JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14.08.2019, 04:01
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD VIP
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 319
Default [Feature request] Make jDownloader update process less intrusive

Hi guys,

jDownloader update process is pretty intrusive, it always pops up on the top of all other windows and it's really annoying when you want to do something else in the meantime.
I'm on macOS and I don't know if it's a platform issue or generic problem.

Thanks in advance,
M
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14.08.2019, 11:09
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 76,841
Default

That's not the default behaviour and sounds like you've changed settings in
Settings-Advanced Settings-search for update
You can reset those values to default by clicking the reset button (when available = non default value is set)
default behaviour is to inform about pending/available update via blinking icon (can be disabled)
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14.08.2019, 14:56
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 76,841
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maelcum View Post
jDownloader update process is pretty intrusive, it always pops up on the top of all other windows
Can you please explain *what exactly* pops up? any dialog or the main window? is JDownloader hidden at that time?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14.08.2019, 17:22
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD VIP
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 319
Default

Hi Jiaz,

I haven't changed any settings regarding update.

I just click on the blinking icon and then a dialog pops up saying the update process started and it might take several minutes.
This dialog stays in front even if I try to another window (say, a browser) so I have to minimize it.
When the update's done, the jDownloader window pops up in front of everything else on the screen, disrupting the work I'm doing.

I hope it makes clear.

Cheers,
Imre
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15.08.2019, 00:52
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,443
Default

i have standard setting on my jd, with macbook here and it does steal focus like a mofo.
its the dialogs during update, so once you agree to update or install update and click away it will take focus over again.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15.08.2019, 10:21
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 76,841
Default

You don't have to click that blinking icon. It's just a notification for available/pending update. by default JDownloader will install core updates on close/restart of JDownloader.
You may disable the blinking via Settings-Advanced Settings-GraphicalUserInterfaceSettings.updatebuttonflashingenabled
You can safely let JDownloader install the updates on close/restart and don't have to keep an eye on update/blinking button and hit it by yourself
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin

Last edited by Jiaz; 15.08.2019 at 10:24.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15.08.2019, 10:23
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 76,841
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maelcum View Post
I just click on the blinking icon and then a dialog pops up saying the update process started and it might take several minutes.
When the update's done, the jDownloader window pops up in front of everything else on the screen, disrupting the work I'm doing.
It should not take several minutes. What are your system specs?
Also I think the behaviour is right because you have an application open and tell it to update and then of course I expect this application to come back again so I can continue to use it.
I would not expect chrome/firefox/application xy to NOT come back when I tell it to update?!
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16.08.2019, 17:42
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD VIP
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 319
Default

Hey Jiaz,

It usually does not take several minutes I just quoted what the dialog says.
jDownloader is always running so I have to initiate the update manually.

Quote:
Also I think the behaviour is right because you have an application open and tell it to update and then of course I expect this application to come back again so I can continue to use it.
I would not expect chrome/firefox/application xy to NOT come back when I tell it to update?!
No, it's not, I just tested with FireFox: I started the update from the About box and then activated Safari and Firefox update happened in the background and Firefox didn't steal the focus.
This is the right behavior, I believe.

Cheers,
M

Last edited by Maelcum; 17.08.2019 at 03:39.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17.08.2019, 20:55
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 62,561
Default

I've never really been thinking about this but it seems like your described behavior of e.g. Firefox is more likely to be the right one.

-psp-
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager
JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22.08.2019, 19:16
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 76,841
Default

__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26.04.2022, 17:38
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD VIP
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 319
Default

Hi,

Any update on this one?
The ticket isn't available anymore, and the issue is still there, and it's getting more and more annoying.

Thanks in advance,
M
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26.04.2022, 17:44
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 76,841
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maelcum View Post
and it's getting more and more annoying.
I'm sorry but there has been no work on this yet. If it annoys you that much, why not simply disable the blinking icon and let JDownloader update in background and on exit/start? JDownloader won't show any popup/dialog when installing the updates on normal close/exit of JDownloader, so nothing that will disturb you from work
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin

Last edited by Jiaz; 26.04.2022 at 17:51.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01.05.2022, 02:48
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD VIP
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 319
Default

Hi Jiaz,

jDownloader runs all the time, and the blinking icon is useful, I'd rather keep it as is.

I just restarted/updated jDownloader and it stole the focus at least 3 times. That is annoying.

On another note, why can't we see the tickets in the bug tracker?

Thanks in advance,
M

Last edited by Maelcum; 01.05.2022 at 02:49. Reason: fixing typo
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02.05.2022, 11:26
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 76,841
Default

@Maelcum: I will check and try to make JDownloader not to steal/get focus or *bring to top* during update cycle
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02.05.2022, 11:27
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 76,841
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maelcum View Post
On another note, why can't we see the tickets in the bug tracker?
There is server maintenance required/pending which I did not find time yet for and that's why the bug tracker is currently not publicly available
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06.05.2022, 22:29
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
JD VIP
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
@Maelcum: I will check and try to make JDownloader not to steal/get focus or *bring to top* during update cycle
Sounds great, thanks a lot!

Cheers,
M
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09.05.2022, 13:45
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 76,841
Default

@Maelcum: Please thank me first once I found time for it and could easy the situation/solve it way that you're happy with it
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09.05.2022, 14:31
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 62,561
Default

@Maelcum
I'm sure sure if it will be of great help but you could also try the EventScripter auto update script and set JD to start minimized but I guess as long as the update happens while you're actively using your machine it could still be unnerving.
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager
JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 20.05.2022, 07:50
Jaguar Jaguar is offline
Baby Loader
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maelcum View Post
Hi guys,

jDownloader update process is pretty intrusive, it always pops up on the top of all other windows and it's really annoying when you want to do something else in the meantime.
I'm on macOS and I don't know if it's a platform issue or generic problem.

Thanks in advance,
M
Im on Windows and it's Still pretty Annoying and still going on.
I would like it not to Impose itself On top of everything when Starting and Updating and Flashing.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 20.05.2022, 10:34
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 76,841
Default

@Jaguar: Can you please try to set Settings->Advanced Settings->GraphicalUserInterfaceSettings.newdialogframestate to OS_DEFAULT ?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:21.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.