JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07.12.2011, 23:52
Saliman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default JDownloader & AVG

Hi all,

For some reason, recently JD downloads got stuck after only 2 seconds of downloading. After a little research and reading in this forum, I've found out that this is caused by AVG Anti Virus. More precisely, AVG's Surf Shield.

In the meantime I've disabled surf shield and JD is working right again, but I'd like to re-enable it...

Do you guys know why is this happening?

Thanks,

Saliman
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08.12.2011, 00:05
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 48,764
Default

Either because of a bad AVG configuration or because of a bad programmed anti virus programm
How about asking the AVG support?

Greez pspzockerscene
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08.12.2011, 10:04
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saliman View Post
In the meantime I've disabled surf shield and JD is working right again, but I'd like to re-enable it...
Why would you like to cripple your computer and ruin your Internet experience?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08.12.2011, 15:42
Think3r's Avatar
Think3r Think3r is offline
Community Manager & Admin (inaktiv)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,743
Default

AVG v9 won't work properly with JD! You have to deinstall this version, configurating won't be enough. Otherwise exclude java.exe and javaw.exe from control.
Greetz
__________________
Bitte die Regeln lesen! | Please read the forum rules!

REGELN: Bugreports | RULES: Bugreports


Erste Schritte & Tutorials | Self Help Index | Read Me | JD 2 Beta - FAQ

Support Chat

Keep smiling, it's simple!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08.12.2011, 17:15
Freeloader
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yes Think3r is correct, use comodo internet security free edition nice protection and its free
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09.12.2011, 14:36
Saliman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you all for all the irrelevant answers. If I would have wanted to change Anti-Virus program, I'd have already done that, I wouldn't have asked here how TO FIX this issue.

In the meanwhile, I've posted this question on the AVG forums, hopefully they could be more helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09.12.2011, 14:38
Think3r's Avatar
Think3r Think3r is offline
Community Manager & Admin (inaktiv)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,743
Default

Such an ignorant person, unbelievable. This is not our fault but AVG's. The forum is overfilled with people having problems with AVG v9, either you trust us or you don't.
Btw this problem is really old - you won't be the first one complaining to AVG. And guess what: why didn't they fix it already?
Greetz
__________________
Bitte die Regeln lesen! | Please read the forum rules!

REGELN: Bugreports | RULES: Bugreports


Erste Schritte & Tutorials | Self Help Index | Read Me | JD 2 Beta - FAQ

Support Chat

Keep smiling, it's simple!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09.12.2011, 14:51
Saliman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You're probably right about AVG, but still, most of the answers here, besides the one you posted, were irrelevant. And thank you for calling me ignorant, I really appreciate it.

Last edited by Saliman; 09.12.2011 at 14:56.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09.12.2011, 15:55
bici-boci bici-boci is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 753
Default

I used AVG 9 and now use AVG 10 (both free) without any problems - just don't install Linkscanner.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09.12.2011, 16:59
Freeloader
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

its not a problem about the link scanner the new version does not work properly with java it will still block the sockets and theres nothing we or you can do about it. Tested it with 50 users already and only got it to work with one of them. Through avg firewall (all profiles) we've allowed java and javaw and gave full access, the link scanner layer (module) was also shut down. But it wouldn't just work. The only security suit working with JDownloader without any problems so far is comodo internet security premium free edition, nice program and it doesn't eat up your system.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09.12.2011, 17:32
Think3r's Avatar
Think3r Think3r is offline
Community Manager & Admin (inaktiv)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saliman View Post
And thank you for calling me ignorant, I really appreciate it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saliman View Post
Thank you all for all the irrelevant answers. If I would have wanted to change Anti-Virus program, I'd have already done that, I wouldn't have asked here how TO FIX this issue.

In the meanwhile, I've posted this question on the AVG forums, hopefully they could be more helpful.
You weren't polite, either. We gave you answers and you didn't only not accept them but you undermined our credibility, that's why I got angry.
Greetz
__________________
Bitte die Regeln lesen! | Please read the forum rules!

REGELN: Bugreports | RULES: Bugreports


Erste Schritte & Tutorials | Self Help Index | Read Me | JD 2 Beta - FAQ

Support Chat

Keep smiling, it's simple!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09.12.2011, 19:28
bici-boci bici-boci is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freeloader View Post
its not a problem about the link scanner the new version does not work properly with java it will still block the sockets and theres nothing we or you can do about it. Tested it with 50 users already and only got it to work with one of them. Through avg firewall (all profiles) we've allowed java and javaw and gave full access, the link scanner layer (module) was also shut down. But it wouldn't just work. The only security suit working with JDownloader without any problems so far is comodo internet security premium free edition, nice program and it doesn't eat up your system.
Interesting - but the original poster talked about AVG Anti Virus.

I'm using AVG 10 free (antivirus) (now AVG 2012) without Linkscanner and Zonealarm Pro 10 - no problem at all - but thanks the info about Comodo free.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09.12.2011, 19:41
editestowy's Avatar
editestowy editestowy is offline
Polish Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: PL
Posts: 3,029
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freeloader View Post
The only security suit working with JDownloader without any problems so far is comodo internet security premium free edition
On my standalone machine I've got KIS (Kaspersky Internet Security) 2012 and if the suite is correctly configured (setting only trusted apps is not enough) it also works with no problems. So maybe some diggin' is needed for AVG too?
But confirmed that Comodo is also good choice.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09.12.2011, 23:53
Saliman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bici-boci View Post
Interesting - but the original poster talked about AVG Anti Virus.

I'm using AVG 10 free (antivirus) (now AVG 2012) without Linkscanner and Zonealarm Pro 10 - no problem at all - but thanks the info about Comodo free.
Actually it turns out its AVG Internet Security 2012, it was supposed to be 2012 free, but seems that I didn't notice that I installed the 30-day trial.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10.12.2011, 02:07
Freeloader
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

editestowy no digging is necessary because I've already done every possible digging with their latest advanced version (the one with firewall) another user with the same problem came in yesterday or the day before. Tried every possibility and gave up at the end. I usually don't give up on things that easy when it comes to computers. Comodo was the solution.

If it has firewall and sais full access then it shouldnt be blocking java socket we've also rebooted his system disabled link scanner. Created different profiles and again gave full access to java but it wouldn't just compute.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 14.12.2011, 00:22
celerondude celerondude is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 165
Default

Just making x-link to AVG forum topic.
Link to this thread already was posted there

forums.avg.com/ww-en/avg-forums?sec=thread&act=show&id=184442


----

More link to the topic (perhaps merge threads ?)
board.jdownloader.org/showthread.php?t=9308
board.jdownloader.org/showthread.php?t=12397

----

Antiviri/Sandboxes usualy have sensors for incompatible programs.
Wish JD also could have one, at least for most common known troublemakers

Last edited by celerondude; 14.12.2011 at 00:27.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 14.12.2011, 10:45
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
switched to Avira..
Does that AVG thread mean that running another virus is the solution?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 23.12.2011, 17:23
Arioch1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

AVG claims the ball is on jD side for now, and jD would fix it in some future version.

I wish jD team made some authoritative note on this.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 23.12.2011, 17:26
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

We are in Contact with AVG.
AVG 9, it is known that the linkscanner will cause data corruption.
This is fixed in newer versions according to AVG.

We are still working on download aborts with activated linkscanner.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 23.12.2011, 17:31
Arioch1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Probably so, since in AVG10 i had no corruption, but the timeouts.

Okay, thanks for approval. Hope it would not turn out being overly hard issue.

Funny thing: AVG site holds instruction how to configure jD, and jD site holds the instruction how to configure AVG :-D
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:26.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.