JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08.02.2011, 17:38
actman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default JD eats up Internet bandwidth

There are times when it is impossible to load any other webpage when JD is working. It is as if it is swallowing all the available width, even if one has 2-3 parallel active downloads.

Last edited by Jiaz; 09.02.2011 at 13:07.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08.02.2011, 21:40
ddebon1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes it does. I can load pages, but if someone else is gaming they will begin to lag. LOL.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09.02.2011, 03:05
Blutegel
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
even if one has 2-3 parallel active downloads.
The more downloads, the better all the bandwidth is eaten up.

Try out speed limit at down right corner of main window. 0=no limit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09.02.2011, 04:42
drbits's Avatar
drbits drbits is offline
JD English Support (inactive)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Physically in Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 4,437
Default

JD is designed to download as quickly as the Host(s) will allow. That is the reason for the Maximum Speed setting in the lower right corner of the window.

You can find out the approximate capacity of your download connection by running a test on speedtest.com (or a similar site). Make sure there are no other programs using the network and that there is plenty of CPU capacity available. The data is reported in Mega-bits/second. To convert to the Kilo-Bytes/second used throughout JDownloader, multiply by 128.

To allow a browser to run quickly at the same time, set your Maximum Speed to about 80% of your download capacity in Kilo-Bytes/second (KiB/s).

You can also limit your Maximum Downloads to 2 and your Maximum Connections to 1.

If you set the Slow (Pause) button to the 80% speed, then you can use full speed most of the time and change to 80% when using the network for other things. The Slow button is second from the left in the toolbar.

To set the Slow button speed, use Settings -> Download & Connections -> Download Control - Speed of pause mode in KiB/s
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09.02.2011, 17:36
actman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you, Drbits.
I really appreciate your help, but -stupid me- it is very difficult for me to grab it...
Thanks anyway!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10.02.2011, 05:14
tony2long's Avatar
tony2long tony2long is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6,217
Default

Try one by one.
How big is your bandwidth? If it is 1 Mbit/s, that is 128 KBytes/s, so set the speed limit to 100 or lower.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:09.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.