JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25.01.2015, 18:35
UnixRonin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Extra folders when downloading

I'm having an odd problem with JDownloader2. When I download a .jar file, JDownloader 1 would just download the jar file and save it where I told it to. JDownloader 2 is downloading the jar file, creating a folder matching the .jar file name with periods in the name replaced by spaces, and tucking the jar file into that folder instead, making me go through each of those folders, move the file back where I wanted it in the first place, and delete the unwanted folder. The problem seems to be that a <jd:packagename> is being added to my specified "save to" location, without asking me whether I want it. I can reset this back to the location I want in the properties of each download, but I have to do this for every download in the grabber list, individually, by hand.

How can I stop this unwanted behavior and have JDownloader 2 just put the file were I told it I wanted it saved?

Last edited by UnixRonin; 25.01.2015 at 18:53.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25.01.2015, 19:21
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 48,767
Default

Settings --> Packagizer --> Subfolder by packagename --> DEACTIVATE

GreeZ psp
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26.01.2015, 22:45
UnixRonin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you! That was not at all obvious.
Disabled now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04.03.2015, 19:07
Oldgeezer Oldgeezer is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pspzockerscene View Post
Settings --> Packagizer --> Subfolder by packagename --> DEACTIVATE

GreeZ psp
When I do that it does eliminate creating a sub folder in the download directory but the package name becomes "various files" I just want to stop it from making a new folder for every file. I still want the package name to match the file. I keep having to delete <jd:packagename> from the properties. In JD 1 there was a box in the corner of the main screen you could uncheck.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04.03.2015, 19:20
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 48,767
Default

Hi
Only packages with single files should get the "various" packagename by default.
To turn that off, disable this setting in the advanced settings:
LinkgrabberSettings: Various Package
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04.03.2015, 19:36
Oldgeezer Oldgeezer is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pspzockerscene View Post
Hi
Only packages with single files should get the "various" packagename by default.
To turn that off, disable this setting in the advanced settings:
LinkgrabberSettings: Various Package
Yeah, I just figured that out before I got back here. Why does this have to be complicated in JD 2? Probably a lot of people would prefer not to have the subfolder default.

This is how simple it was in JD 1. Just uncheck the box once and forget about it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04.03.2015, 19:49
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 48,767
Default

@Oldgeezer
I'll make a ticket for that.
The major difference is that, in JD2 this is a default setting and you cannot change it directly in the package properties.


GreeZ psp
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04.03.2015, 20:30
Oldgeezer Oldgeezer is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 62
Default

Thank you. Sub folders was the default setting in JD 1 too but so much simpler to disable. JD 2 is a major improvement over 1 but I have hit this wall of struggling to figure out the settings many times. Common changes that are not risky to change should not be in advanced settings. Guys like you that are smart enough to develop complex programs sometimes forget that descriptions that make perfect sense to you will leave the average user like me pulling my hair out to just change one function. GUIs are intended to make things easy.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04.03.2015, 20:35
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 48,767
Default

No we will improve this.
Without your detailed feedback which you can post HERE it is hard for us to improve JD to fit your needs

GreeZ psp
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:06.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.