JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29.06.2015, 07:53
13mh13 13mh13 is offline
Linkgrabbing Monster
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 85
Default

I'm running the latest JD in a Win XP Pro SP2 machine.
Trying to backup (copy Program Files/JDownloader on to back-up drive), Windows goes in ad infinitum "Preparing to Coy..." mode.
So I did a Properties check of that folder:

Folders: 296 sub-folder
Files 112, 344(!!!!!!!!)
Size: 3.30 GB

I took a Screen Capture if you don't believe (see attachment).

So, ...... how did it get so large?

JD is super slow -- and consumes massive CPU/VM -- so, how do I mange (reduce) size my current JD size (not losing info).
Can I compress, etc?

Thanks!!

I think Captchas maybe the culprit ... dunno why JD stores them all???

Bloody "hoster" and "logs/Updatehistory" sub-folders, too! (Tho' nowhere near as bad as captchas).
Attached Thumbnails
jd.jpg  

Last edited by Lram32; 29.06.2015 at 13:43. Reason: merged posts, use edit.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29.06.2015, 09:51
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 65,456
Default

It is enough to backup/restore the "config" and "cfg" folders. So you can install fresh and just restore those folders.

Captchas are from old JDownloader 1 (fixed in JD2) and from screenshot I can tell that it is in upgraded JD1 to JD2 version.

Just backup the folders and do a clean install from scratch
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29.06.2015, 13:50
13mh13 13mh13 is offline
Linkgrabbing Monster
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 85
Default My GAWD, what a mess!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
It is enough to backup/restore the "config" and "cfg" folders. So you can install fresh and just restore those folders.

Captchas are from old JDownloader 1 (fixed in JD2) and from screenshot I can tell that it is in upgraded JD1 to JD2 version.

Just backup the folders and do a clean install from scratch
Using JD2 Beta (all the latest upgrades).

My G A W D ... what a MESS of a "utility" JDownloader CONTINUES to be.
This is why I pretty much just use Chrome exclusively for uploading/downloading.

Sorry JD developers ... such a thankless job ... but your "product" is no longer really needed, is it? ... and, besides: Google's got more $$ than you (= happy developers with beer money) so their browser-based plugins are just SO much better.

Have a wonderful day, chaps
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29.06.2015, 13:59
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 65,456
Default

Can you please provide feedback what really you don't like? We ask because JD1 and JD2 look nearly the same. Furthermore you can completely customize everything to your personal needs (buttons, actions, hotkeys, texts, icons, positions, context menus, colours, columns....everything).

Well, does the browser:
1.) support over 5k different sites?
2.) auto extract archives?
2.1.) with customizing rules for folder names
2.2.) with auto pw finding
3.) work on headless devices
4.) can you add many hundret links with a single click/copy
5.) remote control from anywhere (via webinterface, tools, browser, smartphone)
6.) make use of powerful autorename/grouping
7.) make downloading easier

there are many reasons to use jdownloader but yes, someone who just want to click and download and who does not need any of those features...you can also use browser only
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29.06.2015, 14:05
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 16,196
Default

@13mh13

You have inherited the large install directory from upgrading an existing JD1 to JD2. JD2 cleans up logs and captchas where JD1 didn't. Since you installed over the top of JD1 in program files (in which we have not used as a default install install path for ~2-3 years), you've created the issue.

JD2 does not cleanup JD1 mess from the previous x years. Installer or updater will prefer to install to a new path (%localappdata% or %appdata% in older OS) and old configs will be copied across in the update step. This way users have a way to revert easily, or have the ability to remove old installation.

It's good to see your attitude, even when adequately explained the cause/reason you still blame the developer or the software.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:40.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.