JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08.12.2020, 01:38
verheiratet1952 verheiratet1952 is offline
Peta Loader
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 180
Default no more "JDownloader2.vmoptions" to assign RAM manually?

no more "JDownloader2.vmoptions" to assign RAM manually?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08.12.2020, 08:00
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 70,153
Default

? What do you mean? If the file doesn't exist, just create it.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09.12.2020, 00:43
verheiratet1952 verheiratet1952 is offline
Peta Loader
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
? What do you mean? If the file doesn't exist, just create it.
I add a file with filename JDownloader2.vmoptions

and text

-Xmx16g
-Dsun.java2d.d3d=false


but it does not assign more RAM to JD app... it is max 7,04 at about screen, as before without adding JDownloader2.vmoptions


(my machine has 32gb RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09.12.2020, 11:25
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 70,153
Default

Have you re-installed JDownloader? Because only that can change the launcher itself. If so, what Installer have you used? Maybe one that doesn't work with .vmoptions files?
You are still starting JDownloader via Launcher/Exe?

You can check if vmoptions file is still applied by trying lower value, eg Xmx4g to see if max is 4gb then.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09.12.2020, 15:12
verheiratet1952 verheiratet1952 is offline
Peta Loader
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Have you re-installed JDownloader? Because only that can change the launcher itself. If so, what Installer have you used? Maybe one that doesn't work with .vmoptions files?
You are still starting JDownloader via Launcher/Exe?

You can check if vmoptions file is still applied by trying lower value, eg Xmx4g to see if max is 4gb then.
new install with "MULTIOS JAR without Installer" from cmd

starting JD with JDownloader.jar from install path...


what to do next?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09.12.2020, 15:47
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 70,153
Default

.vmoptions only work with the launchers/.exe files! The launcher will read the parameters and forward them to java.
It's not possible to set those params on already running JVM, eg running .jar directly.

JDownloader.jar, you have to manually specify those on commandline as you start the jar directly.
eg create a batch with or shortcut
javaw.exe -Xmx16g -jar JDownloader.jar
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09.12.2020, 21:32
verheiratet1952 verheiratet1952 is offline
Peta Loader
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
.vmoptions only work with the launchers/.exe files! The launcher will read the parameters and forward them to java.
It's not possible to set those params on already running JVM, eg running .jar directly.

JDownloader.jar, you have to manually specify those on commandline as you start the jar directly.
eg create a batch with or shortcut
javaw.exe -Xmx16g -jar JDownloader.jar

thx a lot...

and how to make sure than I can run 2 JD installs at the same time?
do I have to use TWO different JAVA path origins?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09.12.2020, 22:17
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,297
Default

install to two seperate paths. they have there own configs (all within there own install path)
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10.12.2020, 01:00
verheiratet1952 verheiratet1952 is offline
Peta Loader
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raztoki View Post
install to two seperate paths. they have there own configs (all within there own install path)

well, I am using shortcut with

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Oracle\Java\javapath\javaw.exe" -Xmx24576m -jar "FOLDER\jdownloader.jar"


java path is same for every install !?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10.12.2020, 09:24
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 70,153
Default

@verheiratet1952: Thanks for sharing example shortcut

Yes, it's fine to use the same java installation for multiple applications/instances
You can also use -Xmx24g instead of -Xmx24576m
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:31.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.