JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13.05.2020, 11:41
MrGonzo's Avatar
MrGonzo MrGonzo is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 538
Default Linkgrabber sometimes doesnt grab the FIRST link copied on JD2 start...

Hi again.

I thought Id bring to ur attention a little bug thats been annoying me for a while now....

Nearly every time I Start/Restart JD2, when ever I goto copy my FIRST link to the grabber the popup window does not come up. Now sometimes it still copies the link but again, no popup window.
But there are also times the pop-up window doesnt show, AND does not grab the FIRST link until I MANUALLY add it with "Add new links" in the linkgrabber. Then the 1st link scans fine.
And also sometimes the popup window shows, and the 1st link scans fine and JD2 acts as it should. But this issue happens 99% of the time.

So then, after the FIRST link gets scanned through(when this happens), all other links scanned afterwards show the popup window fine, and are scanned as expected.

Just letting you know, Please fix when ya can. This little bug has been around for a long while. And can be quite annoying lol.

:)
Thanks

Last edited by MrGonzo; 13.05.2020 at 11:44. Reason: edit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13.05.2020, 13:01
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 68,411
Default

This is no bug. JDownloader can only detect clipboard changes. On startup there is nothing to compare to so the first change check is a *Clipboard X* to *Clipboard X* -> no change.

Check Settings->Advanced Settings->GraphicalUserInterfaceSettings.clipboardskipmode to NEVER
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13.05.2020, 13:01
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,226
Default

@MrGonzo
are you using copy paste into JD via add links dialog or keyboard shortcut or clipboard monitoring?

If clipboard monitoring, what is your advanced setting > GraphicalUserInterfaceSettings.clipboardskipmode ?
default its to skip on startup. Change to never, and it should behave just like it used to. Not sure why default was changed away from historic behaviour.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13.05.2020, 13:13
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 68,411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raztoki View Post
Not sure why default was changed away from historic behaviour.
Because too many ppl wonderes why JDownloader keeps adding the same link again and again. Copy link to Clipboard, add to downloadlist, restart, adds same link again to JDownloader.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13.05.2020, 13:25
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,226
Default

@Jiaz
I know your reason for the function, just not the reason from changing away from previous behaviour. Bit like making sub directory as package name default behaviour when it never used to be a function of JDownloader.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13.05.2020, 13:31
MrGonzo's Avatar
MrGonzo MrGonzo is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 538
Default

Thank guys I look for that advanced setting and let u know if that fixes this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13.05.2020, 22:15
MrGonzo's Avatar
MrGonzo MrGonzo is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 538
Default

Hi again

Sorry for delayed response..and dbl post lol.
So i found that advanced setting and turned it to "Never". Now it seems to be grabbing the first link like it should....
But weird thing is after I tested a link, added it...I then deleted it right away from the list, then shutdown JD2; but when I restarted, the linkgrabber then regrabbed the link I tested back into the list...weird?

But in regards to the 1st link thing...seems to be doing what I want it to, I'll keep my eye on it.

Update: The link double copying only seemed to happen once. Ill keep ya posted if it happens again. Everythings good! Thanks again guys!

Last edited by MrGonzo; 13.05.2020 at 23:26. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14.05.2020, 11:44
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 68,411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGonzo View Post
But weird thing is after I tested a link, added it...I then deleted it right away from the list, then shutdown JD2; but when I restarted, the linkgrabber then regrabbed the link I tested back into the list...weird?
Not weird. That's expected behaviour. You restart JDownloader and it will process content of the clipboard.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
This is no bug. JDownloader can only detect clipboard changes. On startup there is nothing to compare to so the first change check is a *Clipboard X* to *Clipboard X* -> no change.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Because too many ppl wonderes why JDownloader keeps adding the same link again and again. Copy link to Clipboard, add to downloadlist, restart, adds same link again to JDownloader.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15.05.2020, 00:14
MrGonzo's Avatar
MrGonzo MrGonzo is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 538
Default

Ok cool, I get it now. At least my issue is dealt with. All good. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15.05.2020, 11:27
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 68,411
Default

I've got an idea how to *prevent* this from happening.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 15.05.2020, 11:32
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,226
Default

I had the same idea. =]
along with adding another function to only ignore after update restart. that way it will allow user to copy a link to the clipboard then start client and it to add.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 15.05.2020, 12:20
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 68,411
Default

Good to see we had the same idea
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:20.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.