JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #2701  
Old 29.09.2017, 10:07
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

@laxxal: please post the links again or send them to support@jdownloader.org, then we can check that
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #2702  
Old 29.09.2017, 10:10
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

@ElCho: please provide a debug log. go to settings-advanced settings, search for debug and enable log debug. Then restart JDownloader and reproduce the issue and provide log, see https://support.jdownloader.org/Know...d-session-logs and post shown logID here

I'll fix the subtitle issue
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #2703  
Old 29.09.2017, 12:37
laxxal laxxal is offline
Baby Loader
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default

"sign in to confirm your age" problem

The trick ist the word „embed“

„.com/watch?v=example123“
to
„.com/embed/example123“

Last edited by laxxal; 29.09.2017 at 12:40.
Reply With Quote
  #2704  
Old 29.09.2017, 12:40
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,223
Default

even embed doesn't work all the time, at least in my previous tests
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #2705  
Old 29.09.2017, 12:54
laxxal laxxal is offline
Baby Loader
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raztoki View Post
even embed doesn't work all the time, at least in my previous tests
What says Youtube, when it does not work?

If i had forgot to delete the equality sign in the link, then it doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #2706  
Old 29.09.2017, 13:02
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

@laxxal: maybe you can provide a real example link?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #2707  
Old 29.09.2017, 14:16
laxxal laxxal is offline
Baby Loader
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
@laxxal: maybe you can provide a real example link?
(dont copy "hxxps://" or replace hxxps to https)

hxxps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a9ITIaKzG3A
to
hxxps://www.youtube.com/embed/a9ITIaKzG3A

or
hxxps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gpS3hoaHkC8
to
hxxps://www.youtube.com/embed/gpS3hoaHkC8

Last edited by laxxal; 29.09.2017 at 14:23.
Reply With Quote
  #2708  
Old 29.09.2017, 16:49
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #2709  
Old 30.09.2017, 01:07
ElCho ElCho is offline
Fibre Channel User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Default

I tried again and it is working fine, the problem was because some non-working proxies I forget to disable before doing the tests. JD2 is grabbing all the regular as well as "CC" subtitles now, even without me changing that "DISPLAY" option. The only left would be fixing the subtitles' filenames in case there are available more than one for the same language, and maybe identifying the "CC" ones as such. Regarding the ASR ones, I think those are not really important since their accuracy is not reliable.

By the way, there is some minor issue respect the "Overview" panel showing an incorrect amount of selected files when there are at least one repeated filename in the list; those with duplicated filenames will not be counted.

Last edited by ElCho; 30.09.2017 at 01:26.
Reply With Quote
  #2710  
Old 02.10.2017, 13:09
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

@ElCho: ASR will be included in Filename with next update.
You have to change LNG[DISPLAY] to LNG[FULL] for the full subtitle language to be shown
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #2711  
Old 02.10.2017, 15:01
ElCho ElCho is offline
Fibre Channel User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Default

OK thanks, hopefully you could fix the other little issues as well.
Reply With Quote
  #2712  
Old 02.10.2017, 15:07
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Linkgrabber does duplicate counting on filename only. So 2 links will same filename will be counted as one
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #2713  
Old 02.10.2017, 15:32
ElCho ElCho is offline
Fibre Channel User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Default

I see, then I bet making JD2 rename them accordingly will be enough. Maybe a "CC", and some "2" or whatever for the languages that have more than one available.
Reply With Quote
  #2714  
Old 02.10.2017, 15:58
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Just change to LNG[FULL] and the name will be different
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #2715  
Old 03.10.2017, 08:10
ElCho ElCho is offline
Fibre Channel User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Default

Yes, I noted that the regional variants as well as the "ASR" ones are distinguished now, but there is still a need for those special cases when there are more than one subtitle for the same language, but which aren't correctly differentiated by the publisher; those ones will still get the same name, as it happens with the "Polish" subtitles available in the video from my second example.
Reply With Quote
  #2716  
Old 04.10.2017, 09:43
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Your example works just fine for me with LNG[FULL]. Both have different names.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #2717  
Old 04.10.2017, 13:03
ElCho ElCho is offline
Fibre Channel User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Default

OK, maybe I'm doing something wrong then, please have a look:

https://i.imgur.com/aS3lvWO.gif
Reply With Quote
  #2718  
Old 04.10.2017, 13:10
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Can you please copy and paste your subtitle format string here
and please provide example you've used for the test
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #2719  
Old 04.10.2017, 15:02
ElCho ElCho is offline
Fibre Channel User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Default

Here it is:

Quote:
*VIDEO_NAME* (*LNG[FULL]*).*EXT*
The example is the second one from here:

https://board.jdownloader.org/showpo...postcount=2697
Reply With Quote
  #2720  
Old 04.10.2017, 16:43
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

I've added auto-increment counter in case there are multiple subtitles for same language. only visibsle for lng[full]. wait for next core update
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:47.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.