JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 21.09.2011, 05:05
LizardWizard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm a new user, and I have some questions about Captcha Trader's JD plugin.

Has anyone verified that it's legit and free of malware (especially something like a keylogger)? I ask for a few reasons:
  • Captcha Trader is small. It's familiar to this small community here, but it's not well-known to the larger world.
  • It seems pretty common for criminals to prey on download manager users, since this kind of software (especially captcha subversion) is somewhat less than mainstream. For instance, I read a blog post last night (the one which directed me to JDownloader actually) which included scan results on the "Rapidshare Plus" program, and it turned out to be chock full of trojans. I can't remember where the post was, but the point is that I'm wanting to keep my guard up. The open source nature, popularity, and community surrounding JDownloader makes me pretty comfortable with the main program, but I'm nervous about bad plugins slipping under the radar.
  • I noticed that the Java source for Captcha Trader's plugin is only 2.1KB, but the .jar binary is 361.3KB. I have no experience with Java, so I have to ask: Is this normal?
  • I tried compiling the 2.1KB source file that Captcha Trader provided, and OpenJDK's compiler returned two syntax errors. Unless OpenJDK's compiler is quirky (quite possible), this seems to imply the source they provide is not the actual source for the binary they provide.

Could someone familiar with Java and the JDownloader plugin API take a look at the Captcha Trader source and weigh in here?

Last edited by LizardWizard; 21.09.2011 at 05:10.
  #42  
Old 21.09.2011, 06:00
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,972
Default

I'm using captchatrader myself they have published there source code (available on there website), you can also decompile there class/jar files if you wish. I quickly glanced over there source code when I first look into CT. If your worried about security I always advise never use the same username or password on multiple interfaces/websites, then you can not be social hacked as easily. The login data used to be sent as raw text, think they encode with base64, but remember that can be easily reversed also. The only communications I saw where related to the captcha solving. Id say its safe enough.

Try with Sun java? its preferred even for jdownloader.

I've been using it for maybe nearly 12 months now I guess, and I'm happy with there service and support, for the odd times that I've had to use it. It's on par with any of the other similar platforms , if not better as they support open source and multiple downloading platforms and operating systems, which Captchabrotherhood does not. Some of the other services are java based so they do, but they are paid based only.

I've only recently upgraded to the newest version of there plugin, which seems to have improved the handle of multiple captchas within short time frame.

There api is well documented so you can create your own interfaces, and have 3rd party applications freely available also. I'm using jCatGui (on the download page) to earn credits when I have a few minutes spare, I had to decompile that though version I tested seems to not report your user:pass back home *winks*.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]

Last edited by raztoki; 21.09.2011 at 06:06.
  #43  
Old 21.09.2011, 08:31
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@LizardWizard

I admire your analytic mind. I've one question and one comment.

1) Why don't you show this evidence to CT themselves and ask for a clarification? You can then communicate their reply here on this board.

2) I've never trusted extensions nor add-ons of trusted programs (except for scripts I write myself or when I have the time to analyse them), but that's a natural reaction to protect myself and my computer/network. I know that most malware nowadays is distributed through extensions and add-ons (since most of them are browser related I call them browser parasites).
As long as the main application's developers don't see the need to integrate some feature in the application itself I don't use the application or the feature. In the context of jD the latter case applies.
  #44  
Old 23.09.2011, 22:57
midnite
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by raztoki View Post
...I'm using jCatGui (on the download page) to earn credits when I have a few minutes spare, I had to decompile that though version I tested seems to not report your user:pass back home *winks*.
I don't need your data, never fear
  #45  
Old 24.09.2011, 09:06
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,972
Default

@midnite

Thanks for you little app =], I'm using b20110830. Not sure if you've released new build but the minimise setting seems to have slight bug. It disappears from the foreground back to the previous app but after posts/gets credit update, it then selects itself again as the active app even though its not visible (annoying).

I should check for update prior to posting this *Grins*

windows xp , java version "1.6.0_27"
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
  #46  
Old 25.09.2011, 08:16
oxiolxy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default familiar with jCatGUI.jar ?

anyone familiar with jCatGUI.jar ?

thanks.
  #47  
Old 25.09.2011, 08:24
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,972
Default

This isn't made by jdownloader, I use the application and the author made one single post so far on our forums, In reply to something I said. What exactly do you want to know?
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
  #48  
Old 25.09.2011, 08:34
oxiolxy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Error with jCatGUI.jar in Windows XP

someone know why somethimes when im opeing jCatGUI.jar in Windows XP SP2 i get this error:

Enqueue is failed!
Error: UNDEFINED
  #49  
Old 25.09.2011, 08:40
oxiolxy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default application to interface with CaptchaTrader natively

who is familiar with applications to interface with CaptchaTrader natively instead of going through web browser
  #50  
Old 25.09.2011, 08:44
oxiolxy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default question CaptchaTrader authors

it is possible to eliminate the time waything betwen each capcha code on captchatrader.com ?,
for those who are fast typer
  #51  
Old 25.09.2011, 08:52
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,972
Default

@oxiolxy

can you quit making piles of new threads, also keep in mind this forum is meant to support jdownloader and not external applications or platforms. If the author comes by maybe he will reply, maybe not.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
  #52  
Old 25.09.2011, 08:55
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,972
Default

Thread merged

No this is server controlled.

Please ask captchatrader these questions as we are not here to support captchatrader.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
  #53  
Old 25.09.2011, 09:44
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@oxiolxy

You can also send all those questions to the people who developed CT. Their site is "http://captchatrader.com/".

@jD Team

Why has the name of this thread been changed from "Howto: Solve ReCaptchas with Captchatrader-Plugin!" to "Captchatrader :: Solves ReCaptchas"?
  #54  
Old 25.09.2011, 11:06
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,972
Default

I most likely renamed it during all the merge threads. Why does it matter?
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
  #55  
Old 25.09.2011, 17:06
midnite
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by raztoki View Post
...Not sure if you've released new build but the minimise setting seems to have slight bug. It disappears from the foreground back to the previous app but after posts/gets credit update, it then selects itself again as the active app even though its not visible (annoying)...
yes, sometimes it just happened... I couldn't find a proper-and-always-working-solution for the application coming in foreground and getting the focus though
  #56  
Old 25.09.2011, 17:13
midnite
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by oxiolxy View Post
someone know why somethimes when im opeing jCatGUI.jar in Windows XP SP2 i get this error:

Enqueue is failed!
Error: UNDEFINED
don't try to start jCatGUI twice for same user, then you won't get this error message

Update: replaced UNDEFINED with proper CONNECTION LIMIT message regarding to current captcha.trader API

Last edited by midnite; 25.09.2011 at 19:11.
  #57  
Old 26.09.2011, 00:29
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,972
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnite View Post
yes, sometimes it just happened... I couldn't find a proper-and-always-working-solution for the application coming in foreground and getting the focus though
It seems to work, for the first step, then after update (second or two later) it changes to active app (but still minimised/hidden). This happens 95% for me in that mode. Would making the app minimise after each additional step (again) work? until the app needs to be brought forward + active app?
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
  #58  
Old 26.09.2011, 15:56
midnite
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by raztoki View Post
It seems to work, for the first step, then after update (second or two later) it changes to active app (but still minimised/hidden). This happens 95% for me in that mode. Would making the app minimise after each additional step (again) work? until the app needs to be brought forward + active app?
do you have this problems with activated "minimize" option?

I always select both "on top" and "minimize" options, and it always works as long I do not click any other windows at the same time jCatGUI is coming in foreground and getting a focus.
  #59  
Old 26.09.2011, 16:24
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,972
Default

Yah I use 'minimise + ontop'

It works in the sense it minimises the application after you solve a captcha, and then sets activity back to the previous application used prior to jCatGUI coming to the foreground. I can then type a few characters of text in say opera (this <textarea>), then jCatGUI activates itself (still minimised) after I assume jCatGUI updates credits/timer. In the Taskbar it shows jCatGUI selected. This is the part that's annoying.

If you'd like to see this in action I can show you via teamviewer, jump on our IRC channel
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
  #60  
Old 26.09.2011, 23:06
midnite
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by raztoki View Post
Yah I use 'minimise + ontop'

It works in the sense it minimises the application after you solve a captcha, and then sets activity back to the previous application used prior to jCatGUI coming to the foreground. I can then type a few characters of text in say opera (this <textarea>), then jCatGUI activates itself (still minimised) after I assume jCatGUI updates credits/timer. In the Taskbar it shows jCatGUI selected. This is the part that's annoying.

If you'd like to see this in action I can show you via teamviewer, jump on our IRC channel
I can see the problem now yes, it is very annoying if you're typing some text and solving captcha's at same time.

Update: @raztoki: the problem should be fixed now. please test the last version

Last edited by midnite; 27.09.2011 at 00:08. Reason: Update
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:11.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.