JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26.12.2020, 04:27
molitar molitar is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 63
Default Update server unable to be contacted

Unable to update.. I keep getting flash for 2 updates but can't update.. that flashing icon is driving me batty.. please fix your update server.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26.12.2020, 13:09
mOrfiUs mOrfiUs is offline
Super Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Same error. Cannot access to update.appwork.org even browser (Chrome, Edge), with or without vpn. Blocked by ISP??. I'm in Spain. Thanks in advanced. I love jDownloader
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28.12.2020, 10:32
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 70,222
Default

Servers are up and running fine.
If there would be issues then JDownloader would not flash for available update.

Check firewall/AV and also check https://support.jdownloader.org/Know...lation-process
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28.12.2020, 19:43
molitar molitar is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 63
Default

Than explain this! It's been this way since Christmas.

Server is definitely not up!
Attached Thumbnails
Screenshot_4.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28.12.2020, 20:38
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 70,222
Default

Servers are up and running fine.
Please provide a log, see https://support.jdownloader.org/Know...d-session-logs
and post logID here

Today I received reports/logs where proxies are messing with server responses and break update (will look deeper into this by tomorrow). Maybe it's the same reason for you. Have you setup proxies in your JDownloader?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28.12.2020, 22:10
molitar molitar is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 63
Default

Hello Jiaz,

Here is the log ID: 26.12.20 22.37.02 <--> 28.12.20 16.10.04 jdlog://6208525302851/

Yes I have proxy setup I'll disable it for now and try the update again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28.12.2020, 22:49
max6166 max6166 is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Today I received reports/logs where proxies are messing with server responses and break update (will look deeper into this by tomorrow). Maybe it's the same reason for you. Have you setup proxies in your JDownloader?
Removing all my proxies instantly fixed this issue for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29.12.2020, 00:30
molitar molitar is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 63
Default

Same here.. so yep proxy problem. I removed proxy.. did update than re-enable proxy for the download.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29.12.2020, 02:05
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,299
Default

o_O
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29.12.2020, 11:12
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 70,222
Default

@molitar: your used proxy is causing the issue (Torguard)
It responds with 404 Not Found error page for all requests for server and showing directory access to Apache on RasbPi
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30.12.2020, 09:38
nickhb nickhb is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 9
Default With proxies; JD2 is unable to update

As mentioned; JD2 with proxies enabled is causing update issue; I deleted all proxies to get the update fine. Why not we have a setting in update option to skip proxies when doing the update?! or a fix would be highly appreciated. For now proxy users have to delete proxy list and update (to re enable proxies afterwards)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30.12.2020, 10:42
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 70,222
Default

The proxies are not the problem but the amount of proxies. JDownloader tries to contact server and receives a wanted server error and then loops through all proxies. In case a proxy has issues/stalls/blocks then the more proxies, the longer each single request will take. We will work on better handling this situation
In case you're affected by this, temp disable proxies and make sure that only working ones are in list.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30.12.2020, 16:16
nickhb nickhb is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 9
Default With proxies; JD2 is unable to update

As advised; I will make sure I delete the proxy list and reenable it after updating... (deleting non-working proxy every time is a bit of trouble) But a permanent workaround you mentioned is much appreciated. Thank you very much for sharing the words of help and support. keep on with this great project...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 31.12.2020, 09:04
nickhb nickhb is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 9
Default With proxies; JD2 is unable to update

Also.. if there was an option to mass CHECK or UNCHECK button for proxy list; it would have been cool. So when a user needs to disable a list of proxies; he could just click on "Uncheck ALL" and save it to get all proxy disabled (As of now; either you have to uncheck the long list one after another or you have to delete the entire list of proxies):outch::rolleyes:
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 31.12.2020, 09:59
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 70,222
Default

I'm working on it and will report once the fixed version is live.
I agree with missing action for mass enable/disable of proxies
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 31.12.2020, 10:13
mgpai mgpai is offline
Script Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickhb View Post
... when a user needs to disable a list of proxies; he could just click on "Uncheck ALL"
Right-click on the 'use' (first) column header.

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 31.12.2020, 14:01
mOrfiUs mOrfiUs is offline
Super Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Like other users, disable proxies solve the problem in my situation. Thanks anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 31.12.2020, 14:10
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 70,222
Default

Should work fine again with enabled proxies
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06.01.2021, 09:15
nickhb nickhb is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Should work fine again with enabled proxies
I have not tried it... but still would like to thank you for the kind gesture of love that you took to fix this issue... Keep rocking... (Hope the mass check/uncheck option would be live in next version too)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06.01.2021, 09:18
nickhb nickhb is offline
I will play nice!
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
I'm working on it and will report once the fixed version is live.
I agree with missing action for mass enable/disable of proxies
Aww... sorry for my ignorance and posting the request... only now I noticed the change you have done.. Thank you

Able to mass select or disable the proxy list now.
Also it seems the connecting server issue is resolved. (for me it works)

THANK YOU. (you may kindly disregard the last post)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:05.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.