JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21.05.2020, 10:29
thetoad thetoad is offline
Tornado
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 228
Default jd2 knowing where a link came from

at one point in time in the distant past, I think jd2 used to show me in properties where a link it imported came from (i.e. it knew the page). I think I had a reconfiguration that lost it's ability to show that. how do I get it back?

i.e. if I copied a link t **External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff** on the page **External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff** it would show in the properties panel that the link was from **External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**

am I misremembering this feature?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21.05.2020, 14:39
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 54,549
Default

Maybe you've added URLs via crawlers back then and now your URLs are different?
Or you did let JD parse URLs from one page?

It's hard to tell without the URLs.
In general yes, if given, JD will get- and save the "source".

-psp-
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager

Erste Schritte & Tutorials || JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22.05.2020, 00:23
thetoad thetoad is offline
Tornado
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 228
Default

I used to just copy it from a browser (don't remember if it was firefox or chrome, now I use chrome) and the copy/paste buffer linkgrabber somehow knew the page it was copied from.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22.05.2020, 12:05
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,320
Default

It highyl depends on HOW you add the link
Selection(Selecting the link/s) + normal Copy/CTRL+C is different than rightclick "Copy Link/Copy Location".
This information is only available on normal Copy, NOT on "Copy Link" context menu action
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin

Last edited by Jiaz; 22.05.2020 at 12:07.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22.05.2020, 13:11
thetoad thetoad is offline
Tornado
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 228
Default

I do a normal copy (select and ctrl-c)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22.05.2020, 13:17
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,320
Default

Then it should work. No changes on our side.
Did you check rightclick context menu -> properties- > show download urls and then double click into the column because it depends on your settings what URL type is shown by default
We can check but need example urls
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22.05.2020, 16:42
thetoad thetoad is offline
Tornado
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 228
Default

for dlc files I see a file url that is the dlc file it was loaded from in the "Download from" field, but for basically everything else all I see is is the url that it will fetch the file from, not where the link was taken from.

i.e. if it's a rapidgator link, I have a rapidgator url

going through my post history (as this question seemed familiar to me, I seem to have asked this years ago, and the answer there doesn't seem to apply anymore as the setting doesn't exist)

https://board.jdownloader.org/showthread.php?t=59481
.
i.e. no setting for "always show link origin".

my jd2 installation is really old. Goes back to at least 2014 (the date of the jre 7 that was installed with it, wondring if that's the java I'm still running with and its not using the system java?)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22.05.2020, 16:45
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 54,549
Default

Yes - see Settings --> User Interface --> Downloadlink address display
You can select/deselect or drag'n drop these entries to e.g. influence the URL shown in the "Download from" column and also the data you get when you e.g. do CTRL + C on an entry.

-psp-
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager

Erste Schritte & Tutorials || JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22.05.2020, 16:47
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,320
Default

For DLC files, JDownloader won't reveal the original URL.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22.05.2020, 18:14
thetoad thetoad is offline
Tornado
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 228
Default

the order from top to bottom is referrer / source / container / data / custom. that would seem to be what I want.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22.05.2020, 18:15
thetoad thetoad is offline
Tornado
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 228
Default

I assume the way it works is that when you do a ctrl-c copy there's extra metadata that should be there that jd2 parses. Is their anyway for me to manually test this outside of jd2 (in linux) so that I can see if the metadata that jd2 needs is actually associated with the copy buffer data?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22.05.2020, 18:18
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,320
Default

You can check tools that can show the content/flavors of the clipboard. I'm sure search engine will come up with such tools cause I don't know any at the moment
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22.05.2020, 19:36
thetoad thetoad is offline
Tornado
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 228
Default

it appears to be that it doens't work with chrome on linux. using xclip, all I see of mime types available when I do a copy is text/plain.

however, when I do a copy in firefox, I see more

i.e.

text/html
text/_moz_htmlcontext
text/_moz_htmlinfo
text/plain;charset=utf-8
text/plain
text/x-moz-url-priv

and text/x-moz-url-priv is what has the url of the source.

does this make sense?

wonder if its a setting in chrome
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22.05.2020, 22:42
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,320
Default

Nice, thanks for the info about xclip. Yes, JDownloader parses text/x-moz-url-priv but also tries to parse the other ones because they may also contain details about source.
And yes, not every browser puts those flavors into clipboard. On windows JDownloader can parse additional data from clipboard, that's why it may work under windows but not under linux.

Can you check if chrome has x-moz-url? I can check this next week. I found a stackoverflow that chrome should support this but no word on what OS.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin

Last edited by Jiaz; 22.05.2020 at 22:45.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23.05.2020, 00:29
thetoad thetoad is offline
Tornado
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 228
Default

it didn't seem like it did anything besides text/plain on my machine (i.e. I would have expected text/html (especially on a seletion that includd text and images), but didn't get that either. at least with google chrome on ubuntu (tested both within a vnc session (i.e. where I run jd2 on my server) and on my laptop. I believe Version 81.0.4044.122 (Official Build) (64-bit) per about page.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 25.05.2020, 15:20
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,320
Default

Quote:
xclip -targetxclip -selection clipboard -o -t TARGETS
Just so others know the full command line
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 25.05.2020, 15:25
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 67,320
Default

Tested with Chrome/Vivaldi, chrome(basis) doesn't put the required flavor into clipboard.
Maybe there are extensions available that can additionally add the flavor, I don't know :(
Maybe open a ticket at chrome bugtracker for this
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:40.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.