JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 28.05.2009, 09:09
mahouneko
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@Herker:
Yeah, that's actually because of your UnRAR add-on. Just flip over to the Add-On tab on your JDownloader and untick the part where it says "Activate".
  #42  
Old 28.05.2009, 17:48
Tolmies_underpants
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rincewind View Post
The new version is great but it seems some people can't see further than the new gui...
WTH are you talking about? I've had my whinges about things that weren't working for me/I didnt like but the devs fixed the issues and I'm downloading from packages from UJ with +100 links fully automated. I would love to see that happen with CryptLoad or any other OCDL manager.:biggrin:

Instead of just complaining, perhaps you should take the time to also formulate exactly what you're having issues with?:oops::beta:
  #43  
Old 28.05.2009, 19:27
Rincewind
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tolmies_underpants View Post
WTH are you talking about? I've had my whinges about things that weren't working for me/I didnt like but the devs fixed the issues and I'm downloading from packages from UJ with +100 links fully automated. I would love to see that happen with CryptLoad or any other OCDL manager.:biggrin:

Instead of just complaining, perhaps you should take the time to also formulate exactly what you're having issues with?:oops::beta:
I think it's been a misunderstood here, I was giving you the reason, (you can read my first post in this thread). Maybe you thought i was beiing sarcastic or something like that but i wasn't. All i said that is that there are many pepole complaining about the new gui and can't see that the new version brings much more than that.
  #44  
Old 28.05.2009, 19:44
woongah
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default I'm crying mu heart out

I was using JD to download files from Megaupload... the new MU plugin was able to read most of the new MU captchas, I had to corrige some mistakes of the OCR from times to time, but complessively everything was workig fine. JD was my best friend, a fine piece of software who could not have been praised enough. It did all I needed, and it did it with a paleozoic PIII 800mHz...

Then, this morning, in a moment of utterly idiocy, I updated JD... everything's gone bad since. My old JD gone inconsistent ( my fault), the new one ( I downloaded the zip and installed it in a new directory) has froze for hours and hours with the annoying "Load'n click installation" (I don't give a fig of this feature, could I go on and install it another day?) window popped up, and there is no way for me to undestand what really happens in the background.

I tried to revive version 0.4.936 - I kept a copy of the zip - but apparently the "old" MU plugin in it doesn't work that well, unless I have some form of inconsistency in the linkbackup files from my old JD that prevents them form correctly work or some other, unknown issue.

Now, I'm gonna try to revamp version 4.13xx, that someone has kindly posted in this thread, and to place in it the Webinterface add-on from the old JD, but at this moment my frustration is near an all-time high. The fact is that JD used to work so fine that I got addicted to it.

I have a faint ideea of the work you put in this new version, but I hate to say that most of it seems - to me - to have been a waste. The new look & feel looks quite unfriendly, with the old yellow/green, warmer tones of version 0.4 replaced by a colder (and not cooler) and even less visible grey and blue scale. And this new layout with his right panel... looks probably fine on a 16:9 screen, but seems quite cramped in my 4:3 17''.


Anyway, many thanks for all your work till now. But, for once, you sucked.
  #45  
Old 28.05.2009, 19:59
dark_phoenix
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hey, I just came by to say thanks for the time and effort you put in this software !
The update was great !
No bugs here, really great new GUI, nice performance, and so on.
I rly like the update, keep up the good work!
  #46  
Old 28.05.2009, 20:07
funkymonk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yep, its horrible. Adding links now is just a needlessly more complicated task. Hate it.
  #47  
Old 28.05.2009, 20:14
Tolmies_underpants
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rincewind View Post
I think it's been a misunderstood here, I was giving you the reason, (you can read my first post in this thread). Maybe you thought i was beiing sarcastic or something like that but i wasn't. All i said that is that there are many pepole complaining about the new gui and can't see that the new version brings much more than that.
Oh, I thought you were saying we shouldn't get caught up with the flashy interface.:blink: Reading it again it's crystal clear though, sorry.

And yes, I think you're right. It's not perfect yet and critique/help is certainly called for, but comparing it to the old version is beyond a reasonable approach. It's like comparing a windmill to a airplane - the old version you looked at and went "I guess it's kind of possible..." where this one actually does it.
  #48  
Old 28.05.2009, 20:33
najgori
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

just two things for my first post:
1. great program - thank you all guys for your hard work
2. i just replaced .5 version with the old one. i'm probably to dumb for smart new version.
  #49  
Old 28.05.2009, 21:24
anzial
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

1) I like the fact that developers are trying to improve on their free program. Keep it up and some day we might be willing to pay for it
2) new version does have some nice features but not all of them are working properly. Take for example drag-n-drop links: why the hell does it have to be 2-stage process? I mean, how hard is it to program selecting the space BETWEEN links instead of the links and then asking where do you want to put it? I think a windows-explorer like drag-n-drop is much more user-friendly.
3) the new version eliminated a few useful features that were in the old version. I've reported them and hopefully developers will restore them with next update.
Overall, I like the new version but it's not BUG-free as Jiaz claims. For one, it does spike in resource usage (CPU cycles), I never heard my laptop rev up the fans while running the old version and now it happens quite frequently (note, everything else is the same, so its the new JD that loads up the CPU a bit MORE than the old version which never overheated my laptop)
  #50  
Old 28.05.2009, 21:59
sagei
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I cannot presume to speak for others, but the people harping about the looks should realize that most people are trying to complain about ease of use but are being rather inarticulate. Many people were very happy with the functionality of the old jd. Even if there were bugs they were satisfied with the basic design and more importantly the work flow.
The new collector, navigation etc have been made needlessly complicated. I found myself taking 2-3 steps to accomplish something that could be done unthinkingly in one shot in the old jd. It is discomfiting and annoying Even if I have to forcibly adapt to the new interface as now seems the case I will still regard the old version as superior. Not because I am nostalgic or whiny but because it was a design concept that served me well over a long period of time.
The app now has senseless complications hidden behind a very thin veneer of sophistication. Unfortunately, people upset by the loss of the familiar workflow are venting their anger on the most visible target, namely the gui. People are creatures of habit and the developers should have kept this in mind and curbed their ambitions accordingly. Users are not programmers. Simply being told how technically advanced something is does not automatically improve our experience of it. Day in , day out we have to live with what we actually see and feel and not what someone tells us we should be seeing and feeling.
But what really seems to have pissed off some people including me is the way that this update has been rammed down our throats.
The common response is server load but in over twenty installation attempts I have found that v4 is being deliberately killed.
Whenever I install with the net connection on, the update
available dialog box pops up. Even though I explicitly press the cancel button yet my firewall shows that jd is making lots of connections and downloading small amounts of data anyway. It then pops up an update completed message even though I chose not to update. Once this happens jd v4 will not work. It opens but it won't download the links. If I disable update after this initial 'non-update' and then restart jd still remains dead and it's not because of waiting for some server since my firewall shows that jd isn't even trying to make connections anymore. Instead it just sits there with the enabled links showing no timers etc. If i try to reset, enable/disable etc it even freezes and crashes. This is no exaggeration, but before this update business jd never crashed on me even once.
If I install with the net disconnected, it still asks to update
and then attempts and fails to make connections when I press cancel. Despite this the update completed message pops up. I now go into config and disable auto updating and then save and restart once, just for safety. Only then do I reconnect to the net and restart jd whereupon, surprise, surprise it works. I am not the only one to end up with a dead v4 after 'cancelling' the update.
Am not spinning conspiracy theories and concede that the problem may be one that the jd team are simply unaware of. But after more than 20 attempts I am not buying the server load excuse.
What has upset people even more is the seeming unavailabity of the older version. I am now running v4 that I downloaded from brothersoft but since the 'non update' killed my original install I now no longer have the updated captchas, tray icon etc.
Intentional, unintentional whatever the case may be, I request the jd team to replace my copy of v4 that was ruined in this mess. Please create a v4 package with ALL the last updated captchas, add-ons etc and put it up on rapidshare or bluehost or whatever. I doubt I will be the only one who appreciates such a gesture.
Thank you for sparing the time and attention to read this communication.
  #51  
Old 28.05.2009, 22:11
mitzi8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Now I like the new version

I threw my temper trantrum offline, and then walked carefully through the JD for Dummies and it answered all my questions. I am still having a problem with one hoster, but tech service is working with me to clear it up.
The new version fits into my workflow. I usually copy my links to a text document to paste them all at one time. When I highlight them and copy, they immediately are added to Linkgrabber and all I have to do is add the package. Its actually one less step than the old version required.
  #52  
Old 28.05.2009, 22:51
sagei
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

And the rationale behind copying to a text file is ? if you leave the old collector window open you could just keep copying whatever you want and it would silently and quickly keep adding and checking links. When you were finally done you clicked accept just Once and all the links/packages were added at Once to the download queue. Exactly what steps have you saved ?
  #53  
Old 28.05.2009, 23:54
BEN BEN is offline
Vacuum Cleaner
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 18
Default

Hi MxM,

you are absolutely right, it's a horrible and now even worsened interface, - not to speak about the lack of a (coherent) usability concept.
Their compulsory all-in-one or nothing "update policy" is, to say it politely, very microsoft-like.

I offered them my help twice last year, I'm a very experienced software-/interface designer, I worked for nearly every major company in germany you can name, for many years now, - in the car industries, banking business, etc.

But somehow they choose to ignore my free offer... so, - as I don't think I will kiss these guys asses to get the chance to help THEM with their app, I think we have to live with their very special view on how to design an easy to use app nowadays in 2009...

They wasted an opportunity to learn a lot for free - and now we all waste time by fighting against a horrible concepted app.

That's life - Just read the answer to the first post in this thread...
They seem to have problems with critique, and tend to delete posts of "unwanted" kind.

Anyway, - as we have no real alternative to this app - let's praise it:

HURRAY, GREAT APP, THANK YOU SO MUCH, YOU ARE THE KINGS!!!!!!

Alright?


- - - A man with a lot knowlegde offers free help!!! Got it now??? - - -
  #54  
Old 29.05.2009, 01:41
nick_01
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default donwloan time

m sorry bt i think i have a prob. the previous version used to download files of 100 mb in just about 5-6 minutes. Y is the new one doin it in 10-11 min. i cheked ma connection speed and its still the same.
its getting slow. doubling the time..
ughhhh

Edit by Jiaz: read the damn rs news

Last edited by Jiaz; 29.05.2009 at 13:36.
  #55  
Old 29.05.2009, 09:35
Gweilo's Avatar
Gweilo Gweilo is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 719
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sagei View Post
And the rationale behind copying to a text file is ?
You then have a text file with the links and any notes.
Paste directly into jD and you can't get the raw links back. And JD can lose them all.

I collect lots of links, it may be weeks or months before I decide to download them. (Maybe I want to wait till I have several episodes of a show, enough to fill a DVD, or a movie and its sequel.) I can share these with a friend, post in a forum.

I might collect several different sets of links for a particular feature and choose what seems the better quality one (larger file, or a "proper" update); or just the one with links to a faster more reliable host.

If a file is corrupt, deleted, or missing a password, I can refer to my notes and see if there is a mirror, or go back to the place I found it (I paste that URL in for reference too) and see if there was a followup, or post a comment myself asking for a re-up.

If you see a link, and want to download it RIGHT NOW, then that's fine, I do it occasionally, but if you trust hundreds of links to jD's queue then keep your fingers crossed.
  #56  
Old 29.05.2009, 11:25
kunboy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Please, where i can download old version? This version don't work fine, DLC files don't work, very complicated now for me... :(
Edit by Jiaz: restart jd and dlc will work again

Last edited by Jiaz; 29.05.2009 at 13:35.
  #57  
Old 29.05.2009, 13:54
sagei
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

-

Last edited by sagei; 29.05.2009 at 20:25.
  #58  
Old 29.05.2009, 19:38
Gweilo's Avatar
Gweilo Gweilo is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 719
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sagei View Post
Gweilo your personal preference is AS VALID as anyone else's but it isn't even remotely germane to this guys claims of saving steps in ADDING links to jd. I only responded to his patronising post because I felt that if he was considerate enough to keep his temper tantrums offline then he should have done the same with his twisted logic as well.
I answered the question you posed. Sorry if you meant it to be a rhetorical sneer.


Quote:
Let's examine it shall we -
For just 1 link
1) copy link
2) shift focus to text editor
3) paste
4) highlight link in text editor
5) copy
6) paste
7) accept in link collector

Edit by Jiaz: you make it wrong its working EXACTLY the way it worked before just mark all links and copy, DONE
Edit by Jiaz: if you are already in add links text window, then you are there because you want to edit the links before adding them
Directly in jd collector
1) copy
2) click accept
Edit by Jiaz: same for new version

Now for 5 links in text editor
First 3 steps x 5 -15
Highlight in editor -16
copy -17
accept in link collector - 18

Same 5 links with collector running in background
5 copies
1 accept
6 steps vs 18. Wow that's some saving.
You don't need to click accept every time you add a link. You could just let it sit there while you copy whatever you like, whenever you like. I usually browse and collect for an hour or more before I hit accept.
Edit by Jiaz: 5 links at once i need 2 clcks
Nice for you. I'd have hundreds of links collected and have to spend 10 minutes working out which ones I actually wanted to download now.


Quote:
Gweilo what you seem to be doing is creating your own browsing history. What does that have to do with an effective download manager ?
It's convenient for me. I explained exactly why.
If it's not important to you, fine.
No one is forcing you to do it that way.


Quote:
I don't download RIGHT NOW, if i did i wouldn't have a download queue of 6200. No fingers crossed here. I trust firefox's bookmarks function to store pages with any links or topics i intend to revisit.
Good for you. I've seen whole forums go offline more than once, taking thousands of posts into limbo, temporarily, or permanently.
I don't trust sites to stay up, and I don't trust my links to an encrypted format that only jD can decode, and can trash.
Edit by Jiaz: jd has no crypted format, you can read sourcecode and check how links are saved, no magic there

Quote:
Don't know what version of jd you guys are using
but mine clearly gives me the option to 'open in browser'.
That would be really helpful when I want to get links for a 144 episode run of a TV show. Of course I could just open 576 links in the browser and copy the addresses down. Or I could copy a slab of text from the text file I put them in.

Edit by Jiaz:select the links, rightclick, copy url and voila all links (no container links) are in clipboard

Quote:
My apologies if anything I have posted gave offense.
You can't insult someone and apologise in the same post. That's just hypocrisy. You knew you were being offensive, but posted it regardless.

Last edited by Jiaz; 29.05.2009 at 20:48.
  #59  
Old 29.05.2009, 19:40
wilcott
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I can't help but laugh at people who complain about this.

Some people need to learn to adapt. It didn't take me half an hour to figure things out in this new version.

The only problem I have with this though is that when I minimize it, it doesn't come back up when I want it to. I just keep the window up.

Nonetheless, it is a great program.:)
  #60  
Old 29.05.2009, 20:25
sagei
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Beg to differ gweilo but I wasn't insulting you. Besides my apology was for my previous posts on the subject of this new version and it was issued precisely because you a senior member intervened in this matter. Some of the other posters have been abusive and I do not care to be numbered among them. For all my complaints jd has been very helpful to me and I will always be grateful for that.
Since the post offended you i apologise again.That's not hypocrisy it's courtesy.
You seem to have made up your mind so I doubt anything I say would help. You could stick to your indignation of being insulted or you could accept it wasn't meant that way.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:01.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.