JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12.01.2017, 18:26
lezboyd lezboyd is offline
Ultra Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 45
Default Ability to automatically load the HTTPS version of a link

Many hosts offer SSL options for their links but for some reason, some people still link to their non-SSL versions. I am wondering if there can be a way in settings to have a rule where we can specify "always use https" for such hosts. (Kinda like how in Packagizer settings, currently you have the option to disable links or priortize links, etc. for certain hosts)
  #2  
Old 12.01.2017, 18:56
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,320
Default

Please provide example links and we can tell you if the plugin auto upgrades to https or not. HTTP vs HTTPs is not always depending on the link itself. The plugin often decides what protocol to use. Some plugins use the original protocol, others enforce https, others let the user decide.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
  #3  
Old 12.01.2017, 19:14
lezboyd lezboyd is offline
Ultra Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 45
Default

Examples that do not auto-upgrade to HTTPS (or ask for options) for me:

**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**
**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**
**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**

All 3 have an HTTPS option.

Last edited by lezboyd; 12.01.2017 at 19:15. Reason: add
  #4  
Old 12.01.2017, 19:27
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,320
Default

Thanks, will check and provide feedback by tomorrow
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
  #5  
Old 13.01.2017, 00:31
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,123
Default

due to the nature of plugins, you can not have one setting to force/auto upgrade to https.

by default we auto prefer https when the site enforces it, or user preference specifies it (With default setting true, as in when we add setting we set to true).

go4up support via the decrypter plugin doesn't have https enforcing or plugin setting.

raztoki
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
  #6  
Old 13.01.2017, 07:32
lezboyd lezboyd is offline
Ultra Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 45
Default

I wasn't thinking of one setting for all. I was thinking of a rule based system where I manually specify for each host.

You mention "by default we auto prefer https when....user preference specifies it". Where can I set this user preference? I went through all the settings and did not see a place where I can specify this. Please help.
  #7  
Old 13.01.2017, 08:36
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,123
Default

check the other ticket, it's about one and the same thing
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
  #8  
Old 13.01.2017, 08:47
lezboyd lezboyd is offline
Ultra Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 45
Default

Not really. This one encompasses all hosts that may support https, the other one is about a specific host that is probably not configured corrected by the host-provider.
  #9  
Old 13.01.2017, 08:52
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,123
Default

as stated you can NOT add such a setting, each plugin is separate and it highly depends on how the plugin its coded.

The other ticket also contains setting and is correctly behaving according to RFC.
if a provider supports https, yet link to http within src (image/script etc) it will grab with http. This is a bug on there end.

How our program works
for direct links > http in http out, https in https out.

for dedicated plugins, they can contain https prefer setting > then all requests will be tried via https until the website specifies protocol change (this is what's happening with rapidrar).

raztoki
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
  #10  
Old 13.01.2017, 08:57
lezboyd lezboyd is offline
Ultra Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 45
Default

I understand what you are saying, but you are generalising ONE incorrectly configured host for a discussion about ALL hosts, is my point.

For example:
go4up is not even in the list of plugins, so I may change the htpps settings.
clicknupload.link is in the plugins list AND supports https, but has no option for me to congifure it.

Last edited by lezboyd; 13.01.2017 at 09:05.
  #11  
Old 13.01.2017, 10:00
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,123
Default

from your original post
Quote:
I am wondering if there can be a way in settings to have a rule where we can specify "always use https" for such hosts. (Kinda like how in Packagizer settings, currently you have the option to disable links or priortize links, etc. for certain hosts)
I saw this ticket a one size fits all solution and I answered in that fashion (it's not for the reasons I've given already).

rapidrar has user setting, with default true
clicknupload enforces https so pointless having user setting when website overrides it.
decrypters typically do not have plugin settings. Not until recently was it possible, as it was always from a hoster plugin.

raztoki
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
  #12  
Old 13.01.2017, 10:13
lezboyd lezboyd is offline
Ultra Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raztoki
clicknupload enforces https so pointless having user setting when website overrides it.
Except, it does not seem to, at least for me, hence me mentioning it as an example.

Quote:
Originally Posted by raztoki
decrypters typically do not have plugin settings. Not until recently was it possible, as it was always from a hoster plugin.
An end user like me does not know the technical differences beforehand. For me, a link is a link, and if it has the HTTPS abilities, I'd like a place to configure it as default.

Also, you are missing the point of this post. The idea was to make such settings like a rule, same as you can configure rules under Packagizer settings. At the time, I did not know about plugin settings. So thanks for drawing my attention to it. I am ok with configuring the option under each plugin, provided its configurable. So please allow me to point out the ones that are not configurable.

Last edited by lezboyd; 13.01.2017 at 10:19.
  #13  
Old 13.01.2017, 11:08
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,320
Default

updated go4up to enforce https
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
  #14  
Old 13.01.2017, 11:12
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,320
Default

Please note that there can be difference between what protocol JDownloader uses internally and what is shown when you copy/show the url.

clicknupload enforces https.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
  #15  
Old 13.01.2017, 11:26
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,123
Default

think you're just confused, as you can't/don't understand. But answer the simple answer is no generic option, due to the way our program developed.

If you have https related issues please make a ticket about that given issue, with example links and logs.

alternatively look at using VPN with SSL, or socks proxy or https proxy as it can bypass your country internet filter and you wont have to worry about this issue.

raztoki
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:32.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.