JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23.06.2011, 22:35
b5226695
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Show exact file size in bytes

Hello

Is it possible to show exact file size in bytes?

I would to compare two files inside Linkgrabber to check if they're the same. Exact file size is usually a good cue.

Regards
b
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24.06.2011, 09:19
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

This isn't possible.

I think this is a new requirement.

I would check this on the host sites themselves until this is implemented.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25.06.2011, 19:34
b5226695
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I've just accidentally found a topic regarding this issue from 2009.
http://board.jdownloader.org/showthread.php?t=10335

One of of the developers claims that...
Quote:
tooltips of loaded/size columns now shows the exact bytes
and tooltip of infowindow, the size numbers, also shows size in bytes now
Is it no longer valid or rather why are my tooltips not showing up?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26.06.2011, 09:04
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

There is a tool-tip on the Host column and it just repeats what you already can see, but I don't get a tool-tip for the Size nor the Loaded column.

I'm not sure what the 'infowindow' is, but I don't see the exact size in the Properties window neither.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22.12.2012, 22:07
Prepared
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

True, I can't set it to show the size of files in bytes. Tried both JD and JD 2

Hello, developers, can you please implement the feature?

Thank you very much.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22.12.2012, 22:46
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 48,912
Default

No way to do as filesizes are never given exact.

GreeZ psp
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23.12.2012, 00:03
Prepared
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

oh, i see, thank you anyways
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23.12.2012, 04:26
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,283
Default

Many hosters round figures. We can only get real figure on filesizes when the download starts from the http header information.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27.10.2019, 16:16
chrisk chrisk is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 5
Default

It would be helpful if at least the "Loaded" ("Geladen") column could be configured to display the size in the unit of the user's choice (MB, KB, B...). This information (exact file size of downloaded file) is available.

In my case, I moved the downloaded files to another location, only to find them renamed like EP2C30~1.WAV - the program used for the move obviously cannot use the special Windows API for filenames longer than 256 characters (there is one which allows you to store them internally as \\?\some-long-name). So while JD2 downloaded them correctly, I now have a bunch of them to rename to meaningful names.

I could use the list in the Downloads tab - if only the "Loaded" ("Geladen") column showed the exact file size in bytes! I could then find the right names by simply comparing sizes - the sizes in MB are not helpful here...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28.10.2019, 17:54
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

@chrisk: See Settings-Advanced Settings-MaxSizeUnit
there you can change the shown Unit for all (Size/Loaded/Speed/Remaining...) information.
JDownloader/Java supports the windows api for longer file and doesn't create that *shortened* filenames. Sure the destination filesystem does support long filenames? Can you provide more information about this? What Java version? What filesystem? Can you reproduce the issue?
I'm not able to reproduce the issue nor ever encountered it myself nor do I remember (forgive me if I forget about posts) another user with same issue
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28.10.2019, 17:55
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

Also maybe provide a log, see https://support.jdownloader.org/Know...d-session-logs
and post shown logID here
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 15.11.2019, 19:12
chrisk chrisk is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 5
Default

It was not JDownloader that created those shortened filenames. It was (I think) SpeedCommander 17. NTFS has the 256 limit in total filename length - that was exceeded by my directory structure + filename. Not JD's or Java's fault.

I cannot find "Advanced Settings" under "Settings". I keep looking at the link panel and see "General", "Reconnect",...etc. but no "Advanced Settings"...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19.11.2019, 00:51
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,283
Default

scroll down further /!\ is the icon
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20.11.2019, 00:36
chrisk chrisk is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 5
Default

WOW! Thanks! Found it! Finally, I was able to change the unit to Bytes.

That /!\ (attention) icon is really small, while all others are "normal" (middle) size - this has effectively hidden that part from my vision so far. Besides "Profieinstellungen" is not the right translation of "Advanced Settings" to german - I would expect it to be "Erweiterte Einstellungen" instead...You might consider changing both icon size and translation to avoid such confusion by people like me.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20.11.2019, 01:22
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,283
Default

thought it might been a translation issue, main reason I described the icon design. I wont mess with translations as I don't speak German (current translation is also used with guides and screen shots.. changing it could have fall out.), please wait for Jiaz or psp to respond
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]

Last edited by raztoki; 20.11.2019 at 04:11.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:53.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.