JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30.07.2014, 19:39
Taanru
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Why were subfolders removed?

I just updated JD this morning (7/30) and now my downloads go into my download directory with no sub folders. The option for subfolders no longer appears in the settings. IMO removing this is a horrible choice.

I am using JD Beta 2 build date Wed Jul 30 12:11:14 CEST 2014
Core #26363
Launcher #2404
AppWork Utilities #2102
Browser #26209
Update #405

I have a windows 8.1 pro 64 OS and the latest Java v7 update 65

My questions is how do I get subfolders back? or is this a permanent state chosen by the developers?

Regards
Taanru
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30.07.2014, 20:44
Lram32's Avatar
Lram32 Lram32 is offline
Spanish Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dark side of the moon
Posts: 9,918
Default

Hmm... Maybe you have corrupted the file of the packagizer.
So, please close JD2 > delete the file org.jdownloader.controlling.packagizer.PackagizerSettings.rulelist.json > start JD2 > Check again.

Notes:
1. The file .json is into the "cfg" folder.
2. Make a backup of the .json file before to delete it, because It contains the rules that you have.
__________________
» Setup JD2 / Instalador de JD2 «
Spoiler:

Installer for Windows XP/Vista/Seven/Eight
|| JD2 x86 - x64 (Beta) ||

Installer for Mac
|| JD2 (Beta) ||

Installers for Linux
|| JD2 (Beta) x86 || <---> || JD2 (Beta) x64 ||

How to Create a Log
-» Click Here «-


¿Cómo crear un registro?
-» Click Aquí «-


Support Chat / Chat de Soporte
-» Click Here / Click Aquí «-


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31.07.2014, 01:19
Taanru
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That fixed it, but it may not have been entirely broken. I was expecting the subfolder option to be in the GENERAL section (like I seem to remember it being), and not the packagizer. If I go back to my original *.JSON folder the rule for subfolders is there, just not checked. Somewhere during or after I let JD update - the option got unchecked. So now, with the option checked it works fine. Thank you for the help.

Regards
Taanru
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31.07.2014, 01:24
Lram32's Avatar
Lram32 Lram32 is offline
Spanish Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dark side of the moon
Posts: 9,918
Default

Hi,

Nothing has changed in Settings > General
Maybe do you mean the variable <jd:packagename>?
If so, use that variable like this example.
C:\Downloads\<jd:packagename>

When you use <jd:packagename>, JD2 will save the downloads into a folder with the same name of the package.
__________________
» Setup JD2 / Instalador de JD2 «
Spoiler:

Installer for Windows XP/Vista/Seven/Eight
|| JD2 x86 - x64 (Beta) ||

Installer for Mac
|| JD2 (Beta) ||

Installers for Linux
|| JD2 (Beta) x86 || <---> || JD2 (Beta) x64 ||

How to Create a Log
-» Click Here «-


¿Cómo crear un registro?
-» Click Aquí «-


Support Chat / Chat de Soporte
-» Click Here / Click Aquí «-


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31.07.2014, 01:33
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,251
Default

not advisable to place in general default save path, mainly because it ability to mess with other rules. This is why it was moved to package customer to start with.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31.07.2014, 01:47
msmandytx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks so much for asking this, I had the same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31.07.2014, 16:52
Bloomdido Bloomdido is offline
Vacuum Cleaner
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
Default Download subfolder creation issues

Since I started using JD2 many months ago, I have set it to create a <jd:packagename> subfolder in my download directory for each package, and the subfolder is created as soon as the download is added (GeneralSettings: Create Folder Trigger: Option "When the links are added").

This worked well until the last JD2 update, when the folder creation behaviour became kind of erratic. The package subfolder is no longer being created when the download is added, despite the setting (I changed the setting forth and back, but it did not help), and some downloads landed in a new subfolder "Various files", that I have never defined.

Is this a bug or can I fix this with settings?

Thanks

Last edited by Bloomdido; 31.07.2014 at 17:03.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31.07.2014, 17:18
Lram32's Avatar
Lram32 Lram32 is offline
Spanish Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dark side of the moon
Posts: 9,918
Default

Merged threads. Please read the previous posts.

Greetings,
__________________
» Setup JD2 / Instalador de JD2 «
Spoiler:

Installer for Windows XP/Vista/Seven/Eight
|| JD2 x86 - x64 (Beta) ||

Installer for Mac
|| JD2 (Beta) ||

Installers for Linux
|| JD2 (Beta) x86 || <---> || JD2 (Beta) x64 ||

How to Create a Log
-» Click Here «-


¿Cómo crear un registro?
-» Click Aquí «-


Support Chat / Chat de Soporte
-» Click Here / Click Aquí «-


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01.08.2014, 03:55
Lram32's Avatar
Lram32 Lram32 is offline
Spanish Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dark side of the moon
Posts: 9,918
Default

Ticket:





EDIT:
Fixed by coalado, please check this. Thanks.
__________________
» Setup JD2 / Instalador de JD2 «
Spoiler:

Installer for Windows XP/Vista/Seven/Eight
|| JD2 x86 - x64 (Beta) ||

Installer for Mac
|| JD2 (Beta) ||

Installers for Linux
|| JD2 (Beta) x86 || <---> || JD2 (Beta) x64 ||

How to Create a Log
-» Click Here «-


¿Cómo crear un registro?
-» Click Aquí «-


Support Chat / Chat de Soporte
-» Click Here / Click Aquí «-



Last edited by Lram32; 01.08.2014 at 14:04.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02.08.2014, 00:17
3des
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default target folger problem

Hi guys,

since a few days I have a problem with JDownloader 2 BETA and think it's a new bug.

If I put several files into the link collector's tab each in a separate package select all of them and set the storage place with "x:\....\<jd:packagename>" usually each file is stored in its own folder. Since two updates ago or so all of them are put into the same folder what doesn't really make much sense, I think.

Maybe this is meant as a feature but I think it has more of a bug.

Would be glad if sb. can remove this "feature" again
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02.08.2014, 00:24
Lram32's Avatar
Lram32 Lram32 is offline
Spanish Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dark side of the moon
Posts: 9,918
Default

Hi,

Please read the post #2 of this thread.

Cheers,
__________________
» Setup JD2 / Instalador de JD2 «
Spoiler:

Installer for Windows XP/Vista/Seven/Eight
|| JD2 x86 - x64 (Beta) ||

Installer for Mac
|| JD2 (Beta) ||

Installers for Linux
|| JD2 (Beta) x86 || <---> || JD2 (Beta) x64 ||

How to Create a Log
-» Click Here «-


¿Cómo crear un registro?
-» Click Aquí «-


Support Chat / Chat de Soporte
-» Click Here / Click Aquí «-


Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02.08.2014, 01:06
3des
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lram32 View Post
Please read the post #2 of this thread.
Thx for your answer... tried it but didn't help, same behavior like before :( any other suggestions?

The folder that will be created and all files will be put in is always the last one I selected when selecting several packages, maybe this helps

Last edited by 3des; 02.08.2014 at 01:09.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02.08.2014, 01:26
Lram32's Avatar
Lram32 Lram32 is offline
Spanish Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dark side of the moon
Posts: 9,918
Default

Hi,

Please enable the default rule "create subfolder by packagename", then try again.
__________________
» Setup JD2 / Instalador de JD2 «
Spoiler:

Installer for Windows XP/Vista/Seven/Eight
|| JD2 x86 - x64 (Beta) ||

Installer for Mac
|| JD2 (Beta) ||

Installers for Linux
|| JD2 (Beta) x86 || <---> || JD2 (Beta) x64 ||

How to Create a Log
-» Click Here «-


¿Cómo crear un registro?
-» Click Aquí «-


Support Chat / Chat de Soporte
-» Click Here / Click Aquí «-


Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02.08.2014, 02:00
3des
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lram32 View Post
Please enable the default rule "create subfolder by packagename", then try again.
Thx, one more thing I learned but still not the final solution

By copying a link the automatically generated target folder looks fine now but usually certain packages shouldn't be stored in default download folder but in a sub folder. In that case I was used to select them, select a folder and checked "sub folder by package name" in the path selection window. Doing this now all packages are stored within the same folder what was not the case in the past. Over a long period of time this was working fine, so any chance to bring it back?

Meanwhile I'm sure sb. messed up with the package manager... as far as I can remember in the link list the shown folder was the one where the file would be saved but within the package properties one could still find the "<jd:packagename>" part but now this is directly replaced by the target folder. I realized this when I tried to chang the package name and saw that the target folder didn't get these changes :(

Last edited by 3des; 02.08.2014 at 02:48.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02.08.2014, 03:14
Lram32's Avatar
Lram32 Lram32 is offline
Spanish Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dark side of the moon
Posts: 9,918
Default

Hmm.... Maybe I'm missing something.
Please post step by step who to reproduce it, information about your settings, etc. Also how was working before, and who it is working now, thanks. Not entirely sure if is a bug.
__________________
» Setup JD2 / Instalador de JD2 «
Spoiler:

Installer for Windows XP/Vista/Seven/Eight
|| JD2 x86 - x64 (Beta) ||

Installer for Mac
|| JD2 (Beta) ||

Installers for Linux
|| JD2 (Beta) x86 || <---> || JD2 (Beta) x64 ||

How to Create a Log
-» Click Here «-


¿Cómo crear un registro?
-» Click Aquí «-


Support Chat / Chat de Soporte
-» Click Here / Click Aquí «-



Last edited by Lram32; 02.08.2014 at 03:20.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02.08.2014, 07:43
CuF
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I ran into this too with the recent update. The behavior of the packagizer suddenly changed.

General:
"Group single files in a 'various package'" was enabled by the update. Is this a new option? Previously single files got their own subfolder for me.

Under packagizer:
"Predefined rule: Create Subfolder by Packagename" was disabled by an update.
Also for some reason I now have 2 entries for "Matches for any File or Link", one enabled and one disabled.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02.08.2014, 09:44
Lram32's Avatar
Lram32 Lram32 is offline
Spanish Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dark side of the moon
Posts: 9,918
Default

The disabled/duplicated rule was caused by a bug. Only delete the disabled/duplicated rule and will subfolder will work again.
__________________
» Setup JD2 / Instalador de JD2 «
Spoiler:

Installer for Windows XP/Vista/Seven/Eight
|| JD2 x86 - x64 (Beta) ||

Installer for Mac
|| JD2 (Beta) ||

Installers for Linux
|| JD2 (Beta) x86 || <---> || JD2 (Beta) x64 ||

How to Create a Log
-» Click Here «-


¿Cómo crear un registro?
-» Click Aquí «-


Support Chat / Chat de Soporte
-» Click Here / Click Aquí «-


Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02.08.2014, 10:58
steveallen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default subfolders removed ... Folderwatch function

Hello,

Since I also run into same problems as few users said in previous thread
http://board.jdownloader.org/showthread.php?t=58521
I solved it manually by using E:\JDOWNLOAD\<jd:packagename> and/or crossing back the option on packagizer ( predifined rule... create subfolder by packagename )

But, basically I'm using Folderwatch function to auto-enter all my new dl, so, I would like to know if there is a way to add/set the download folder ( or <jd:packagename> ) , directly in the json_line_format of a crawljobfile ?

if yes, can you kindly give me a sample line for it ?
if not, then could it be added/programmed in the folder_watch_function ?

Thanks in advance. Steve
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02.08.2014, 16:31
Lram32's Avatar
Lram32 Lram32 is offline
Spanish Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dark side of the moon
Posts: 9,918
Default

Merged threads.

EDIT:
I cannot reproduce this problem. It works fine for me.

Please try with this:
1. Reset the advanced setting: PackagizerSettings: Rule List
2. Restart JD2
3. Enable the predefined rule "Create subfolder by packagename"
4. Add new links to JD2, and check if that works.
__________________
» Setup JD2 / Instalador de JD2 «
Spoiler:

Installer for Windows XP/Vista/Seven/Eight
|| JD2 x86 - x64 (Beta) ||

Installer for Mac
|| JD2 (Beta) ||

Installers for Linux
|| JD2 (Beta) x86 || <---> || JD2 (Beta) x64 ||

How to Create a Log
-» Click Here «-


¿Cómo crear un registro?
-» Click Aquí «-


Support Chat / Chat de Soporte
-» Click Here / Click Aquí «-



Last edited by Lram32; 02.08.2014 at 17:03.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04.08.2014, 22:48
3des
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Lram32,

yes, that works and never was the problem.

My problem is that e.g. when I have already added a lot of links and want to change the target folder (e.g. save them into D:\downloads\ebooks\<jd:packagename> instead of D:\downloads\<jd:packagename>) by selecting all links in all packages then all of them will be put into one and the same folder even if I click the "subfolder by package name" checkbox. The package name that is going to be used is that one from the last package I selected.

Furthermore, if I just select one package and change the package name the target folder doesn't follow this change but still shows the original target folder. Reason for this I think is that the <jd:packagename> part (don't know when and why, cannot reproduce it at the moment but happens quite often) is replaced directly with the real target folder name, so later changes won't take effect.

All these what I've described here is done within the link collector tab not the download tab.

If you have further questions please don't hesitate to ask again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:55.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.