JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21.07.2021, 05:43
netsonicyxf netsonicyxf is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 9
Default Portable JD2?

I installed the latest windows version on Win 10 under C:\Users\xxx\Desktop\jd

then move all the contents in the jd folder to another path:
E:\Program Files\Network\JDownloader 2\

When I launch JDownloader2.exe, it shows "couldn't load main class"

If I move them back into C:\Users\xxx\Desktop\jd, then I can lauch it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21.07.2021, 09:38
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,365
Default

Is that path "E:\Program Files", the system path of program files? If so its protected path and you can't run JDownloader in that location. One of the reasons it typically installs to %appdata%\JDownloader 2.0\
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21.07.2021, 10:46
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 72,267
Default

Sounds like either you did not copy all files or sort of permission/ownership issue.
Nothing has changed about the portability of JDownloader and you can still move the complete JDownloader folder somewhere else and just start it.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21.07.2021, 16:23
netsonicyxf netsonicyxf is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raztoki View Post
Is that path "E:\Program Files", the system path of program files? If so its protected path and you can't run JDownloader in that location. One of the reasons it typically installs to %appdata%\JDownloader 2.0\
it's not system path, it's a path for my portable apps
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21.07.2021, 16:26
netsonicyxf netsonicyxf is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Sounds like either you did not copy all files or sort of permission/ownership issue.
Nothing has changed about the portability of JDownloader and you can still move the complete JDownloader folder somewhere else and just start it.
I log in as admin on win 10, so the permission should not be an issue. and I am sure I copied everything in the original folder and pasted them into the new folder.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21.07.2021, 18:54
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 72,267
Default

Admin user doesn't have auto elevated permissions! Admin user still has to elevate permissions in order to do some admin stuff.
Can you provide the full screenshot/error message.
We can also take a look at this together if you want, just contact me via support@jdownloader.org
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22.07.2021, 03:13
netsonicyxf netsonicyxf is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 9
Default

screenshot and error.log(txt) are attached.

I notice in the error.txt,
Quote:
1|Log.L.log 21-7-21 9:32:53 - INFO [ org.appwork.loggingv3.LogV3(info) ] -> Application Root: C:\Users\yingx\Desktop\jd
1|Log.L.log 21-7-21 9:32:53 - INFO [ org.appwork.storage.JsonKeyValueStorage(<init>) ] -> CFG File does not exist: C:\Users\yingx\Desktop\jd\cfg\org.jdownloader.update.lastchance.LastChanceConfig.json
Looks to me that JD remember the original path "C:\Users\yingx\Desktop\jd", so when it moves to other path, it tried to get files from the original path.
Attached Images
File Type: png 1.png (2.0 KB, 3 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip error.zip (10.2 KB, 1 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22.07.2021, 10:05
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 72,267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by netsonicyxf View Post
Looks to me that JD remember the original path "C:\Users\yingx\Desktop\jd", so when it moves to other path, it tried to get files from the original path.
That's not the case. JDownloader is running from here
Quote:
C:\Users\yingx\Desktop\jd
I'm confused. I thought JDownloader doesn't work when you start it in E:...
but log shows that you start it normal in old place?! this log was from old/working place, right?

Also the error screen looks strange to me. What installer did you use to install JDownloader?
Have you tried a fresh installation, see https://jdownloader.org/jdownloader2
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin

Last edited by Jiaz; 22.07.2021 at 10:10.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22.07.2021, 12:29
netsonicyxf netsonicyxf is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 9
Default

The installer is x86 Java 1.8.

It works in the old path. But it can't be run in the new path.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22.07.2021, 12:35
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 72,267
Default

There must be something you overlook/oversee. You copy the files within that folder or the complete folder and rename it?I'm asking because, when I remember right, there are hidden directory as well. What happens when you directly start JDownloader.jar?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29.07.2021, 06:14
netsonicyxf netsonicyxf is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 9
Default

" start JDownloader.jar" works
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29.07.2021, 12:16
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 72,267
Default

@netsonicyxf: maybe sort of firewall/av that blocks access to the files when launching via .exe file
I can still offer help via Teamviewer but without, I have no idea what is going on on your setup/system.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14.08.2021, 02:54
netsonicyxf netsonicyxf is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
There must be something you overlook/oversee. You copy the files within that folder or the complete folder and rename it?I'm asking because, when I remember right, there are hidden directory as well. What happens when you directly start JDownloader.jar?
I find the reason: "there are hidden directory as well"
Thanks you.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18.08.2021, 17:13
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 72,267
Default

@netsonicyxf: thanks for the follow up great to hear you finally found the cause/solution
one of the first things I do on fresh OS setup is to enable "show hidden files/directories" and "show file extensions for known file types"
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:36.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.