JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27.06.2016, 21:55
beechcott beechcott is offline
Vacuum Cleaner
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 15
Default JDownloader 2 memory leak.

For the past couple of weeks, JDownloader 2 has started frequently getting stuck due to enormous memory use. It gets so bad that it causes all the other programs on my computer to be sluggish because of the amount of memory it is using. I don't know why this is. It gets to the point that I sometimes have to forcefully stop JDownloader via the Windows Task Manager, something I hate to do because of the risks involved.

This problem usually starts after either downloading some files (usually multiples files in one package), but sometimes occurs after just using the linkgrabber.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28.06.2016, 09:55
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 50,929
Default

JDownloader does not have a memleak. It can only use max memory. If you say your whole system gets sluggish then it is very likely a memlean in firewall/av/other tool. For example we know that some av tools have issues with sparse files and killer network driver have a memleak , https://support.jdownloader.org/Know...emleak---crash

You can check about dialog of JDownloader to check how much memory java is max allowed to use
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28.06.2016, 10:04
beechcott beechcott is offline
Vacuum Cleaner
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
JDownloader does not have a memleak. It can only use max memory. If you say your whole system gets sluggish then it is very likely a memlean in firewall/av/other tool. For example we know that some av tools have issues with sparse files and killer network driver have a memleak , **External links are only visible to Supporters**...

You can check about dialog of JDownloader to check how much memory java is max allowed to use
When I check the Windows task manager during this problem, JDownloader is shown using large percentages of the memory and CPU (especially the CPU).

The about dialogue shows a maximum of only 235 MB for Java, but JDownloader is currently using over 270 MB (and it's not even stuck right now).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28.06.2016, 10:11
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 50,929
Default

270 mbyte is okay. How much memory does your system have?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28.06.2016, 10:23
beechcott beechcott is offline
Vacuum Cleaner
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
270 mbyte is okay.
True. But I think it starts to use more when the problem occurs. Truth be told, I was mostly just looking at the CPU stats (rather than the RAM stats) in Windows Task Manager during the times when the problem occured, so I don't know exactly how much RAM it was using at the time.
Quote:
How much memory does your system have?
8 GB. It's mainly the CPU usage that's the problem, though. It sometimes uses upwards of 70% of my CPU when the problem hits.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28.06.2016, 10:25
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 50,929
Default

Okay, then the reason is the very little memory for JDownloader. 230 max is only okay for light usage and not many links in list. You have to increase max memory for JDownloader. Open the existing .vmoptions file in your JDownloader folder and append/change the line

-Xmx512m

This means that JDownloader is allowed to use max 512mbyte
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28.06.2016, 10:32
beechcott beechcott is offline
Vacuum Cleaner
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Okay, then the reason is the very little memory for JDownloader. 230 max is only okay for light usage and not many links in list. You have to increase max memory for JDownloader. Open the existing .vmoptions file in your JDownloader folder and append/change the line

-Xmx512m

This means that JDownloader is allowed to use max 512mbyte
I edited the .vmoptions file as you recommended. I'll try out JDownloader again tomorrow, and I'll report back if I still have any problems.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28.06.2016, 10:36
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 50,929
Default

That should reduce cpu usage a lot. Depending on your usage you can also increase max memory more.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13.11.2017, 19:49
darkfader darkfader is offline
Baby Loader
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Default

*** Terminating app due to uncaught exception 'JavaNativeException', reason: 'java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space'
specifically "MALLOC 270.6M 286 "
hxxps://pastebin.com/gLba4r9v

The above error looks like a memory leak to me. You probably mean the core doesn't have leaks but plugins do? Is there a simulation/reference plugin that is used to test for memory leaks? Or just blaming the VM instead? Memory leaks under special conditions can be difficult to track (when not using a debugger).

Last edited by darkfader; 13.11.2017 at 20:00.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13.11.2017, 20:04
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 50,929
Default

OutOfMemory does not mean there is a memleak. It also happens when you have higher workload/number of links than the allowed heap can handle
Please check About Dialog of JDownloader. It will show how much memory is in use and how much memory is possible to use by java.

To me it looks like your Mac installation suffers the known 256MB limited memory issue.
You have to edit your plist/vmoptions file to allow higher heap memory. 256MB is not enough for GUI + many links.
In your JDownloader Application you should find a .vmoptions list file, edit it and
remove any
-Xms
line and add
-Xmx1g
to it
Depending on age of your installation, this may also be set in plist file of your Application Launcher
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13.11.2017, 20:32
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 50,929
Default

Would be nice if you could post a screenshot of about dialog, so I can see if I was right about limited heap
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:47.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.