JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17.05.2015, 15:32
zzarko
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Dialog window placement with multi-monitor setup

I have two monitors on one machine (Ubuntu 14.04, Classic Gnome), one placed vertical (secondary), the other one horizontal (main monitor, where JD is). With JD1, whenever some dialog (information, confirmation, captcha, etc) has to be displayed, it was shown over the main window.

With JD2 (same desktop environment), dialogs are displayed all over the place, sometimes over the main window, sometimes on the same monitor beside/below main window, but most of the time on different locations on secondary monitor (all the way up, all the way down, around middle, etc). As both monitors are 24", hunting for dialogs isn't my favorite game. Is there any chance to always display them over the main window?

My second machine is headless Linux server, where JD2 is displayed on separate workspace, so no trouble there

Again, thanks to developers for JD2!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17.05.2015, 15:35
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 65,525
Default

JD2 remembers window location/monitor. Works fine for me with ubuntu 12.04 and 15.04 and 4 monitor setup. Same for windows with 3 monitor setup.
Please test if this remembering also works fine for you?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17.05.2015, 15:37
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,204
Default

think he wants it always on the monitor with JDownloader? which kinda explains why he is complaining about why its displaying all over the place (remember function)
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15.07.2015, 06:04
zzarko
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sorry for late response... Yes, I would like for all dialogs to be on the same workspace and monitor as main JD window, if possible. Also, centering dialogs on main JD window would also be desirable (at least for me).

In my setup, some dialog positions are remembered (for captchas, if I'm not wrong), but for some other it isn't. For example, all dialogs for updates are always displayed on my second monitor, no matter how many times I moved them to main monitor before clicking on button.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15.07.2015, 09:51
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 65,525
Default

__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16.07.2015, 06:39
zzarko
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you for reporting as a bug!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16.07.2015, 14:59
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 65,525
Default

Thank me when it is fixed!
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25.07.2019, 21:15
Bosco Talwain Bosco Talwain is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Thank me when it is fixed!
I know I will!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26.07.2019, 12:43
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 65,525
Default

@Bosco Talwain: you have same issue? what monitor layout? what os?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28.07.2019, 10:57
Bosco Talwain Bosco Talwain is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
@Bosco Talwain: you have same issue? what monitor layout? what os?
Cool -- thanks for asking! I'm on Windows 10, with two monitors. The left monitor is oriented to horizontal/landscape while the right monitor is oriented to vertical/portrait. I have JDownloader on the right monitor, because the portrait orientation allows me to see a longer list of downloads. However, any time a dialog box appears asking for input it shows up in the top right corner of the left monitor, with a little bit of the dialog cut off by the top and right sides of the screen. If I move the dialog over to the right monitor with the rest of JDownloader, the position is not remembered and it pops up again on the left monitor the next time the dialog box appears.

Not an emergency, of course, just annoying (and only applying to people with multiple monitors) so I can see why it hasn't been a high priority to fix.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02.08.2019, 16:21
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 65,525
Default

Can you provide a screenshot of the layout settings in windows? are the monitors completely *connected* in layout or maybe started at different position? that's why I ask for a screenshot of the layout setting, thanks
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:25.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.