

Call me an idiot if you wish but from where I'm standing if jD, or more to the point Java, crashes when a megaupload link is being downloaded but it doesn't when the link is removed then there has to be a tie with megaupload. As the same link comes down using another DM perhaps the issue can be resolved with a modified hoster plugin update?

For now, I'm happy that jD works with other hosts. I can get around the megaupload issue using DownThemAll. For me, the problem is solved even though the solution may not be perfect.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07.01.2012, 16:35
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

no longer responds is a freeze and not a crash. this freeze is caused by an unlimited read timeout blocking the gui to update. this is known and fixed with next major release. you can also use the nightly version
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 07.01.2012, 16:47
7leagueboot's Avatar
7leagueboot 7leagueboot is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Livigno
Posts: 169
Default

Thanks Jiaz. But why does this freeze appear to be limited to megaupload links? Of course there may be others I am not aware of.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 07.01.2012, 16:56
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

megaupload server issues where the underlying tcp stream is closed without proper tcp shutdown -> without readtimeout (the bug) jd waits for data forever
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 12.01.2012, 03:50
xdgatinha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hola mi nombre es bien Ivonete

estallˇ con un problema que el uso jdownloader y un error dice que el sistema no puede hallar la ruta especificada y no se abren y realmente necesito este programa,
Yo uso windows 7 no interfiere con algo que usted sabe porque lo he usado que Windows no puede iniciarse el problema, pero ahora no puedo dar problemas para desinstalar jre-6u30-windows-i586-s

si usted me puede ayudar le estarÚ eternamente agradecido

ahora gracias

sinceramente Ivonete

Last edited by xdgatinha; 12.01.2012 at 03:52. Reason: errei
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 12.01.2012, 05:06
tony2long's Avatar
tony2long tony2long is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6,245
Default

Ivonete,
First, install jre until you are able to run cmd "java -version".
jre-6u30-windows-i586-s is OK, no need to uninstall.
__________________
FAQ: How to upload a Log
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 12.01.2012, 05:24
xdgatinha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Jdownloader

already installed but not working because they do not intend menssagen appears that the system can not find the path specified


what appears when I try to open the jdownloader




Me ajuda por Favor:helpsmilie::helpsmilie::helpsmilie:
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 12.01.2012, 06:16
tony2long's Avatar
tony2long tony2long is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6,245
Default

This is for advanced user, so be careful:
Find where the jre (java.exe) is installed. in XP it is in C:\Program Files\Java\jre\bin

Right click "My Computer" - Properties - Advanced - Environtment Variables
In System variables, find "Path", double click, add at the end:
;C:\Program Files\Java\jre\bin

That is for XP, for you, put what you found from above (first paragraph). Don't omit the ";".

Then press OK 3 times.

Warning: If you make a mistake, you might not be able to use your computer.
__________________
FAQ: How to upload a Log
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 12.01.2012, 10:45
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@xdgatinha/Ivonete

I would use a registry cleaner to remove the inconsistencies in your registry and if that isn't sufficient remove your current JRE and re-install it. This should automatically repair your Path variable.

Note that there is a Spanish forum as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:35.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.