JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28.03.2017, 05:13
BloodyRain2k BloodyRain2k is offline
JD Alpha
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 24
Default Why are download URLs hidden?

This is something that I've never understood since I've started using JDL long ago: why is there absolutely no way of retrieving a download's url from the queue list?

If you press ctrl+c on it it only seems to give you the same as "Open in Browser" does which is just the first result of "Show Download URLs" which is misleading because it doesn't actually show the download's urls but from where it was fetched.

I can't find anything in the menu manager either nor is there anything in the properties panel, well aside of that "Copy Information" thing which's url, big surprise, is just again the source url just like the aboves.
JDL absolutely keeps the url to itself alone until it starts the download. Why? ._.


And since the obvious question would be now why'd I need that in the first place is simply answered: in very rare cases JDL just couldn't manage to actually download the file one way or another and I had to do it manually with the browser.
Granted this is a rare case but if I now have 100 files which were batch grabbed from a blog search page then I currently have to go back to that page, because I can't simply copy that one file's url that's failing, and find it in that long mess again and go from there manually to it.

Another use for this would be something I had a bit ago: proxy whitelisting.
Hovering over the host icon gives you one url, in my case it was "uploaded.to".
But guess what? The actual download ran through "uploaded.net" and was therefore not caught by the whitelisting because it was not set to that which in turn was because I didn't even know it would end up being that since I can't see the url >.<
Only way I found it out at all was hovering over an icon that caught my interest and happened to tell me the actual download's host url which ended up being "somethingsomething.downloaded.net".


So yeah, I see no upside to hiding these urls like they contain unencrypted login information...
Could the properties panel get a new entry which would show you the download's url that was the result of the fetching?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28.03.2017, 12:32
morph8000 morph8000 is offline
Wind Gust
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 43
Default

export the wanted links as DLC and try an other Downloader, if (what seems strange) JD isnt downloading them.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28.03.2017, 12:34
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

You can change URL order in Settings-User-Interface, Downloadlink address display.
In rightclick context *Show URL* Dialog, double click into an URL to see all known urls + copy to clipboard.
You can customize rightclick copy action via context editor and there you can modify what url to copy, use {url.content} if you want to copy the content url.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28.03.2017, 12:35
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BloodyRain2k View Post
Another use for this would be something I had a bit ago: proxy whitelisting.
Hovering over the host icon gives you one url, in my case it was "uploaded.to".
But guess what? The actual download ran through "uploaded.net" and was therefore not caught by the whitelisting because it was not set to that which in turn was because I didn't even know it would end up being that since I can't see the url >.<
uploaded.to is correct. hosters may have multiple different domains, for example uploaded.to,uploaded.net,ul.to,ul.net and JDownloader shows the actual download domain so you can see from what server it is loading, but the proxy selection uses the main one, uploaded.to in your case.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28.03.2017, 12:38
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Please know that proxy selection for premium accounts will use first proxy in list that matches to avoid changing IP -> account blocks

so a whitelisted proxy for uploaded must be either at top of the list
or all other proxies above that proxy must be blacklisted for uploaded.

If you need further help to setup proxies according your wishes, please let us know
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29.08.2017, 13:50
wahnsinn wahnsinn is offline
Vacuum Cleaner
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Oh my. I had NO idea this was a configurable feature.. thank you for raising the issue, OP. And thanks for providing a great answer, Jiaz!

I would humbly suggest making "source" or "data" the defaults for "Open in Browser".. I think that's the most typical thing people would expect.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:04.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.