JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #661  
Old 30.06.2014, 08:11
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,276
Default

@battuta

With the new extraction addon everything is done with this, also with leaving rar binaries we are relying on 7zip java library. I personally don't use this myself but far as I can tell everything is possible except having a way to extract hjsplit files when auto extract after download is disabled. Since HJsplit files and rar can share the same extensions .000 .001 etc it can be hard to identify them without opening the file to check meta. The only other solution I can think of within current design, is making package customiser rule for sites you know use HJsplit files to these links and enable extraction within rule.

Cleanup can still be one click action, edit the bottom bar or main menu and remove them from submenu. Customisation is totally up to you, define all your menus and what not as you see fit. settings > user interface. Also have a look you can change the actions of each of the buttons to suit your needs.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #662  
Old 12.07.2014, 07:58
m3u
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I am new member registered just to comment about jdownloader 2. It is really impressive. Interface looks superbly modern, notifications are friendly and useful and performance seems solid so far about 439mb memory used with 105 files in queue.

I am obviously not using all features however I have to say a big thank you to the entire team and the community for a great application! Keep up the good work!
Reply With Quote
  #663  
Old 18.07.2014, 12:27
Alucarlos
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

First of all, i have to say i love JD2, but there is a feature a would like to see on JD and it is something really simple "remember my downloaded files", it is something i have seen in others download managers and it is very useful for me, it is something like highlighting the files you have already downloaded, that way you avoid to waste time downloading something you alreary have before.
Reply With Quote
  #664  
Old 23.07.2014, 23:42
CuF
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kwanbis View Post
The Context Menus. Maybe I use jdownloader differently than most, but the previous version context menu was much more logically arranged.

For me at least, the most used options on the context menus are:
Resume/Reset.
Disable/Enable
Check Online status.
Set priority.
Move into new package (by the way, this doesn't works at all).
Rename.
Copy URLs (now you have to go through like 3 clicks to get to it).

Of all, Only Disable/Enable is at the firs level. All the rest you have to go to a sub menu. Meanwhile, delete, which is a dangerous operation, is on the firs context menu. I don't know if you already do, but maybe you can collect menus/submenus information and send weekly for analysis, and use that to define the most used ones.

I know there is now a very powerful menus/submenus editor, but I'm sure you know that defaults are what matters most.
Absolutely agree. Very used to JD1's context menu that had the most used features on the first level.

Customizing a menu item's name does not change how it appears in the interface... and it should.

E.g. I moved a few of the Speed Limit options to the bottom toolbar like JD1.

I then edited the cumbersomely named "Max. simultaneous Downloads" to say "Max. Dls." (again like JD1).

The result was that the name was changed in the menu customizer, but it still takes up a third of the bottom bar with the full original name.

Last edited by raztoki; 08.09.2014 at 11:10. Reason: merge double post
Reply With Quote
  #665  
Old 24.07.2014, 03:40
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 48,900
Default

I agree with you guys - we got all the good functions and settings on board but need to figure out some good default settings.
Everyone is invited to post suggestions for "mainstream" default settings

GreeZ psp
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #666  
Old 03.08.2014, 09:23
CuF
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What is the best way to post, as screenshots showing opened sub-menus or exports from the customizer?
The latter is more efficient, but really doesn't convey the look.
Reply With Quote
  #667  
Old 08.08.2014, 20:43
Schnucki
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Download-Liste: Spalten:

JDownloader 1:
Die Werte von "geladene Bytes", "Gesamt-Bytes" und "Download-Fortschritt" waren in nur einer Spalte. Die Werte von "Rest-Zeit" und "Download-Status" waren ebenfalls in nur einer Spalte.

JDownloader 2:
Die Werte sind jetzt auf 5 Spalten verteilt => Platz-Verschwendung.

Verbesserungs-Vorschlag:
Die alten und die neuen Spalten anbieten und den Benutzern die Auswahl überlassen.

Download-Liste: Bildlauf-Leiste (Scroll-Bar):

JDownloader 1:
Die Bildlauf-Leiste war so breit wie die Bildlauf-Leisten in den anderen Programmen. Bei mir sind da 24 Pixels eingestellt (Windows-System-Steuerung). Mit der Maus kann ich die Leiste fast blind treffen.

JDownloader 2:
Grauenhaft schmale Bildlauf-Leiste mit nur 10 Pixels. Die treffe ich ganz oft nicht. Das geht echt an die Nerven.

Verbesserungs-Vorschlag:
Die Benutzer das einstellen lassen.


Last edited by raztoki; 08.09.2014 at 04:24. Reason: merge double post into one, as rules stipulate.
Reply With Quote
  #668  
Old 10.08.2014, 21:38
CuF
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I was surprised to find 'Enable' didn't appear for right-clicking a package on the download tab, only specific links.

I believe it was because some links were already enabled and the rest weren't. Is that by design?
Reply With Quote
  #669  
Old 02.09.2014, 21:16
ohforf3141592653
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

(CuF): Yes, JD1 had separate Enable/Disable menuitems and was able to show both when used on a mixed selection. JD2 has recently changed behaviour here - before and after are equally insufficient. The JD1 way (two independent menuitems) seems better for users, simpler to code, and simpler to get the menu editor right...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alucarlos View Post
"remember"
Something I've missed from the day I switched to JD2: JD1 would check new URL's against those in the DL list, whether completed or not. Sure, JD1 was too silent about why is would skip some imputs, but one got used to that.

My main gripe with JD: No true unattended mode. A user might want to leave JD running overnight and go to sleep, right? I do. What I want to tell JD is this: "Do start new downloads that have a chance to succeed without user input, but do not touch those where it is known in advance that user interaction is required."

Neither Silent Mode nor "Stop but finish" do this. "Silent" will start connecting to the hoster, request a captcha, then dismiss it. Recaptcha would up until recently punish the amount of requests from a single IP due to this behaviour by switching all captchas to the hardest variant (the inverting blotch / consonant-only ones) after a few hours. "Stop but finish" is not even a guarantee that no new file will be started, and it will not continue downloading links with premium accounts / autosolvable captchas or the rare cases where a resume can be done captcha-free. I guess I am saying both functions would benefit from far simpler implementations: Silent should fulfill the "user is away" usecase, while "Stop but finish" shouldn't bother flagging random files with the yellow flag but simply stop any new DL from starting.

Last one, really (JD is that good ):
JD will not always start the expected file for a given hoster (assuming free modes, single active file per hoster allowed), sometimes even ignoring priorities. This is good, as I guess there is logic to avoid JD choking on unexpected plugin errors behind that, maybe even attempts to avoid discarding a partial resumable download by starting an alternate mirror from scratch instead (at which JD still fails). Leaving JD running unattended in silent mode will definitely show this sooner or later. And - I see work is being done in this area, observed behaviour is changing.

My suggestion: JD should clear all such status information when the user hits the hard "Stop all running downloads" button, maybe even after a manual reconnect. Also, a manual change to any priority could clear said stati for all links using the same selected hoster. This would have helped all "insubordinations" I observed lately, where JD clearly started the "wrong" entries. Oh, and the bandwidth waste by unadvised mirror switches might be mitigated by having temporary priorities - boosting the prio of a resumable unfinished item by a virtual, internal half point?

And keep up the good work!

Last edited by raztoki; 08.09.2014 at 04:21. Reason: merge quad post into one, as rules stipulate.
Reply With Quote
  #670  
Old 08.09.2014, 03:43
gonwk gonwk is offline
JD Beta
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 56
Default

Hi JD Team,

When JD2 first came out I was all excited and tried it but I found it not as Intuitive as JD1 ... things just work in JD1 and I know how to get around.

With JD2, it seemed you guys followed Microsoft method of just Totally Re-Arranging everything so you have to learn from Scratch.

I am not sure if you have a Portable version of JD2 ... so, I can test it side by side with my JD1. That would be a Great Idea to have Portable version.

Also, is there a way to tell what is the LATEST version of JD2.

Thanks.

G!
Reply With Quote
  #671  
Old 08.09.2014, 04:20
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,276
Default

@gonwk

all JD installations (once installed) can be copy pasted (except for mac dmg installer) to another path, file system, device and should work on other operating systems. There is a jar method if you choose not to run installers.

JD2 not that much different than previous JD, GUI has changed slightly to make way for expanded feature set. Linkgrabber and download tabs are very similar to old, just now linkgrabber has optional side panel. there also totally customisable bottombar, toolbar, main menu, right click context(for download and linkgrabber tabs). Settings tab was simplied to make thing easier to find, as tree view isn't that friendly. All settings also have presence/property value in 'advanced settings'

click the update button, it will tell you if you're on the latest version, and the traditional help > about can tell you build information of individual components that make up JDownloader.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #672  
Old 08.09.2014, 08:32
CuF
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonwk View Post
Hi JD Team,

When JD2 first came out I was all excited and tried it but I found it not as Intuitive as JD1 ... things just work in JD1 and I know how to get around.

With JD2, it seemed you guys followed Microsoft method of just Totally Re-Arranging everything so you have to learn from Scratch.

I am not sure if you have a Portable version of JD2 ... so, I can test it side by side with my JD1. That would be a Great Idea to have Portable version.

Also, is there a way to tell what is the LATEST version of JD2.

Thanks.

G!
JD1 and JD2 can work side by side just fine. I still have both installed and I've had both running simultaneously at times.

I completely agree with your assessment. JD2 has made dogs bollocks of what JD1 did well.

Stick around, and post new threads for the issues you find. Hopefully the community can help them whip JD2 back into shape.
Reply With Quote
  #673  
Old 08.09.2014, 11:09
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,276
Default

@ohforf3141592653

re: unattended mode
silent mode shouldn't start downloads when the plugin knowingly has captcha. It would only do so when plugin setting for hasCaptcha/hasAutoCaptcha isn't set or is set incorrectly.

Also keep in mind that silent mode only works when enabled and JD isn't present in GUI. It has to be minimised to tray or taskbar.

Some dialogs can not be pre-estimated for example pre-dl password, so once reached download sequence should stop for that download. I think it should skip download if pre-download password field is set (download property)

re: priorities
A few people have made reports about priorities, but we can not reproduce any issue reported. When we can't identify issue by reading code, reproduction is required in order find it with breakpoints. Think the last couple reports were due to downloadlink having different priorities to package. If you can reproduce issue and tell how, please find existing thread or make new one if you can't and tell us how.

re: exists in download tab
ticket has been present for a long time, not sure why Appwork doesn't close this, as its popular request and heavily used by users. Then again no one else from the community has offered patch either.

re: mirror switching
shouldn't happen specially with, if files exist rules == skip. I haven't seen this happen in a very long time myself.

re: linkstatus
Don't think that will change, error status are preserved until the next start is invoked(GUI/API/Linkgrabber adding && starting links). This gives indication to users why things happened. When selecting start, it will remove linkstatus events that can be retried, eg. will allow retry without the need of reconnection (IP limit reached, JD keeps track of reconnection/IP changes). You can manually clear linkstatus via the resume context menu for memory, without the need for stop start or reset.

issue reporting
If you can identify issue to any of your findings and can reproduce issue, please make reports about issue. Look for existing open threads on same topic, if you can't find one make a new thread.

raztoki
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]

Last edited by raztoki; 08.09.2014 at 11:14.
Reply With Quote
  #674  
Old 08.09.2014, 20:20
gonwk gonwk is offline
JD Beta
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 56
Question

Hi raztoki & CuF,

Really appreciate both of you folks input. Well, I am Not Super Techy, just know enough to get myself in & out of trouble.

@ CuF - Q1: Did you use the Installer mode for JD1 and JD2? Q2: Does JD1 and JD2 install in Separate Folders? I guess.

@ raztoki - Q3: Is there a place that shows me how to do that JAR method you spoke of!?!?

Thanks again,

G!
Reply With Quote
  #675  
Old 08.09.2014, 20:35
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,276
Default

@gonwk

goto jdownloader.org/download/offline grab the jar, run it via double click or java -jar JDownloader.jar from within directory you'd like it all be to run from. JD will dl the missing components. Jar method means you need to have java installed or provided first.

raztoki
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #676  
Old 08.09.2014, 23:34
gonwk gonwk is offline
JD Beta
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 56
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by raztoki View Post
... goto jdownloader.org/download/offline grab the jar, run it via double click ...
raztoki
Hi raztoki,

Worked like a Charm ... I have a Dumb Q, once installed when I want to Start JD2, is there a .exe that I click on or do I click on "jdownloader.jar" again to get it started?

Thanks for all of your Help ... YOU are the BEST!

G!
Reply With Quote
  #677  
Old 08.09.2014, 23:46
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,276
Default

no, the jar method provides zero binary loaders (jdownloader.exe). That's what the installers provide, along with shortcuts and file associations.

you can create a shortcut to the jar (or double click jar), assuming our java is file associated with .jar (and not application like winrar).
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #678  
Old 09.09.2014, 02:01
gonwk gonwk is offline
JD Beta
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 56
Default

Hi raztoki,

Thanks for your Help.

Now, I remember Why I did Not like JD2 as much.

1) I just tried a small Clip to download as a test of my new "JD2 Beta" ... so, the Darn JDownloader is telling me that I am missing ffmpeg program and if I wanted to download and install it ...
Well, I said NO and guess what, the freaking JD2 did NOT download my Test Clip.

2) I went thru the entire Settings and ould NOT find how to disable the Auto LinkGrabber ... Totally Annoying.

3) I just restarted the JD2 for another test and it Remembered the Last Test Clip that I had DELETED from my LinkGrabber bank ... So, What's with that!?!?

4) The Columns under the Download Tab I find the columns Totally Useless to me ... all I need is the Original 4 Columns: Filename, Host, Status, Progress ... and that is all. May be I am missing the Benefits of having all other columns!!!

It seems JD2 is a bit more difficult, more bells and whistles.

Anyway, I think I will just stay with my Original JD1 for now, I know how to get around it.

Thanks,

G!

Last edited by gonwk; 10.09.2014 at 02:56.
Reply With Quote
  #679  
Old 09.09.2014, 02:20
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,276
Default

@gonwk

1) requires ffmpeg for youtube, on first requirement it should prompt and install on consent? or you can install yourself and define the advanced setting for ffmpeg path to binary(exe), you can also disable DASH downloads (advanced setting) if you rather not use DASH as source. Nearly all of youtube' newer formats are in DASH, so this can heavily limit your results if you do choose to disable.

2) auto linkgrabber? you can disable linkchecking services if that's what you mean. check advanced filter 'link check'

3) that's standard, you restart client any object in clipboard is processed, you can also disable this feature, see advanced use filter 'clipboard monitor first round'

4) you can define columns as you wish check right hand corner or right click on any of the columns to enable/disable

Rest is up to you, JD is heavily configurable, we can no make one size fits all with layout or options. You will need to define them to suit your needs/desire.

all the best
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]

Last edited by raztoki; 09.09.2014 at 02:26.
Reply With Quote
  #680  
Old 09.09.2014, 03:00
gonwk gonwk is offline
JD Beta
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 56
Thumbs up

Hi raztoki,

Thanks ... will try again.

G!

Last edited by gonwk; 10.09.2014 at 02:33.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:36.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.