JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25.02.2015, 17:14
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
Peta Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 183
Default Incredible memory usage

Hi,

Whenever invoke the popup menu (in the LinkGrabber tab) the memory usage jumps up to almost 2G (probably to the max memory Java can allocate) and jDownloader becomes unresponsive. I usually have to kill the process.



M
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25.02.2015, 17:18
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,012
Default

What OS? What Java versoin (See about dialog) How many links do you have in list?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26.02.2015, 10:38
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
Peta Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 183
Default

Hi,

Here's some more information...

OS: Win7 64 bit
Java: 1.8.0_13 (from the about)
Nr of Packages: 10
Nr of links in all Packages: 91

If you need any more information please let me know.

Regards,
M

PS: I just updated jDownlader and it still produces the same behavior.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26.02.2015, 10:55
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
Peta Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 183
Default

Also, a small observation: if I right click on a link or on a package the memory usage goes up but if I click on an empty area the memory stay on a sane level (considering it's a java app).

Now I have to uninstall it because this behavior renders it useless... :-(

M
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26.02.2015, 11:00
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,012
Default

Its a bug. cannot reproduce. Can we do a teamviewer session?
JDownloader 2 is able to hold more than 1mio links and still being controllable.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26.02.2015, 11:01
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,012
Default

I tested DownloadTable/LinkgrabberTable, unable to reproduce or see any increase in memory usage.
I can help you if you want. Either Teamviewer or maybe screenshots?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26.02.2015, 11:23
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
Peta Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 183
Default

Hi,

Unfortunately I've already uninstalled it because it was useless since I reported this bug.

I decided to stay with jDownloader1 for now.
It works better for me in many aspects.

Thanks,
M
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26.02.2015, 11:34
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,012
Default

What aspects do you have in mind? Please help us to make JDownloader 2 better because we will soon ditch JDownloader 1 support. I would really like to help with your JDownloader 2 issues. Just report back when you want us to help.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26.02.2015, 11:48
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
Peta Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 183
Default

Hi,

First of all, the User Interface.
I find the jD1's interface is smooth, intuitive, straightforward and hassle free.
It has a better colour scheme, easier to distinguish active/inactive, selected/non-selected entities.

Second, the clipboard monitoring.
jD2 picks up all kind of junk links where jD1 provides a clear list of useful links.

My overall impression of jD2 is it feels overcomplicated.
I had to browse through long, unstructured list of setting just to set a few things to make my life easier using jD2.

Regards,
M
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26.02.2015, 12:05
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,012
Default

1.) Interface: What exactly? You can customize all colors, All buttons, Rightclick Menu, Columns, Overview at the bottom. It looks nearly the same as before (except you have modified your JDownloader)

2.) JDownloader 2 can now also check html clipboard content, eg hidden/shortened links that you cannot simply copy. This only happens when you select text and copy. Copy URL still works 100% the same.

3.) Because JDownloader 2 has many features, many ways to customize it, so everyone can use it the way he/she wants to.

What in default Settings didn't you like?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26.02.2015, 12:32
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
Peta Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 183
Default

Hi,
Well, the problem is I have to customize everything...
I'm missing the meaningful defaults, for example, compare the default selection colour or disabled colour in jD1 and jD2. The more the contrast the easier to recognize.

Most of the time I select a block of text which includes URLs or I simple use CTRL+A, CTRL+C. It works perfectly fine in jD1 and I believe it's the better approach. If the user wants to grab everything and organize them later that's fine but that shouldn't be the default.

Regards,
M

Last edited by Maelcum; 26.02.2015 at 14:58.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26.02.2015, 12:58
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
Peta Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 183
Default

Probably an option on the first run to let the user select the desired look'n'feel and the behavior defaults - the old jD1 or the new jD2?

Regards,
M
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26.02.2015, 13:18
zele zele is offline
JD Adviser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 108
Default

Have never understood why even payware like windows doesn't extend users this courtesy. Expend all that time and effort to get competent and comfortable with an interface and the next version just throws it out the window. Why ? Because some programmer or engineer or beta tester said so. Yet apps like Acdsee and Azureus/vuze clearly offer the choice between classic and new look and feel. Having said that, got used to jd 2 really quickly.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26.02.2015, 15:29
djmakinera djmakinera is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 8,331
Default

Jiaz - everything works perfectly
Quote:
How many links?
Java 8 update 31

The number of links is not always dependent on the use of RAM by jd2



Quote:
8699 links = 682 MB
http://www.imagebam.com/image/f580e9393211109


Quote:
7779 links = 1,8 GB RAM
http://www.imagebam.com/image/e47d03393211466

Last edited by djmakinera; 26.02.2015 at 15:32.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26.02.2015, 16:45
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,012
Default

@dj: use jvisualvm to see real memory usage or about dialog in jdownloader
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 26.02.2015, 19:23
H-ancient
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Just wanted to give feedback:
After the update(s) from yesterday evening (2015-02-25) my JD2 became nearly unuseable after a time; high CPU load, excessive memory usage. My PC has 6-core CPU @3.2 GHz and 16GB of RAM so it still was usable but very laggy. After some time JDownloader.exe became unresponsive and crashed.
The problem occured when I "clicked around" in JD2, that is, switching between tabs, opening and closing settings and so on. Couldn't recognize a single trigger for that behaviour.

With todays (2015-02-26) update the problems were gone. JD2 now makes fun again. Thank you for fixing that so quickly!

Regards,
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01.03.2015, 02:07
djmakinera djmakinera is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 8,331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
about dialog in jdownloader

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01.03.2015, 10:55
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,012
Default

@djmakinera: I would like to do a teamviewer session and create heap dump to find the cause of this high memory consumption
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06.03.2015, 11:18
Maelcum Maelcum is offline
Peta Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 183
Default

Hi,
Did You guys successfully sort out this kind of problems?

M
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06.03.2015, 11:36
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,215
Default

@Maelcum,
please ask specific question vs generic. Many questions asked in this thread over time, yet your latest post and question doesn't specify which question you're referring too. I assume it's about the OP (Original Post), but it's hard to tell ?
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:11.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.