JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29.09.2018, 00:21
StrikeAgainst
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Browser command line not working as expected (?)

I want JDownloader to open captchas in a new Firefox instance instead of my default one, so I set the browser command line option to:

["C:\\Program Files\\Mozilla Firefox\\firefox.exe","-no-remote -P \"test\" %s"]

But instead of opening the captcha in a new instance, it just opens it in a new regular window, while running

C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox>firefox.exe -no-remote -P "test" [URL]

in command prompt opens an URL as expected.

Why is this? Did I miss something about the String array? I supposed the first field value would be the browser executable path while the second one would be the execution parameters, but that doesn't seem to be the case. This documentation is too concise about it either...

Can someone help me?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29.09.2018, 01:23
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,611
Default

your mistake is on the middle section, each switch requires its own ""

raztoki
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30.09.2018, 22:33
StrikeAgainst
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Still doesn't quite work as expected though... putting

[ "C:\\Program Files\\Mozilla Firefox\\firefox.exe", "-no-remote", "-P \"test\"", "%s" ]

tells me that there's already an instance of Firefox running.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01.10.2018, 10:39
audio20's Avatar
audio20 audio20 is offline
Fibre Channel User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 125
Default maybe try this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by StrikeAgainst View Post
Still doesn't quite work as expected though... putting

[ "C:\\Program Files\\Mozilla Firefox\\firefox.exe", "-no-remote", "-P "test"", "%s" ]

tells me that there's already an instance of Firefox running.
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio20 View Post
I also took the time to properly find out what was wrong with my firefox command line (tried to force jD to ask for captchas in secure mode); turns out the syntax inside jD command line for firefox does not support the space character inside the parameters (I was so dumb it took me a loooong time to figure this out).

This is the commandline I am using now, for reference, if anyone have the same problem. I must use "-p" followed by the name of my firefox user profile before passing the "-private" parameter and I could NOT pass all parameters at once e.g. "-p Profile -private"
Code:
[ "C:\\Program\\Firefox\\firefox.exe", "-p", "General", "-private-window", "%s" ]
Turns out I was slightly wrong there... The profile name ("test" in your case, I believe) is yet another parameter and should be passed separately. Still, that command line above worked quite well for me here.

Your command line maybe could work like this:
Code:
[ "C:\\Program Files\\Mozilla Firefox\\firefox.exe", "-p", "test", "-no-remote", "%s" ]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01.10.2018, 11:13
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 79,290
Default

@audio20: yes, it's another parameter. your example should work fine

@StrikeAgainst: in case it still doesn't work, please don't hesitate and contact us again
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02.10.2018, 03:06
StrikeAgainst
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes, it finally works now! Thank you for your support
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02.10.2018, 11:08
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 79,290
Default

Thank's for the feedback. Glad to hear that you finally could make it working
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:15.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.