JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25.03.2019, 03:46
Silizium Silizium is offline
Wind Gust
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 41
Default JDownloader freeze

Hello,
I have an issue that after a few hours JD freezes completely. Only the program shut down is possible. When it freezes the download still continues and finishes.

24.03.19 23.30.25 <--> 25.03.19 03.59.55 jdlog://9483776935451/

I have a new installed High Sierra 10.13.6 8GBRAM
Java 8-Update 201

Last edited by Silizium; 25.03.2019 at 03:50.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26.03.2019, 14:48
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Your JDownloader is only allowed to use max 512mb heap
Open your app with rightclick context menu and show content. There you should find a plist.info and edit it. There you should find Xmx512m and replace with Xmx1g
In case you need help with this, I can offer help via Teamviewer. Just contact us via support@jdownloader.org
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26.03.2019, 16:47
Silizium Silizium is offline
Wind Gust
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 41
Default

Can't find Xmx512m in:
/Applications/JDownloader 2/JDownloader2.app/Contents/Info.plist
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26.03.2019, 16:53
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

also no 512m?
Check for a .vmoptions file and edit it with texteditor
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26.03.2019, 16:57
Silizium Silizium is offline
Wind Gust
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 41
Default

Found in:
/Applications/JDownloader 2/JDownloader2.app/Contents/vmoptions.txt
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26.03.2019, 16:58
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Thanks for the feedback. Modify it to Xmx1g (to allow max 1GB) or Xmx2g (for 2GB) and restart JDownloader.
In case you still have the freezing issues, please report back
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26.03.2019, 17:00
Silizium Silizium is offline
Wind Gust
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 41
Default

Thank you, will test it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26.03.2019, 17:10
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

You can verify change in About dialog of JDownloader. The memory line shows stats about memory usage and the last number should reflect the changes in vmoptions
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27.03.2019, 05:03
Silizium Silizium is offline
Wind Gust
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 41
Default

Seems to be ok now with 1GB max.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27.03.2019, 10:45
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Great to hear. In case you encounter the same issues, just report back
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 31.03.2019, 07:26
Silizium Silizium is offline
Wind Gust
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Great to hear. In case you encounter the same issues, just report back
Sadly I have to mention that on the long run it didn't help. I still have the same issue. JD GUI freezes but download is still continue.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 31.03.2019, 13:50
Silizium Silizium is offline
Wind Gust
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 41
Default

The Log, Apple is collecting:
Attached Files
File Type: zip JDLog31.03.19, 17-49-23.txt.zip (97.4 KB, 1 views)

Last edited by Silizium; 31.03.2019 at 13:54.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01.04.2019, 13:00
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Can you please check if there is no hidden/pending dialog somewhere waiting for user input/blocking the main window.
Can you please zip the logs folder (you can find JDownloader folder in about dialog) and send it to support@jdownloader.org
In case there has been deadlock/freeze in gui, the log should contain further infos.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01.04.2019, 15:51
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Thanks. The logs shows hanging/slow/freeze in graphics stack of macos. Anything special about your setup? multiple graphic cards? desktops / monitors?
The gui complete frozen and no longer reacting or still updating download/speed stats and just not reacting to clicks?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01.04.2019, 16:50
Silizium Silizium is offline
Wind Gust
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
The gui complete frozen and no longer reacting or still updating download/speed stats and just not reacting to clicks?
Exactly!
I have a Samsung TV on 1600x900 on a Mac Mini HDMI out. I had troubles with the Monitor recognition. I had to overwrite the /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides/DisplayVendorID-4c2d with a patch that the Monitor is seen as RGB Monitor.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01.04.2019, 16:59
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Exactly? complete frozen OR not reacting
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01.04.2019, 17:16
Silizium Silizium is offline
Wind Gust
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 41
Default

Complete frozen. No updating down or speed stats but still ends a ongoing download.

Last edited by Silizium; 01.04.2019 at 17:19.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01.04.2019, 20:23
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

At the moment I'm pretty clueless. Logs indicate that the freeze comes from within MacOS graphic stack but I can't tell/don't know what might causing this.
Can you reproduce the issue? Maybe after wakeup of computer from sleep or standby of monitor?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02.04.2019, 16:29
Silizium Silizium is offline
Wind Gust
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 41
Default

The only regularity I can see at this moment is hide or unhide (macos command h) When its in the background it seems to happen more but I have to watch it more carefully to see the regularitys.

PS: My computer never sleeps, he only switches off the monitor and asks for password after 15min.

Last edited by Silizium; 02.04.2019 at 16:34.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02.04.2019, 16:54
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Thanks for feedback. Yes it would help a lot to find a way to reproduce the issue or at least know how to make it happen more regularly.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:16.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.