JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21.08.2011, 20:13
tantalus1970 tantalus1970 is offline
JD Alpha
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 21
Default jdownloader asks to re-install

Hi, not sure if this is in the right place.

Every couple of months, I click on my icon on my desktop and instead of opening jdownloader, it re-runs the installation package. I have to reinstall the whole program, losing my link-list and any downloads I was in the middle of the last time the program was running.

I've got into the habit of constantly re-saving my link-list, but it is a bit annoying resetting everything the way I like it. It's not a major crisis but I'd like to know if there is a reason for it.

It happened again yesterday (Saturday) actually just before I went to bed! When I had re-installed jdownloader and reloaded my link-list I discovered that the 'copy url' function on every single one of my links was greyed out. That is annoying because copying the url to google is how I find any passwords.

I'm currently running Windows 7 32-bit; I used to have 64-bit and had the same problem (it doesn't happen as much as it was say 5 or 6 months ago).

Last edited by Jiaz; 22.08.2011 at 09:17.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22.08.2011, 03:01
tony2long's Avatar
tony2long tony2long is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6,204
Default

If you installed JD into Program Files, then move JDownloader's folder out of Program Files.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22.08.2011, 04:08
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,204
Default

JD doesn't have a installer part of the program itself (that I know of). What it will ask on first start is language setting/default download path if the config are cleared/reset.

Now the 'copy url' grey out is feature of jdownloader, this happens with dlcs (container) / link protection services, and only then.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22.08.2011, 08:30
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@tantalus1970

Your jD folder might be in the C:\Program Files ... path and this is a protected path in W7. You better move your jD folder to a path like c:\progs\ and check whether all protections are removed, also on the sub-folders.

Make regular versions (Ctrl-B) of jD's data (link status and settings). Use a backup program to backup jD's config folder at least daily.

If you use protected links you won't find the links that were protected, including on the web. It's better to copy the passwords together with the protected links.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23.08.2011, 19:39
tantalus1970 tantalus1970 is offline
JD Alpha
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 21
Default

thanks for the replies.

my jdownloader folder is in another folder on my desktop. thanks for the advice about removing protections.

I know about 'copy url' not working on some links, as I've had that happen before with some of them, but never all of them before.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24.08.2011, 08:54
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If all your links are protected links then you'll only get the protected links when you use the 'Copy URL' function. You won't be able to obtain more links than you entered into jD. Note that .dlc containers also protect their links.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06.11.2011, 17:23
tantalus1970 tantalus1970 is offline
JD Alpha
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remi View Post
@tantalus1970

Your jD folder might be in the C:\Program Files ... path and this is a protected path in W7. You better move your jD folder to a path like c:\progs\ and check whether all protections are removed, also on the sub-folders.

Make regular versions (Ctrl-B) of jD's data (link status and settings). Use a backup program to backup jD's config folder at least daily.

If you use protected links you won't find the links that were protected, including on the web. It's better to copy the passwords together with the protected links.
Hi, could you explain how to check and remove all protections? I understood when you posted this, and am pretty sure I did it at the time, but I have since forgotten how!

I appreciate it's something really simple, but jdownloader has just done the same thing for the second time in two days.

Last edited by tantalus1970; 06.11.2011 at 17:47. Reason: removed irrelevant paragraph
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07.11.2011, 09:35
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

SpannerBracket explained how to do it in W7. I quote from an old, archived post SpannerBracket wrote :-

Quote:
Ah - fixed this by replacing permissions on all child objects within the folder.

For anyone else with the issue, right click the jdownloader folder and choose properties.
In the security tab click users in the listbox and click edit.
Tick the box next to "Full Control" and click OK.
Now click Advanced.
Click Change Permissions...
Tick "Replace all child object permissions..." and click OK.
Click Yes.
(original post : http://board.jdownloader.org/showpos...94&postcount=4)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07.11.2011, 11:08
tantalus1970 tantalus1970 is offline
JD Alpha
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 21
Default

Thanks, I'll try that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:27.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.