JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #5241  
Old 29.10.2022, 01:15
M_Bison M_Bison is offline
Baby Loader
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
I'm sorry I don't see any problem on your screenshot or don't understand. It shows that by default the best 1920p is selected. Video max is 3840x1920, so 1920p is the best.
my mistake. I misunderstood the 1920p. thanks for the help.

edit- with the app when downloading YouTube, how does it decide when to use .mkv or .mp4 at the same resolution?

Last edited by M_Bison; 29.10.2022 at 10:31.
Reply With Quote
  #5242  
Old 31.10.2022, 00:35
jeffr jeffr is offline
Vacuum Cleaner
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 17
Default

So, now that it's been OVER TWO YEARS since the infamous "a nice present for Christmas 2020" post, and Jdownloader still faithfully breaks after 100 packages when crawling on YouTube. Now that YouTube doesn't allow you to sort by oldest videos and shrewdly doesn't show you all the videos when you view by newest, Jdownloader is OBJECTIVELY unusable for channel archiving. So, donations don't provide enough motivation, Jdownloader actually being unusable for archiving entire channels doesn't... are we ever going to see a solution to this? I'm about to take the 50 bucks I was willing to donate and buy 4K video downloader, which has always worked as expected. Yes, I know YT-DL exists, but a frontend that isn't very buggy still doesn't seem to exist, and I don't want to deal with CLI right now.

I understand that this is a free program, but when one of the primary uses for it is broken for over TWO YEARS and the only workaround no longer works, how patient am I really supposed to be? The ignoring of all the donation offers is what really blows my mind.

It's so frustrating because this is the ONLY reason that Jdownloader2 has gone from being hands down the best way to archive YouTube channels to the only one that's actually unusable for the task.

EDIT: I don't want to jump the gun here, but it does appear that all videos now show when scrolling in the "newest" direction, so gracefully it does appear that they reverted that change when removing the "sort by oldest" feature. So, it appears that the linkclipper workaround does still work. Still though... two years. We need to at least see some project notes or something. "We will get to it someday" doesn't work anymore. We need to know WHY it's taking so absurdly long. How do you not realize that by being very transparent about that, you're a lot more likely to get programmers to help you out with fixing it? In this time, you could have entirely rewritten the plugin to be based on YT-DL and shovel the responsibility for keeping up with YT changes to that team. What has taken over two years? The silence is worse than the bug not being fixed, at this point.

Last edited by jeffr; 31.10.2022 at 04:35.
Reply With Quote
  #5243  
Old 02.11.2022, 20:58
lokan lokan is offline
Baby Loader
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default

It seems like jdownloader doesn't recognize the 8k HDR AV1 variant. I noticed it because apparently youtube doesn't convert 8k HDR videos to a normal 8k version.
I confirmed it is available to download in yt-dlp.

For examples, if you look at this channel for the ones labeled "8k HDR"
**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**

**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**
**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**
**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**
**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**
**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**
Reply With Quote
  #5244  
Old 04.11.2022, 23:35
dbkarm dbkarm is offline
Giga Loader
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Default

youtube download exceeds 100% see attachment:

URL: **External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**

Attached Thumbnails
yt-exceeds-100.jpeg  

Last edited by dbkarm; 04.11.2022 at 23:38.
Reply With Quote
  #5245  
Old 06.11.2022, 23:40
potove potove is offline
JD Fan
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 72
Default

I just noticed that when downloading YouTube videos, JDownloader2 is only using 1 single connection per video. (used to be able to allow 2 to 20 connection per video)

Is this something new? It's making the downloads very slow... :(

By the way, when using the search function of this forum, it will not let me search "YouTube"?

Sorry - no matches. Please try some different terms.
The following words are either very common, too long, or too short and were not included in your search : youtube
Reply With Quote
  #5246  
Old 07.11.2022, 19:54
Fabio Feminò Fabio Feminò is offline
Modem User
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 2
Default No longer downloading YouTube

Dear Persons, I have two copies of JDownloader2 installed in two different Mac OS, 10.8.5 and 10.11.6 Both copies are now unable to download from YouTube. I have not tried other sites. One copy of JD2 does not see the videos anymore, the other says that a component is obsolete. Please tell me if it is a technical glitch (and there will be an update for it) or if I need only to reinstall the program. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #5247  
Old 07.11.2022, 19:56
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 64,713
Default

Merged YT threads.
@Fabio Feminò

Please post your log-ID here | bitte poste deine Log-ID hier.

-psp-
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager
JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #5248  
Old 12.11.2022, 19:55
JDmurphy JDmurphy is offline
Fibre Channel User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 120
Default

The following is not the cause for me posting/replying (late), but anyways while I'm at it:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Just checked and reset already clears link local and global cache. [...] Please know that reset will only reset selected links and the global link.
I'm a lil' confused by those two statements, because they seem to contradict each other. Is there a section about global vs. local links in the support wiki or anywhere else that might help to inform myself about the difference(s) and would spare you another explanation?

As for "reset will only reset selected links" - unless I misunderstood this part - that's a given condition since right-clicking a link to choose "Other > Reset" from the context menu automatically selects the link in question. (Beyond that standard case, multi-selecting a group of links would be required just like for any context menu operation.) Self-evidently I don't expect the 59208 other links in my download tab to be reset as well when performing a reset on a single link (or selected link group) :D

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz
if there are links in linkgrabber, those will not be affected by this. you will have to move those to download list and then reset.
Yeah that's what I always did, as it's another given condition:
In order to realize a link happens to be throttled, it necessarily has to be moved to the download list before; hence I only ever tried to reset links which were already in the "Downloads" tab.

EDIT: Also how do you reset links in the "LinkGrabber" tab? There's no "Reset" in the "Other" context menu, and I don't know any other way to do it O.o

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz
I could not reproduce this issue.
Maybe because at the time of trying to reproduce it, yt links weren't throttled anymore? :3
Speaking of which, I only got exactly *one* throttled link yesterday over the past months ... anyone else experiencing this lately? ... usually this is how it always goes when youtube starts a new round of throttling, so let's knock on wood it doesn't happen. Also not enough to reproduce anything besides that single occurance, so I didn't bother to post about it being unable to provide more useful information.

Other than that, there have been a few update-related annoyances popping up a couple months ago (not sure yet which of those qualify as bugs - one of them sure does, however that one has been already reported by another member to no avail) but since update releases are currently halted (update announcement on Sep 7th vs. current build date still being Sep 6th like you mentioned on Sep 13th) I didn't bother to report these either until there's a realistic chance to get to it, not risking them to go by the board in the meantime.

Therefore all of this bickering is still not the reason to post, the actual cause for it is a somewhat more critical issue which I just encountered first as of today:

Youtube seems to roll out the announced handle channel urls now, in the format youtube.com/@handle
and it looks like the linkgrabber doesn't parse them.
Can you reproduce this? (:
Example upon request, if necessary.

The workaround is to click on the HOME or VIDEOS tab to get to the youtube.com/c/channel/ format, but maybe that's something that would justify an interim update / hot fix since it will inevitably confuse quite a few users.

Last edited by JDmurphy; 12.11.2022 at 23:19. Reason: typo + amendment
Reply With Quote
  #5249  
Old 12.11.2022, 22:47
JDmurphy JDmurphy is offline
Fibre Channel User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 120
Default Multi-Connection / Multi-Chunk Youtube Downloads

Seperate reply post, becoz completely different subject:

Quote:
Originally Posted by potove View Post
I just noticed that when downloading YouTube videos, JDownloader2 is only using 1 single connection per video. (used to be able to allow 2 to 20 connection per video)

Is this something new?
Nope :3 The related change was said to have gone live mid April, as confirmed by Leifman in #4795
whereas I for some weird reason didn't encounter the change to be effective until early June as noted in #4909 + #4918
(click on the new window's top right link to see single posts in context).
So maybe you also just didn't experience/notice it before? Either way, it's been a while ...

Quote:
It's making the downloads very slow... :(
Personally I'm not affected that much, as my limited bandwidth (50 Mpbs) is kinda almost fully utilized. However:
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDmurphy View Post
Quote:
unfortunately the new method currently doesn't support chunks but with much higher speeds there should be no need for it.
While the wording "no need" is technically correct, apparently, multi chunk download still saturates the line way more evenly and consistently. The demise of multi chunk youtube dl happening (as to my notion) exactly around the time where I finally could actually make use of it, is a big BIG bummer
While it was brought up earlier that "increasing max connections/chunks can lead to faster blocking by yt", I still believed and believe multi chunks to be advantegous nonetheless despite issues mentioned at the bottom of my response #4603, but also for reasons regarding sensible download/chunk settings explained there – note that this was before the change.

Consequently, I asked about it anyhow and the current status quo (I ♥ tautologies) officially is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Quote:
Therefore: Any chance of multi chunk youtube download coming back at any point in the foreseeable future?
in future yes, because it requires the *next gen download core* that is still in development. with it, multi chunk will be able again:) but I'm sorry that I can't provide any ETA on it :(

Technically unrelated, yet fitting so perfectly:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Quote:
The silence regarding the matter is a lil sus tho
we ain't got no time for this
I have never seen this reply before, just stumbled across it while searching up older posts and it gave me a hearty laugh that totally made my day

Spoiler:
Maybe this post could also be used for future reference should anyone ask about the same thing again, since it pretty much sums it all up :'3
Reply With Quote
  #5250  
Old 13.11.2022, 19:31
jdmaster jdmaster is offline
JD Alpha
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffr View Post
So, now that it's been OVER TWO YEARS since the infamous "a nice present for Christmas 2020" post, and Jdownloader still faithfully breaks after 100 packages when crawling on YouTube.

My solution to this problem involves Firefox and the following add-ons:

- downthemall
- foxscroller
- loadtabonselect

If there's interest in this solution, I will provide with more details.
Reply With Quote
  #5251  
Old 14.11.2022, 02:06
FIRE FIRE is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 2
Default Creating different packages from youtube playlist names

I've been downloading music from youtube playlists, the issue I am running into is that even thought the channel and links are different, some playlists have the same name, so instead of getting a new package for the new playlist link, the files just get grouped into a pre-existing package. Which ends up being a headache, because the video titles are in a language I cannot read.
Reply With Quote
  #5252  
Old 14.11.2022, 08:59
FIRE FIRE is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 2
Default

So I've got an issue with playlist and packages, I want to download the videos in a playlist from a certain channel, and the playlist is called "music", and I go to another channel and want to download a playlist from there as well, and it is also called "music" jdownloader will group them into the same package, which is something I do not want, is there a way to prevent this?
Reply With Quote
  #5253  
Old 14.11.2022, 14:03
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 64,713
Default

You could change the packagenames to e.g. contain the playlist ID which is unique to each playlist.
See Settings -> Plugins -> YT -> Scroll down and see "Customized Packagename".
EDIT

Merged YT threads,..

@FIRE
No need to post your question twice...
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager
JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist

Last edited by pspzockerscene; 14.11.2022 at 14:05.
Reply With Quote
  #5254  
Old 14.11.2022, 20:07
dvmoo dvmoo is offline
DSL Light User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 33
Default

Plugin custom configuration saving as preset?

Dear experts, (may someone redirect for me if this question is discussed or not in the right thread, I have not found so far), is there any way to save configuration in plugin setting as presets?

In detail, for instance Youtube plugin, we have many setting available. But different contexts apply. An exemple is when we want to download a list of "talks", (i.e. TED talk with subtitle to train english), we would need simply 480 or 720 resolution, with subtitle; for some documentation, 720 or 1080 and, if possible, many diverse subtitles; for touristic landscape scenes, 1080 or highest available resolution; for music, I would prefer webm with Opus160 instead of mp4, etc. I would be nice to have a possibility to save each setting set into presets, it seems currently impossible.

Would this be a feature request or is there some workarounds? Manual adjustment for each video, especially when it concerns a list, will be a pain.

Currently, for each of such type of downloading, I set "allowed media" then choose "Best normal video". But then later, when downloading a higher (available) resolution video, but I forgot that there was such setting filtered (here also, an icon to show which or that setting had been "filtered" would be nice), the video is presented with lower resolution while it has higher available, but we don't know that, thinking that was the maximal resolution available for this video!

Thanks to all.
DD
Reply With Quote
  #5255  
Old 15.11.2022, 12:57
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 64,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvmoo View Post
is there any way to save configuration in plugin setting as presets?
The simple answer is no but you can easily extract youtube plugin settings from your config so yeah theoretically you can store some presets this way.
You can find YT settings under: [your JD install dir]/cfg/YOUTUBE

What might also be possible:
Create an EventScripter script that sets specific YT settings with one click of a button in the main toolbar.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvmoo View Post
In detail, for instance Youtube plugin, we have many setting available. But different contexts apply. An exemple is when we want to download a list of "talks", (i.e. TED talk with subtitle to train english), we would need simply 480 or 720 resolution, with subtitle; for some documentation, 720 or 1080 and, if possible, many diverse subtitles; for touristic landscape scenes, 1080 or highest available resolution; for music, I would prefer webm with Opus160 instead of mp4, etc. I would be nice to have a possibility to save each setting set into presets, it seems currently impossible.
While this is not a bad idea, I do not see this being implemented.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvmoo View Post
Would this be a feature request or is there some workarounds? Manual adjustment for each video, especially when it concerns a list, will be a pain.
Here is what I would do as a "workaround":
1. Configure the YT plugin to always return all available qualities.
2. Go to Settings -> Linkgrabber Filter -> Create either filters or views
I recommend views in this case.
Use the quality-identifiers inside the filenames to filter them and e.g. create views for "1080p", "720p" and so on.
You can then easily select/deselect [-> hides/unhides items] those in the Linkgrabber.
Instead you could also work with filters but they do as the name says: filter out items...so I think Views are the better choice.
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager
JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #5256  
Old 17.11.2022, 14:49
dvmoo dvmoo is offline
DSL Light User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 33
Default

Many thanks for your information, I am still trying your suggestions, still figuring which file in cfg/plugins/youtube folder and how EventScripter will help, will keep you feedback if there is any solution. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #5257  
Old 17.11.2022, 20:14
Omata Omata is offline
DSL User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 39
Default Heute 17.11.2020 Update YT langsame Downloadgeschwindigkeit

heute gab es mal seit langer Zeit mal wieder ein Update (eigentlich lief alles hervorragend!) nun ist leider wieder der YT Download sehr langsam!?
Reply With Quote
  #5258  
Old 17.11.2022, 20:19
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 79,044
Default

@Omata: Es gab bereits gestern das große Update aber keinerlei Änderungen an YT. Heute lediglich Bugfixes der gemeldeten Fehler von gestern.
BspLink? Mag nicht ausschließen das YT wieder was am schrauben/ändern ist, aber aktuell kann ich bezüglich Geschwindigkeit keine Probleme/Veränderungen feststellen.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #5259  
Old 18.11.2022, 14:29
goll2 goll2 is offline
Baby Loader
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Leider habe ich auch das Problem, dass YT Downloads wieder (generell) sehr langsam laufen. Nur ein Bsp.:

**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**
Reply With Quote
  #5260  
Old 18.11.2022, 14:36
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 79,044
Default

@goll2: kann ich nicht nachstellen. Welche Variante? Also Codec/Auflösung.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:06.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.