JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24.07.2015, 04:56
jtcgiants56 jtcgiants56 is offline
Ultra Loader
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 48
Default Does jdownloader 2 crack .rar passwords?

I downloaded a .rar and noticed it was password protected and I had no idea what the password was.. then to my surprise I noticed that the .rar was actually extracted somehow.. Does jdownloader have a built in .rar password cracker or am I going crazy?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24.07.2015, 09:00
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,320
Default

JDownloader checks if any known password is the correct one. So maybe you already had it in list
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24.07.2015, 11:30
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,195
Default

as in JDownloader stores previously used passwords, and will try them automatically. It doesn't crack persay, just uses supplied list.

raztoki
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24.07.2015, 18:14
pfanne pfanne is offline
JD Beta
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 58
Default

what do you mean by "previously used passwords"? i know i can add them manually to the list. where else would it get these passwords?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24.07.2015, 18:32
editestowy's Avatar
editestowy editestowy is offline
Polish Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: PL
Posts: 3,029
Default

This is the same list where you can add manually passwords
Settings -> Archieve Extractor -> Password List
If archieve is passworded and there's no password in the package/link property then JD tries to unpack it by using this list - trying the passwords from the top to the bottom. If the archieve is sucessfully unpacked then the password is moved (if it was previously stored on that list)/stored (if it is a new password) to the top of the list.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25.07.2015, 19:00
jtcgiants56 jtcgiants56 is offline
Ultra Loader
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 48
Default

Ahhh okay, this makes sense then. I must've used the password in the past. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:39.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.