JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02.02.2015, 19:20
Oldgeezer Oldgeezer is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 62
Default Can't set default download path

When I go into general settings, click browse and select or create a new default folder and restart it does change it. Under advanced settings it shows the folder that I selected but I still have to manually set it for every link that I add. It always worked OK for me in JD 1. What am I missing?

I do like a lot of the new features, especially the search function. One complaint I have is they have taken some very basic functions that used to be in the regular settings menus or on the main screen and now you have to scroll through hundreds of lines in the advanced settings to find them.

Last edited by Jiaz; 04.02.2015 at 11:34.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02.02.2015, 20:16
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is online now
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 48,699
Default

So you changed the default downloadpath to a new one but newly added links still get the old path?
Please post a screenshot of your downloadpath settings and also one where we can see the new/old WRONG path.

GreeZ psp
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02.02.2015, 20:54
Oldgeezer Oldgeezer is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 62
Default

For some reason it worked when I changed it before but now it just keeps going back to the previous folder. I know I have to restart for changes to take effect so that is not the problem.



It changes in the advanced settings:



New links do not change:


'
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02.02.2015, 22:08
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is online now
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 48,699
Default

Try to DISABLE this advanced setting:
LinkgrabberSettings: Use Last Download Destination As Default

GreeZ psp
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02.02.2015, 22:54
Oldgeezer Oldgeezer is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 62
Default

I have tried both options for this setting. I tried disabling it and I also checked it and manually changed a link and the next link I tried still went back to the previous folder. Restarting does not help.

If I click browse the box opens to the current setting default folder. I click save and it will change the package to the right folder. I have to do this for every package. No matter what I do it will not automatically go to the default path that I set.


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03.02.2015, 00:58
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is online now
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 48,699
Default

GraphicalUserInterfaceSettings: Download Folder Chooser Default Path
--> Set this to "The global download directory"

GreeZ psp
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03.02.2015, 02:38
Oldgeezer Oldgeezer is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pspzockerscene View Post
Try to DISABLE this advanced setting:
LinkgrabberSettings: Use Last Download Destination As Default

GreeZ psp
I have already tried that. I have been through the advanced settings and I think I have tried just about every combination of settings for everything related to the download path. I have restarted JD and even rebooted the computer. It just keeps setting to my previous default folder setting. Sorry to be such a pain. I guess it's not that big of a deal. As I said, there are a lot of things that I like about JD2 so I can just live with a few extra clicks. Biggest improvements are the search and being able to download from Facebook. JD 1 would only work with YouTube and now it won't do that any more.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03.02.2015, 02:44
Lram32's Avatar
Lram32 Lram32 is offline
Spanish Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dark side of the moon
Posts: 9,908
Default

Please join our support chat and contact me in order to do a teamviewer session.
__________________
» Setup JD2 / Instalador de JD2 «
Spoiler:

Installer for Windows XP/Vista/Seven/Eight
|| JD2 x86 - x64 (Beta) ||

Installer for Mac
|| JD2 (Beta) ||

Installers for Linux
|| JD2 (Beta) x86 || <---> || JD2 (Beta) x64 ||

How to Create a Log
-» Click Here «-


¿Cómo crear un registro?
-» Click Aquí «-


Support Chat / Chat de Soporte
-» Click Here / Click Aquí «-



Last edited by Lram32; 03.02.2015 at 03:00.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03.02.2015, 15:00
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 65,456
Default

Hi,
1.) Links in DownloadList will not change automatically. You have to change them manually
2.) Links in LinkgrabberList will not change automatically when you set a customized folder manually
3.) Links in LinkgrabberList will change automatically if you did not set a customized path
3.1.) as folders are cached they will only change when you restart jdownloader -> then new default folder will be visible
3.2.) new added packages will use the current selected default folder

In case something is not clear or your wish something to work different, please let us know!
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03.02.2015, 16:12
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 65,456
Default

With next update restart is not needed for links to use the new default path (point 3)
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04.02.2015, 06:17
Oldgeezer Oldgeezer is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 62
Default

I still cannot get new links to show the correct folder automatically. When I click browse the box does come up as the correct path and all I have to do is click save. I found that I can move options from the right click submenus to the main. I put "set download directory" and "move to new package" to the top. I think in linkgrabber these functions are the most used and should by at the top by default. Until I used the menu manager I thought they had been omitted from JD2. So, problem mostly solved. Before this I had been clicking browse on each link to change it to the default. All I have to do is select all and right click to bring up the box once and click save. I even tried renaming last weeks folder and restarting and links come up to a folder that no longer exists. The box still comes up to the correct default folder.

The most irritating default was the sub folder option. I tried several things in the advanced settings and I don't remember what finally worked to get rid of it. Even when I would bring up the box and leave the box unchecked it would still put <jdownloaderpackagename> in the path and I would have to delete that individually for each link. I think in JD 1 there was just a box in the lower right corner for the subfolder option that you only had to change once.

As I said before, there are still a lot of pretty basic options in the advanced menu that require that I scroll through the huge list of things that I have no clue what they are and would never change without asking my son (a geek and proud of it!) what they mean. I think the rule should be if an average user like me is if not going to make a change to an option that is going to really screw things up and could easily be changed back, then they should be in the regular menus. At least put back the ones that used to be in JD 1. That scary warning that popped up the first time I clicked advanced made me back off at first. Even friends of mine that have much less computer skills than me know not to change things that they do not know what they are.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04.02.2015, 10:51
Lram32's Avatar
Lram32 Lram32 is offline
Spanish Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dark side of the moon
Posts: 9,908
Default

About the subfolder...
Settings > Packagizer > Predefined rule: create subfolder by packagename (disable it)
__________________
» Setup JD2 / Instalador de JD2 «
Spoiler:

Installer for Windows XP/Vista/Seven/Eight
|| JD2 x86 - x64 (Beta) ||

Installer for Mac
|| JD2 (Beta) ||

Installers for Linux
|| JD2 (Beta) x86 || <---> || JD2 (Beta) x64 ||

How to Create a Log
-» Click Here «-


¿Cómo crear un registro?
-» Click Aquí «-


Support Chat / Chat de Soporte
-» Click Here / Click Aquí «-


Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04.02.2015, 11:13
Oldgeezer Oldgeezer is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lram32 View Post
About the subfolder...
Settings > Packagizer > Predefined rule: create subfolder by packagename (disable it)
Just my point. Why not leave that option as a simple, easy to find button like in JD1?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04.02.2015, 11:34
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 65,456
Default

With latest update Linkgrabber will always show
1.) customized path
2.) dynamic path with current selected default folder (live -> change default folder, all non customized packages will show new folder)
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04.02.2015, 12:12
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,201
Default

@Oldgeezer
It is a simple setting, just you didn't know where to look! It needs to be applied in this fashion because of how package customer works and still allow overrides and customisation within its current feature set. You are making a mountain out of sand hill. Please ask for help then accept the answer we give vs questioning the way JDownloader has been design. I say that because of your comments of not been a geek, you won't understand the answer.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04.02.2015, 13:39
Oldgeezer Oldgeezer is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 62
Default

I'm sorry, but I think sometimes people who develop software and write thousands of lines of code to make it work are on a different plane than the average Joe that needs an easy understand GUI with options that are simple to figure out. In so many ways JD2 is a big leap forward but some things that were easier to set up in JD1 now are harder to find. If you don't want input from a typical user why have this forum? Trust me, there are a lot of people out there that know less about computers than I do.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04.02.2015, 14:04
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,201
Default

I wasn't knocking your feedback, I was reading what you wrote previously and it came across as you wouldn't understand the reasons behind it. You do not need to know much about computers to use JDownloader, software isn't hardware and hardware isn't software. You just need to spend time and learn changes in interface, and don't be afraid of experimenting with advanced settings. When you change setting away from default the reset arrow will turn yellow, you click the reset arrow and it will revert setting. It's quite tolerant in that sense.

raztoki
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]

Last edited by raztoki; 04.02.2015 at 14:21. Reason: expanded response
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:44.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.