JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

View Poll Results: What version of operating system do you use
OS-X 10.6 or later 72 77.42%
OS-X 10.5 15 16.13%
OS-X 10.4 or earlier 6 6.45%
Something else 6 6.45%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 93. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101  
Old 30.06.2011, 05:30
george14215
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackJackson View Post
So yeah, I can't get to any captcha countdown on any of the sites that use(fileserve, filesonic, hotfile, wupload etc)....none will start, and half of their buttons won't work after i downloaded jdownloader.

any fixes for this? Im using mac os x 10.6.8.
don't know of any fixes, but what unfreezes jdownloader for me when this happens is to do another linkgrabber copy operation.
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 30.06.2011, 09:32
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

I suppose you're talking about the Linkgrabber. Some Linkgrabber operations can take a while because some decrypters are more complex than others. The duration also depends on the number of links that need to be handled.

@JackJackson

I don't understand your post. Are you talking about the countdown in the captcha dialogue? What buttons are you talking about?
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 01.07.2011, 01:37
george14215
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remi View Post
I suppose you're talking about the Linkgrabber. Some Linkgrabber operations can take a while because some decrypters are more complex than others. The duration also depends on the number of links that need to be handled.

@JackJackson

I don't understand your post. Are you talking about the countdown in the captcha dialogue? What buttons are you talking about?
@remi,
I witness what JackJackson sees all the time on the Mac. The UI freezes after you leave the app unattended for a while, and it's tried to prompt you for captcha input for a while. The "x" close button on the upper left is painted red, and the whole UI is frozen including the bandwidth monitor.

I used to force quit the app and restart it. Until I figured out that doing a copy of, say, a rapidshare link will "wake up" the app. Another thing that mitigates this behavior is to simply put a Stop sign on the current download that requires captcha if you're going to leave the app unattended for a while. That way it won't go to the next download that requires captcha and prompt you in futility until it freezes again.

I can't say that I've explored this behavior in great detail because the workarounds seem to work for me.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 01.07.2011, 09:44
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What is the CPU and memory consumption of jD during the 'freezes'?

I suppose jD's "wake up" is caused by the clipboard monitor that finds the links you copy. Do the freezes happen also when you disable jD's clipboard monitor?
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 02.07.2011, 05:38
george14215
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remi View Post
What is the CPU and memory consumption of jD during the 'freezes'?

I suppose jD's "wake up" is caused by the clipboard monitor that finds the links you copy. Do the freezes happen also when you disable jD's clipboard monitor?
I'll take a look this weekend. And I will take some screenshots as well.
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 15.07.2011, 16:48
elfis
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hello

I'm using macosx ver of jdownloader and I'm very satisfy. I don't have big problems with this "super program" . I have one small problem , the JD windows is going to high and after is like this i can't move the program to oher place of osx desk. So it's there some fix for this. Thank You

Sorry for my english is not my primary language.
Attached Images
File Type: png jdownloader.png (110.1 KB, 276 views)
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 16.07.2011, 04:07
Statter Statter is offline
JD VIP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 458
Default

elfis, you have done something often done by accident when one is in a rush or just not paying attention.

Unfortunately JD does not allow us to grab side edges of the window so we can pull it down when the bar section at the top gets pushed under the main OS X menu bar.

One way to get the top back is to play with the monitor settings to see if you can get the JD window to move to a position on the screen where you can then resize it smaller then restore your standard monitor settings and then resize JD accordingly.

You ma be able to grab the actual line that separates the main window from the Title ad the file, links menu of the app but, that is only f you have a very good mouse and patients and eye if it is not too far up.

There may be another way, it has bee a while since that has happened to me so, I don't remember exactly what I did but it was probably something similar to the above mentions ways to try.

Last resort it to reset JD I believe. This should reset JD to the first time after one installs it.
__________________
OS X !0.6.8 Mac Pro Intel (Workhorse)
OS X 10.10.5 MBP Intel (Secondary)
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 16.07.2011, 09:38
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

@elfis

There's a video on YT that explains how to get back control over the window (How to unstuck jDownloader underneath menubar) :- "**External links are only visible to Support Staff**.

You need to go into System Preferences and make sure "Spaces" is enabled, and then take note which key is used to activate "Spaces" (it might be F8).

Another solution might be to just change the resolution of your display to a lower one. When you return back to the initial resolution all windows will be smaller and visible.
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 16.07.2011, 22:56
akumajin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I just changed from Windows 7 to OSX and I'm at a loss on how to make JDownloader auto extract files. It says in the plug-in preferences that I need to install unrar. I searched the jdownloader site and the instructions baffle me I'm afraid. :/ Can anyone help me out? Thank you for reading...
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 17.07.2011, 08:39
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The jD Unrar extension should run on any platform. Just activate it in the Settings -> Plugins & Addons -> Extensions.
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 18.07.2011, 07:20
akumajin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It is enabled in the settings but when I go to the JD UNrar settings pane I see this

http://i56.tinypic.com/s2ru2q.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 18.07.2011, 09:49
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Please read "Please install unrar".
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 27.07.2011, 06:13
benpascual
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

so i just recently joined the jdownloader family. for the first few days, i was amazed how it can keep up its maximum speed. however, now it seems like my speed is stuck from 15Kbps to 30Kbps. My usual speed is 120-Kbps to 140Kbps. I have premium accounts on megaupload and filesonic. TIA

here are my screenies.
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...cture1hwx.png/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...icture2wt.png/

Last edited by benpascual; 27.07.2011 at 10:26. Reason: with pictures* hopefully they show
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 27.07.2011, 09:04
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In case you would be able to download faster with other tools, please read "Having speed issues?".

I don't see any 'screenies' but I have not the best eyesight neither.
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 27.07.2011, 10:29
benpascual
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i reupload the pictures with new links. as you can see on the picture, im connected to only 1... my total download speed would be at maximum of 140 kBps but as you can see it so slow
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 31.07.2011, 18:16
GhostLyrics
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

just a quick question: Is there any work done on the aqua interface? I'm using the Nightly build since December 2010 and there don't seem to be many changes on the user interface front of the project. There are multiple - and I think quite simple - suggestions that I can make to improve the plattform awareness on OS X.
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 01.08.2011, 09:10
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Please provide your suggestions if they can increase jD's usability.
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 02.08.2011, 09:31
Statter Statter is offline
JD VIP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 458
Default

@ benpascual,

If the speed issues does not fix the problem and as you did not say how your connected or what OS, what machine Laptop/Desktop etc. and as we have no idea of your ISP, it cold be a few other problems ... Usually though from what I understand about certain ISP's and regions you ISP may be limiting your bandwidth if you have gone over it in one way or another.

Be sure also you have latest updates ... and If your on Lion it is still a bit new and their still working out bugs such as the Safari 5.1 bug many seem to be reporting ... not everyone has it or sees it but there is fairly high number being reported.

Are you using a firewall and or any AV software?

Many things can affect speed.
__________________
OS X !0.6.8 Mac Pro Intel (Workhorse)
OS X 10.10.5 MBP Intel (Secondary)
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 02.08.2011, 09:34
Statter Statter is offline
JD VIP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 458
Default

@ GhostLyrics, if you have things that can help them in the java world to get the Mac OS and JD to work more like we would like it to for the Mac ... Please let them know or supply some code for them to test please.

JD is good but it does not really fit the Mac GUI as is. :(

Maybe you could code some things for them and pass it on also
__________________
OS X !0.6.8 Mac Pro Intel (Workhorse)
OS X 10.10.5 MBP Intel (Secondary)
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 02.08.2011, 09:41
Statter Statter is offline
JD VIP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 458
Default

@ remi thanks for the youtube link .. I forgot about spaces as I don't like the way it is implemented (a bit too buggy for me). ... I much prefer the Unix version of X-windows.
__________________
OS X !0.6.8 Mac Pro Intel (Workhorse)
OS X 10.10.5 MBP Intel (Secondary)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:24.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.