JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20.11.2012, 13:46
Unicorn!
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Shortcuts / hotkeys in JDownloader (e.g. to switch between downloadlist/linkgrabber)

Sorry If this has already come up I did a search and couldn't find anything relevant to JD2.

Are shortcuts on the roadmap for JD2? I know they came up several times and were going to be implemented in JD1 but never were. Without shortcuts JD suffers greatly as all the submenus are very clunky to use via mouse.

Shortcuts are really important for any program and make workflow faster and less frustrating/fatiguing. It's also worth mention that for some disabled users shortcuts can make using programs easier or even possible.

If it helps I'd be happy to put together a proposed shortcut layout for JD2.


Cheers.

Last edited by Unicorn!; 20.11.2012 at 13:49.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22.11.2012, 00:51
Mystery's Avatar
Mystery Mystery is offline
Tera Loader
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 176
Default

You can see and define all (possible) Shortcuts in the Settings.
It's the small Point "Professional Settings" (Or similair, I'm using German language). It's the Point with the exclamation mark in a red triangle.
Scroll down until you reach the point "ShortcutSettings.*" while * means the action you want to use.
"null" means undefined
__________________
C'est la vie
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24.11.2012, 11:33
Unicorn!
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Cool but it's missing loads of shortcuts. Here's the one's I'd like to see in there:

Switch to Downloads Tab
Switch to Linkgrabber Tab
Switch to Settings Tab
Enable
Disable
Rename
Move Item Up
Move Item Down
Expand Item
Collapse Item
Move To New Package
Set Download Directory
Set Download Password
Clean Up All Links


Any chance we can get these implemented?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25.11.2012, 20:47
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 71,121
Default

Will be done in JD2!

GreeZ psp
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager

Erste Schritte & Tutorials || JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26.11.2012, 01:23
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,615
Default

what psp means is before stable release....
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27.11.2012, 17:42
Unicorn!
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Cool thanks, What do you mean "before stable realease"?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28.11.2012, 00:28
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,615
Default

As in... JD2 is in beta state currently, before it makes it to the final state (stable) things like keyboard shortcuts will need to be done. For example we are wanting to make them user definable.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14.01.2014, 13:49
Specter
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I ask because it's over a year now since the last response here.
Is there any way to add shortcuts like start downloads? I only found a config named "org.jdownloader.gui.shortcuts.ShortcutSettings.json" but it isn't directly linked to the keys in the advanced settings.
Alternatively, is there a possibility to add new keys for yourself in the advanced settings?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14.01.2014, 13:57
Lram32's Avatar
Lram32 Lram32 is offline
Spanish Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dark side of the moon
Posts: 9,905
Default

Hi,

Yes, you can customize the shortcuts.
For example:
Do right click at downloads/linkbrabber tab → open menu manager
and customize the available buttons

Greetings,
__________________
» Setup JD2 / Instalador de JD2 «
Spoiler:

Installer for Windows XP/Vista/Seven/Eight
|| JD2 x86 - x64 (Beta) ||

Installer for Mac
|| JD2 (Beta) ||

Installers for Linux
|| JD2 (Beta) x86 || <---> || JD2 (Beta) x64 ||

How to Create a Log
-» Click Here «-


¿Cómo crear un registro?
-» Click Aquí «-


Support Chat / Chat de Soporte
-» Click Here / Click Aquí «-


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14.01.2014, 17:44
Specter
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you! This option is also to be found in User Interface, where I never searched
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14.01.2014, 22:01
Lram32's Avatar
Lram32 Lram32 is offline
Spanish Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dark side of the moon
Posts: 9,905
Default

No problem, thanks for the feedback

Greetings,
__________________
» Setup JD2 / Instalador de JD2 «
Spoiler:

Installer for Windows XP/Vista/Seven/Eight
|| JD2 x86 - x64 (Beta) ||

Installer for Mac
|| JD2 (Beta) ||

Installers for Linux
|| JD2 (Beta) x86 || <---> || JD2 (Beta) x64 ||

How to Create a Log
-» Click Here «-


¿Cómo crear un registro?
-» Click Aquí «-


Support Chat / Chat de Soporte
-» Click Here / Click Aquí «-


Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18.11.2014, 07:22
tnuctipun
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi,

ich vermisse leider noch immer die Möglichkeit die Tabs mittels Tastatur umzuschalten.

Wird das noch in absehbarer Zeit eingebaut?
Da ich recht viel mit der Tastatur erledige, wäre das echt hilfreich.

Last edited by tnuctipun; 18.11.2014 at 07:25.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15.07.2022, 11:43
MarcS MarcS is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 13
Question Keyboard shortcuts for Downloads/Linkgrabber tabs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lram32 View Post
Yes, you can customize the shortcuts.
Do right click at downloads/linkbrabber tab → open menu manager
and customize the available buttons
Doesn't work in latest (july 15, 2022) MacOS version of JDownloader2. Right click on tab does not open the menu manager.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Specter
This option is also to be found in User Interface, where I never searched
But where? I searched and didn't find it :-(

Quote:
Originally Posted by tnuctipun View Post
ich vermisse leider noch immer die Möglichkeit die Tabs mittels Tastatur umzuschalten.
Da ich recht viel mit der Tastatur erledige, wäre das echt hilfreich.
Same here.
How do you switch between Downloads tab and Linkgrabber tab with the keyboard?
I didn't find keyboard shortcuts for these tabs. I would prefer cmd-1 and cmd-2.

Last edited by MarcS; 15.07.2022 at 11:48.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15.07.2022, 11:45
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 71,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcS View Post
Doesn't work in latest (july 15, 2022) MacOS version of JDownloader.
Please describe, which action you've tried to modify and which shortcut combination you've tried to use and provide a log:

Please post your log-ID here | bitte poste deine Log-ID hier.

-psp-
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager

Erste Schritte & Tutorials || JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 15.07.2022, 12:28
MarcS MarcS is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pspzockerscene View Post
Please describe, which action you've tried to modify
I tried to right-click / cmd-click / ctrl-click / option-click etc.pp on the Downloads and Linkgrabber tab to open the menu manager as Lram32 suggested. No matter which modifier key(s) I pressed when clicking, never anything at all happened.

Quote:
and which shortcut combination you've tried to use
Exactly that is the problem. I didn't know which shortcut to press to switch between the Downloads and Linkgrabber tab via keyboard, because there is no visible clue anywhere, and I didn't find a setting where I could set or modify such keyboard shortcut.

But 5 minutes ago, I found this posting: https://board.jdownloader.org/showpo...10&postcount=6
in a thread from 12 years ago where drbits wrote:
Quote:
Thus, Ctrl-tab should move between Tabs
so I tried ctrl-tab (which is unusual for MacOS) and IT WORKS. Wow, I finally can switch tabs via keyboard, after several years using JD2...

Last edited by MarcS; 15.07.2022 at 12:47.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 15.07.2022, 12:52
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 71,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcS View Post
I tried to right-click / cmd-click / ctrl-click / option-click etc.pp on the Downloads and Linkgrabber tab to open the menu manager as Lram32 suggested. No matter which modifier key(s) I pressed when clicking, never anything at all happened.
So your problem is that you cannot find/open the menu manager in the first place?
Rightlick anywhere in the linkgrabber- or download-tab --> Click on "Open menu manager"
Screenshot:


Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcS View Post
so I tried ctrl-tab (which is unusual for MacOS) and IT WORKS. Wow, I finally can switch tabs via keyboard, after several years using JD2...
Well you could have also asked us earlier...
EDIT
Which combination is more common for MacOS?
I'm not a Mac user...
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager

Erste Schritte & Tutorials || JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 15.07.2022, 13:22
MarcS MarcS is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pspzockerscene View Post
Well you could have also asked us earlier...
;-)
Quote:
Which combination is more common for MacOS?
I'm not a Mac user...
In most apps, it is option-cmd-arrows (right and left arrows). But you can usually overwrite these with (standard MacOS) Settings->Keyboard->Shortcuts (either/both individually for this one app or for all apps). This works by MacOS looking for a menu command with the text "Show Next Tab" or "Show previous Tab", and then swivelling the keyboard shortcut. You do not even need to end and relaunch the app - shortcut swivelling works while apps are running. Unfortunately this doesn't work with Java apps, because they're not using the system menus.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 15.07.2022, 13:29
MarcS MarcS is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 13
Default

OK, so I searched the menu manager for setting the keyboard shortcut to switch between tabs (Downloads & Linkgrabber) - but I only found lots of options for menus and items inside these tabs, and not for the tab headers themselves.
Where can you go one level up to set preferences for the tabs inside the main window?

When I right-click into the toolbar above the tabbar, I can open the "Toolbar manager".
Right-clicking the tabbar does not show a contextual menu.

At the bottom, there is a button with screwdriver&wrench icon which opens a contextual menu (right click doesn't work here) with an item "Customize this bottom panel" (which probably should be renamed to "Bottombar manager" to be consistent with the other managers).

Where can you configure the tabs?

Last edited by MarcS; 15.07.2022 at 13:34.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 15.07.2022, 13:56
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 71,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcS View Post
Where can you configure the tabs?
Afaik you can't.
You can only configure hotkeys for actions visible inside menus/context menu.
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager

Erste Schritte & Tutorials || JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 15.07.2022, 15:14
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 79,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcS View Post
I tried to right-click / cmd-click / ctrl-click / option-click etc.pp on the Downloads and Linkgrabber tab to open the menu manager as Lram32 suggested. No matter which modifier key(s) I pressed when clicking, never anything at all happened.
@MarcS: You can also open the menu editors via Settings->User Interface -> Menus and Toolbars
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 15.07.2022, 15:19
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 79,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcS View Post
Where can you configure the tabs?
So you bascially would like to be able to configure hotkey for
1.) iterate tabs
2.) switch to next tab
3.) switch to previous tab
optional.) assign hotkey for tab xy ?

__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin

Last edited by Jiaz; 15.07.2022 at 15:21.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 15.07.2022, 19:49
MarcS MarcS is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
@MarcS: You can also open the menu editors via Settings->User Interface -> Menus and Toolbars
That was the first I tried (years ago... and again every now and then). You can change the main menu (on MacOS at the top of the screen, not in the main window), the toolbar, the contents of the Downloads and LinkGrabber tabs, the tray menu, and the bottom bar/panel. That's a very big chunk of the UI which is configurable.

However, what you cannot change there is the tabbar holding the tab headers (buttons) named "Downloads" and "LinkGrabber". And you cannot set/change the keyboard shortcut(s) to switch to those tabs...

Quote:
So you bascially would like to be able to configure hotkey for
1.) iterate tabs
This is already implemented (ctrl-tab) as I learned today. However, it is very badly documented...
And I don't like the fixed, unchangeable shortcut ctrl-tab, since it's uncommon on MacOS. Such commands use the cmd-modifier, not ctrl.

Quote:
2.) switch to next tab
That is the same as 1) IMHO - what do you think is the difference?

Quote:
3.) switch to previous tab
Also already implemented (ctrl-shft-tab). Worse than 1) because you're breaking your fingers trying to type this with the left hand only.

Quote:
optional.) assign hotkey for tab xy ?
Yes please. cmd-1 for Downloads and cmd-2 for LinkGrabber. If you continue this enumeration you would then assume cmd-3 for Settings, but on MacOS you always activate settings with cmd-, (comma), and this IS ALREADY implemented. Yay...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 18.07.2022, 19:47
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 79,608
Default

@MarcS: Yes, iterate = same as next
So you need the ability to customize the shotcuts/hotkeys for those actions, right? and maybe assign direct hotkeys for certain tabs?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 19.07.2022, 09:09
MarcS MarcS is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
@MarcS: Yes, iterate = same as next
So you need the ability to customize the shotcuts/hotkeys for those actions, right? and maybe assign direct hotkeys for certain tabs?
I'd like the ability to customize the hardcoded ctrl-tab and shft-ctrl-tab, yes.

But direct hotkeys for Downloads & LinkGrabber would be even better. Since you rarely change these once they're set, Advanced Settings would suffice:
"GraphicalUserInterfaceSetting: Shortcut for Downloads tab" (default value: meta pressed 1)
"GraphicalUserInterfaceSetting: Shortcut for LinkGrabber tab" (default value: meta pressed 2)

Last edited by MarcS; 16.08.2022 at 22:49. Reason: "hardcoded" is more accurate
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 13.09.2022, 14:04
MarcS MarcS is offline
Junior Loader
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 13
Default Meta-W should NOT close the main window

Yesterday I launched JD2, and while it was starting up I first managed to choose it with the (MacOS) cmd-tab process chooser, and then type cmd-W before JD2 finished launching.
It crashed.
So I tried to launch it again, only to get a bunch of error messages.
I ended up deleting its folder and re-installing JD2.

And today I dragged a link into the main window to activate the LinkGrabber *in the background*, then typed cmd-W to close the browser tab I started the drag from. However, JD2 happened to be the active process and not my browser, so the shortcut cmd-W closed the JD2 window...

1) How do you re-open the main JD2 window if you (accidentially) closed it?

2) NEVER, EVER do I want to close the main JD2 window. There's absolutely no reason to do this. Either you quit the app (with cmd-Q), or the window must stay open.

Please remove the hardcoded shortcut Meta-W (close Window) for the main window. Even better, remove the possibility to close that window at all.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 13.09.2022, 14:10
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 79,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcS View Post
1) How do you re-open the main JD2 window if you (accidentially) closed it?
Click on "JDownloader" text from the tray icon context menu

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcS View Post
2) NEVER, EVER do I want to close the main JD2 window. There's absolutely no reason to do this. Either you quit the app (with cmd-Q), or the window must stay open.
It's normal supported close window operation and JDownloader is still running/available via tray icon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcS View Post
Please remove the hardcoded shortcut Meta-W (close Window) for the main window. Even better, remove the possibility to close that window at all.
No hardcoded shortcut. That key simply sends the close window command to application. And closing the main window (minimize to tray) has been supported ever since.

The issue is that CMD+T doesn't open the window again like it's supposed to do
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin

Last edited by Jiaz; 13.09.2022 at 14:12.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:11.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.