JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23.09.2019, 22:15
Andrew Andrew is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 10
Default Popup Windows don't remember their location

I'm running Win7 Ultimate x64 with a "video wall" (desktop extended to all monitors).

I have JDownloader maximized on the lower-right monitor but for some reason any and all notification windows 'popup' on the upper-left monitor.

And no matter how many times I drag them back to the bottom, they persist in popping-up at the top of the wall, which is really starting to get annoying.

Is there some way these popup windows can remember their position on the desktop after they're re-positioned?

Or at the very least, force them to stay centered on the main GUI?

Thanks,
Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24.09.2019, 11:19
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Can you provide screenshot of the monitor layout you have setup? position restore fails in certain layout
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24.09.2019, 17:59
Andrew Andrew is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 10
Default

I don't have a camera handy but I assume I must have one of these "certain layouts", can you tell me what I need to change to make it work?

If I uninstall and reinstall JDownloader will that reset all the popups over the main GUI? I would prefer not to do this as I've customised all the display colors for a 'dark skin' look but if that's what needs to happen then I'll just have to do all that again.

Andrew

Last edited by Andrew; 24.09.2019 at 18:03.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24.09.2019, 18:16
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Layouts like
A-B-C-D should work fine

but layouts like
A
|
B - C - D
have the issue. any that is not linear

you can simply hit Settings-User-Interface-Reset Window Positions
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25.09.2019, 10:58
Andrew Andrew is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 10
Default

Yeah, my setup is definitely not linear.

I just tried the Reset button as suggested and it brought the "Program Updates" box back to the default monitor, but the file delete and program exit confirmation windows (I haven't tried any others yet) are still up on the top-left screen.

I will try to rearrange the displays to a single line and see if that resets the positions, failing that I guess I'll have to try a reinstall?

All the popups were in the correct places originally, they've just moved one-by-one over time for some reason. This is very weird behavior.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25.09.2019, 11:41
Andrew Andrew is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 10
Default

UPDATE: I've just rearranged my monitor layout (virtually) and JDownloader's popup windows are now back in the correct place.

The move has screwed up the position of half-a-dozen other programs, and I now need to move the mouse a mile and a half sideways to reach the top monitor... but at least JDownloader works again.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25.09.2019, 11:45
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew View Post

I will try to rearrange the displays to a single line and see if that resets the positions, failing that I guess I'll have to try a reinstall?
close JDownloader and open the cfg folder of JDownloader and there you'll find many
RememberAbsoluteLocator*
RememberLastDimensor-*
RememberRelativeLocator-*
files. those you can delete to delete all window position/size information
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25.09.2019, 11:47
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25.09.2019, 11:47
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

would be great if you can explain your original layout? you can take screenshot with Print-Key or any other screenshot tool
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04.10.2019, 17:33
Andrew Andrew is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 10
Default

Apologies for the delay, every time I change the monitor layout I have to manually update the coordinates of a dozen Rainmeter skins on the desktop so this is a massive pain to do each time.

I changed my monitors to a linear layout A-B-C-D-E-F and the popup windows went back to the correct positions.

But as soon as I move any monitor out of line, for example:

A-B
C-D
E-F

Then the popup windows move to the top-left monitor for some reason. Even if I have:

-A
B-C-D

They will still move to the top monitor, even though the main JDownloader GUI is on the lower-right monitor.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07.10.2019, 19:08
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Thanks for the detailed feedback.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:05.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.