JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 23.10.2009, 13:20
EGR
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
there is no installation, just extract jd and start it
best folder is c:\jdownloader, but others do also work. only with deskop and program files you might get problems.
Hi Jiaz!

When I first run it, it asks me about my language, directory of download and other thinks that look like an installation. Do I have to answer all these questions every time I run it? Because I've not been able to run it twice without going through all this process again...

P.S.: I'm using Windows Vista

Thanks!

ER

Last edited by EGR; 23.10.2009 at 13:54.
  #42  
Old 23.10.2009, 16:05
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,069
Default

you have to extract jd to eg c:\jdownloader
and run it from there and jd will rememeber and you can start it by starting jdownloader.exe or jdownloader.jar

DO NOT RUN from within the archive all settings,downloads, links will be lost
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
  #43  
Old 24.10.2009, 09:37
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGR View Post
But it does not install any link or shortcut to run the program after the installation. So, if I close the program, I can't find how to run it again without going through all installation and configuration process again, showing this screen
You can create a short-cut on your desktop by right clicking on the jDownloader.exe file and selecting Send to -> Desktop (create shortcut)
  #44  
Old 28.10.2009, 22:11
bariko
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you for the nice guide!
But why I can't see the images?
  #45  
Old 29.10.2009, 09:05
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

Which images?
  #46  
Old 08.11.2009, 13:38
vimothy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The images at the start of this thread -- the ones that show you how to use JDownloader. I can't see them either.

I'm using the new JDownloader and I can't understand it. It works fine for DLC files, but it won't let me load individual links. I copy a bunch of RS links, click "add URLs" (it doesn't seem to load them automatically any more), and paste me RS links. So far, it makes sense. But then it only gives me two options: "cancel" or "parse URLs". Neither option loads the links! If I click cancel, it cancels. If I click parse URLs -- the same thing happens, which is nothing! The links disappear, they don't go into the download window.

I must have been through this process about twenty times yesterday....
  #47  
Old 08.11.2009, 14:53
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

I can see the images. Do you have an option in your browser to switch images off?

In order to get your links in the Downloads pane, you need to click on the "Continue" button. I know many people have problems with this, and the meaningless name of the button is probably the cause of this problem.
  #48  
Old 08.11.2009, 23:13
stevaz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Help on JDownloader 9.579

Any tutorial for JDownloader 9.579? I download it but don't know how to operate it.
  #49  
Old 09.11.2009, 09:49
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

Good question , but I'm afraid there isn't any in English. I don't know about other languages.

There have been tutorials (starter's guides) for previous versions, but not for the current version. I suppose people are afraid of starting another one, because the Human Machine Interface hasn't been stable for several months.

I'm preparing a better (less)F.A.Q. based on all the posts I find in the forum. It will cover installation, how to get started, how to configure XYZ, etc. but it's progressing slowly, because of time constraints.

For the time being and unless someone updates the "Absolute Beginner's guide", you'll need to use your imagination and the information you'll find in the forums (use board search), the current FAQ and Wiki knowledge base.
  #50  
Old 09.11.2009, 11:50
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,069
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevaz View Post
Any tutorial for JDownloader 9.579? I download it but don't know how to operate it.
visit supportchat, and i will show you with teamviewer.com the basics

generally just add bunch of links to linkgrabber, select some and rightclick contiue with or press continue or start button to accept all
then switch to downloadview and press start button
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
  #51  
Old 24.11.2009, 20:25
drbits's Avatar
drbits drbits is offline
JD English Support (inactive)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Physically in Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 4,437
Default

Quote:
it won't let me load individual links.
1) Check that you don't have a web-protect function in your antivirus or other security software. If you do, turn it off (it is a waste or resources anyway). Security software with lots of parts (like Avast!) cause real problems, and this can be one of them.
2) You have to fix the individual links function before parse URLs will work properly. Otherwise, your security software gets to block the links before JD can process them.
3) See Jiaz notes all over the forum about this.
  #52  
Old 24.11.2009, 20:36
drbits's Avatar
drbits drbits is offline
JD English Support (inactive)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Physically in Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 4,437
Default

Jiaz or PSP: Can you at least change the thread title to show version 6 (which is what is documented here?
Also, if there is a tentative roadmap of expected UI changes (I don't mean the bug database, but a simpler list), I can help create an updated tutorial from this one. Most of the instructions are still correct, but the screen-shots have changed. The roadmap is necessary, because we would want to document something that works at least for the next two or three releases.

When I say help, I mean that I would do most of the work, but one of you would have to check it before it gets posted. Perhaps it should be in the Wiki instead of the board?
  #53  
Old 25.11.2009, 01:03
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,069
Default

The GUI layout is currently in very stable situation. Maybe in future some little improvements to rightclick menus (cleanup) and some more buttons. but the layout will stay the same with its tabs and settings will also stay same layout
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
  #54  
Old 08.12.2009, 07:34
masrah
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Trash

Hi,

I have ownly recently atarted using Jdownloader 9.759 and am quite happy with it. I have a few items I need help on:
1. How do I stop the automatic extraction of files (I know that I can go to each individual link and uncheck the box but is there another way?)
2. Each separately added link becomes a package. How do I stop this?
3. How can I start downloading a single file (I know I can specify the number of downloads and connections)?

Having used flashget all this time I must say this is one fantastic software!!!

Cheers

masrah
  #55  
Old 08.12.2009, 09:28
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

1) You can disable all extraction by disabling the JD Unrar add-on in Settings -> Basics -> Plugins & Add-ons -> Extensions.

2) you can't stop jD creating packages, but you can join all or selected packages into one package, by selecting them and choosing Merge to one package in the right click menu.

3) You can add one link by selecting the link and choosing Add selected link from the right click menu.

When you'll have used jD for some time, you'll forget Flashget forever.
  #56  
Old 09.12.2009, 14:28
masrah
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Remi,

New problem. I have somehow managed to delete JDownloader and had to reinstall. Now after the updates when I copy linksave.in or crypt-it links the linkgrabber does not work automatically. I have to add the URL and it woks for crypt-it but for linksave it opens up explorer and takes me thru the keying in the number etc process. Any reason why. I am now using the Xmas version 0.9.579

Thanks

Last edited by masrah; 10.12.2009 at 06:22.
  #57  
Old 10.12.2009, 07:21
drbits's Avatar
drbits drbits is offline
JD English Support (inactive)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Physically in Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 4,437
Default

Those are not file hosts. They are intermediaries they hide the real links.

These are hard to work with, and untrustworthy, so the team probably removed them. Only the most common intermediaries are supported.

Add URL(s) takes the extra step of searching for known hosts on the web page you have identified. The actual link was probably available for crypt-it, but linksave.in contains anti-automation technology and hides the actual link, so you had to overcome the anti-automation technology (typing in the Captcha number).

If you want these supported, please add a request entry in the Decrypter-Plugins forum. Make sure to follow the rules in the sticky posts. Also, collect several links that use each one and include them in your message. Make sure that the links actually connect with existing files (in your browser).

Ideally, you should also enclose a log of a session in which you tried at least one link from each site. That should be all that you do in that JD run.

The log is now hidden. There is a command in the ? menu to show it.

Do not be surprised if the request is denied or if it takes months for the team to fulfill the request. They do their best, but they are overworked.

Last edited by drbits; 10.12.2009 at 07:38.
  #58  
Old 10.12.2009, 18:14
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,069
Default

linksave uses cnl2. that means it opens the link in browser so you use the clickandload feature of it. this only happens when you enter the link directly

1.) linksave.in -> will open it in browser so you can click the cnl button
2.) xy -> linksave.in -> will not open in browser

same goes for other services that provide cnl2.

you can disable it in settings if you dont want it.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
  #59  
Old 16.12.2009, 22:48
israsia
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default hi thanks for the perfect tutorial

how do i insert my rapidshare login to avoid the 15 minutes waiting?
thanks
henry
  #60  
Old 16.12.2009, 23:41
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,069
Default

settings-hoster-premium, add it there
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:06.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.