JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26.07.2020, 07:53
thetoad thetoad is offline
Tornado
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 228
Default rapidgator.net free trying to resume again

was there a reason rapidgator resume support was added back to the free mode? It still doesn't seem to work and just burns captchas putting one into harder mode faster
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27.07.2020, 15:59
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 54,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thetoad View Post
was there a reason rapidgator resume support was added back to the free mode?
Because resume will work fine for a lot of files.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thetoad View Post
It still doesn't seem to work and just burns captchas putting one into harder mode faster
I was not able to reproduce this issue - please post a log and example URLs.

Please post your log-ID here | bitte poste deine Log-ID hier.

-psp-
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager
How to create a log || Wie man einen Log erstellt
Captcha FAQ EN || Captcha FAQ DE || Erste Schritte & Tutorials
JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27.07.2020, 19:34
thetoad thetoad is offline
Tornado
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 228
Default

It doesn't always happen, but I do see times when it burns my captchas. (i.e. I do a captcha, it tries to resume, it fails, it then fails to download normally (like it thinks it should) and then retries again with another captcha. Other times, the retry after resume fails works fine.

I'll have to capture a log when I see this happen.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27.07.2020, 21:07
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pspzockerscene View Post
Because resume will work fine for a lot of files.
is this quantifiable ?
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28.07.2020, 11:32
thetoad thetoad is offline
Tornado
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 228
Default

what I would prefer is just a user configuration for this. i.e. default unchecked, but if checked, tries to resume (and vice versa in future if they go back to supporting resume in general). This would enable the user to determine if they want to change the default behavior (and don't have to wait for a plugin update)

also, it just happened, I had to double captcha entry after a failure

24.07.20 18.24.06 <--> 28.07.20 12.31.58 jdlog://2655125302851/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28.07.2020, 12:36
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 54,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raztoki View Post
is this quantifiable ?
Not really.
It worked for all URLs I've tested.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thetoad View Post
what I would prefer is just a user configuration for this. i.e. default unchecked, but if checked, tries to resume (and vice versa in future if they go back to supporting resume in general).
As explained in other threads, here again:
- RG allows resume for some files in free(-account) mode and for some not (well or sometimes and sometimes not)
- Our plugin is supposed to detect this
- In this case, a retry is possible WITHOUT captcha
- It has been this way for months

From your log it seems like RG has changed the way the display the "cannot resume" error --> Our plugin failed to detect this which lead to your described behavior.

I've fixed this- and tested this.
After the next update, resume failures in RG free(-account) mode will NOT cause "double captchas" anymore.

Wartest du auf einen angekündigten Bugfix oder ein neues Feature?
Updates werden nicht immer sofort bereitgestellt!
Bitte lies unser Update FAQ! | Please read our Update FAQ!

---
Are you waiting for recently announced changes to get released?
Updates to not necessarily get released immediately!
Bitte lies unser Update FAQ! | Please read our Update FAQ!


-psp-
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager
How to create a log || Wie man einen Log erstellt
Captcha FAQ EN || Captcha FAQ DE || Erste Schritte & Tutorials
JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28.07.2020, 14:31
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,195
Default

@psp
ok never knew about this, seems interesting.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28.07.2020, 17:34
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 54,379
Default

Small addition to the above:
RG is quite restrictive when it comes to re-using generated direct-URLs in free mode.
"Resume failure" is pretty much the only case in which a generated direct-URL can be re-used --> This is also the reason why my above mentioned handling works as long as our plugin detects the situation correctly.

-psp-
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager
How to create a log || Wie man einen Log erstellt
Captcha FAQ EN || Captcha FAQ DE || Erste Schritte & Tutorials
JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04.08.2020, 22:02
thetoad thetoad is offline
Tornado
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 228
Default

the reason this has to be user configurable, is because it breaks a nice feature that jd2 has. If you try to stop a non resumable link in jd2, jd2 warns you before it can go through. If you try to stop a resumable link, it just lets you.

as at least for me, I haven't been able to resume a rapidgator link in a while, I like the feature and just accidentally disabled a link that was 5GB in. I don't think it would have happened if jd2 knew that it couldn't resume.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05.08.2020, 13:56
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 54,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thetoad View Post
the reason this has to be user configurable, is because it breaks a nice feature that jd2 has. If you try to stop a non resumable link in jd2, jd2 warns you before it can go through. If you try to stop a resumable link, it just lets you.
You're absolutely right!

I really didn't think about this ...

I will add a plugin setting for resume enable/disable in free mode soon.

-psp-
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager
How to create a log || Wie man einen Log erstellt
Captcha FAQ EN || Captcha FAQ DE || Erste Schritte & Tutorials
JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05.08.2020, 14:45
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 54,379
Default

Added resume setting for the next update (default = resume enabled):


Wartest du auf einen angekündigten Bugfix oder ein neues Feature?
Updates werden nicht immer sofort bereitgestellt!
Bitte lies unser Update FAQ! | Please read our Update FAQ!

---
Are you waiting for recently announced changes to get released?
Updates to not necessarily get released immediately!
Bitte lies unser Update FAQ! | Please read our Update FAQ!


-psp-
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager
How to create a log || Wie man einen Log erstellt
Captcha FAQ EN || Captcha FAQ DE || Erste Schritte & Tutorials
JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05.08.2020, 15:47
thetoad thetoad is offline
Tornado
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 228
Default

thanks. I dont care how it default, just let me set it. also would let me experiment in future to see if they change their policies again. I'm wondering if resume ability is based on size.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05.08.2020, 15:51
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 54,379
Default

To be honest - I've tested it once again just before I've added the setting and wasn't able to make resume work in free mode anymore - tested with two different URLs.

... but as said, it definitely worked and we also had reports of users who wanted us to enable resume again so we did it.

Anyways - I hope that now with the setting, it suits everyones' needs

-psp-
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager
How to create a log || Wie man einen Log erstellt
Captcha FAQ EN || Captcha FAQ DE || Erste Schritte & Tutorials
JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:59.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.