JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24.07.2014, 16:13
koningx koningx is offline
JD Beta
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 54
Default Please change of Size units thing from MiB to MB ? (JDownloader 2)

In JDownloader 2

i know it's small change
yet, Please Can anyone change the Size Column units thing from MiB to MB ?

i mean for i was wondering what's MiB stands for , it's weird for everytime i
also get to pronounce in my head n it's just weird.

it should be "MB" for "MegaBytes"

it's never like MigaBytes.

so please it'll be nice n kind if anyone can fix the units notation thing in JD2.
  #2  
Old 24.07.2014, 17:11
tony2long's Avatar
tony2long tony2long is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6,056
Default

MiB = mebibyte = 1024 x 1024 bytes (IEC)
__________________
FAQ: How to upload a Log

Last edited by tony2long; 24.07.2014 at 17:13.
  #3  
Old 24.07.2014, 22:35
djmakinera djmakinera is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,785
Default

just as 1024 kb/s(jd2) not the same 1024 kB/s

Get some knowledge
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kilobyte

Last edited by djmakinera; 24.07.2014 at 23:13.
  #4  
Old 23.09.2014, 12:30
koningx koningx is offline
JD Beta
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 54
Default

well i knew about 1 byte = 8 bits , byte n bit difference , kb KB MB GB .. never heard about KiB kibibyte , MiB mebibyte before . May be should have googled before thinking it as an error. OR once i thought since JD developers could be German , so may be that could be because of Language translation of Megabyte. Hell, never thought it was just the Binary case for the Decimal thing. lol !

Anyways thanks for random knowledge !
  #5  
Old 23.09.2014, 13:37
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 15,972
Default

yah it's the new way to differentiate between 1000 and 1024. [KMG]iB is correct format for our use.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
  #6  
Old 28.09.2014, 02:07
back_track
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

wiki/Binary_prefix

very interresting xD

Jd use IEC but you want SI prefix...

What is with an option to change it?
  #7  
Old 28.09.2014, 04:59
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 15,972
Default

At this stage we are happy with what we have, I don't believe we will give options to display units in different sizing formats, or force all units to be presented eg. 'MiB' instead of our automatic B(yte)|KiB|GiB|TiB gradings.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]

Last edited by raztoki; 16.11.2014 at 12:38.
  #8  
Old 16.11.2014, 07:44
djmejias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Please add the option to change MiB to MB, its a standard, MiB never seen, use normal and known measurements. MiB sucks. I speak spanish, my english is too bad.
  #9  
Old 16.11.2014, 12:37
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 15,972
Default

declined for the reasons given

Quote:
Originally Posted by raztoki View Post
yah it's the new way to differentiate between 1000 and 1024. [KMG]iB is correct format for our use.
Quote:
Originally Posted by raztoki View Post
At this stage we are happy with what we have, I don't believe we will give options to display units in different sizing formats, or force all units to be presented eg. 'MiB' instead of our automatic B(yte)|KiB|GiB|TiB gradings.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
  #10  
Old 22.01.2019, 11:54
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 59,753
Default

You can change between Mi and M in Settings-Advanced Settings-GraphicalUserInterfaceSettings.maxsizeunit
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:30.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.