JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23.09.2015, 12:17
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 164
Default [feature request] Move packages back to LinkGrabber

Hi,
From time to time, I've run into the following problem: accidentally select "Start All Downloads" instead of "Start Downloads" and my entire LinkGrabber queue moves to Downloads and creates a big mess.
It would be nice to have an option either to prevent accidents like this or having the possibility to "Undo" it.
In the first case jD should ask if the user really wants to add all the links to the Downloads.
In the second case jD should simply move back the selected packages to the LinkGrabber panel, possible after confirmed by the user.

Thanks in advance,
M
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23.09.2015, 12:27
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 63,249
Default

__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23.09.2015, 12:28
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 164
Default

Thanks!

M
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08.02.2017, 21:33
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 164
Default

Hi guys,

It's been sitting there for almost a year and a half and still 0 percent.
I don't think it's a particularly complex request so what's holding it back?

Cheers,
Imre
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09.02.2017, 00:19
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 48,364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maelcum View Post
I don't think it's a particularly complex request so what's holding it back?
Focus on other things and a small team

GreeZ psp
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09.02.2017, 03:50
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 164
Default

I understand.

However, this is just one of my 3 requests all sitting in the queue with 0%...
It feels pointless to report/request anything at this point.

Regards,
M
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09.02.2017, 11:44
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 63,249
Default

This request is part of a larger refactorting I'm currently working on.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10.02.2017, 03:27
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 164
Default

Hi Jiaz,

Thanks for the info.

Cheers,
M
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19.03.2017, 02:21
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 164
Default

Hey,

In the meantime, is it possible to pop up a confirmation dialog when selecting "Download All"? It'll reduce cases of accidentally adding all links to download (and probably make the original request obsolete)...

Cheers,
M
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20.03.2017, 17:28
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 63,249
Default

__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20.03.2017, 23:31
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 164
Default

Thanks, Jiaz!

Cheers,
M
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29.09.2017, 03:05
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 164
Default

Hi guys,

Is there any update on this one?
I imagine it wouldn't be a massive task to pop up a confirm dialog... and it would save us a lot of headaches.
And it's kind of a basic thing to ask for permission when doing a destructive (non-reversable) action... like when jD does when somebody wants to delete items from the download list.

Cheers,
M
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 29.09.2017, 08:47
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 63,249
Default

It doesn't look like much but there are changes in gui (dialog), controlling (dialog, don't show again, how many links..) and config (user has to be able to change this) And the time is better spend on the *move back feature* that is still in progress.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 29.09.2017, 19:39
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 164
Default

Hi Jiaz,

It depends on implementation details but fair enough.
When do you think we can expect any of these requests deployed?
The original post more than 2 years old now...

Cheers,
M
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02.10.2017, 09:19
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 63,249
Default

I'm sorry but I don't give any eta for the simple reason that I don't know when I find time to work on this.
I'll increase priority so I see it more often on my todo list
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 21.04.2018, 17:43
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 164
Default

Hey,

So, a half a year passed again but I don't seem to find any improvements on this particular issue.

Cheers,
M
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 22.04.2018, 09:56
dabrown dabrown is offline
Black Hole
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: North America
Posts: 253
Default

It's just not a high priority feature. Limited time + higher priority tickets, this is evidently a "nice to have", not a "gotta have it".

I feel your pain- I was a professional Software QA engineer for 15 years. Nothing more frustrating to a QA engineer or a customer to have what you think is a hot-item feature request ignored by Development. I can't tell you haw many of my "great idea" tickets ended up in the "Future Release" bin, never to be seen again. Tickets coming from high-profile customers, or ones dreamed up by Project Management always took priority.

I'd like to see it too (for other reasons, which could be solved by OTHER zero-progress feature requests) but I just have to work around it. My workaround it pretty drastic- I highlight all the links I want to "move" back to linkgrabber, select Show URLs, copy them (sometimes one at a time), paste them into a txt file, delete the links from the Download pane, then go to linkgrabber and re-add them. Why do I do this? So I can add mirrors to links that already exist but aren't in nearby packages. Because I can't move links from one package to another when I have filters set. And even if I find the link using a filter, I can't switch back to unfiltered since clearing the filter causes the link list to return to the top. Both of those issues have zero-percent feature request tickets that are years old.

But that's my convoluted use case, because I'm always finding mirrors days after adding links, but to force mirroring that means the links have to be in one package.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 22.04.2018, 17:02
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 164
Default

I consider the "Start All Doownloadsl' almost as destructive as delete packages and the latter has a warning dialog but the former doesn't.
Anything that can give headache for users should be treated as a destructive op and should have an optional (turned on by default) confirm dialog from the very beginning.
That's my opinion.
And my workaround: I just removed the Start All Downloads menu item. I never used it intentionally, anyway.

Cheers,
M
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 23.04.2018, 08:28
dabrown dabrown is offline
Black Hole
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: North America
Posts: 253
Default

Interesting. "Start All Downloads" pops a warning for me. But- it's a warning that I'm trying to start offline links, since I almost always have dead links in my linkgrabber. I don't use Start All either, so my accidental warning is a blessing I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 23.04.2018, 15:32
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 63,249
Default

you can disable the Starts All Download by disabling autostart checkbox in Linkgrabber-bottom right corner.
It's an action that toggles with CTRL key. Either Add or Start depending on *autostart checkbox in quicksettings in linkgrabber. No need to remove that item.

@dabrown: the *filter active, no drag drop* issue is known but I simply find no time at the moment to work on those stuff. you shoud be able to select and copy (CTRL-C) and then unfilter view and select package and PASTE (CTRL-V) as *ugly* workaround

Support/Email/Tickets/Forum eats lots of lots of time, especially on mondays.
our plugin developer currently has less/no time for JDownloader because of university and life
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:07.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.