JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11.11.2011, 17:24
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

need to collect more info..maybe a single plugin is causing this...some java stuff maybe got removed by apple or so.
i'm still somewhere in the dark about this
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11.11.2011, 18:25
crashlizard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hello again. I downloaded a fresh copy of JD without uninstalling the old one. I updated it, and it works perfectly! No problems at all. Very strange indeed. I have not uninstalled the old one yet.

Jiaz, I'll email you my defective JDownloader.app (the nightly version).

Last edited by crashlizard; 11.11.2011 at 18:33.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11.11.2011, 19:04
fregatte
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

2nd installation works only as long until a new download job is proceeding.

just as a download job is in the queue and active, the freezing is the same.

so the issue must be connected with the download activity.

the mouse pointer is changing to a blue circle sign as showing "I am busy with a job"

fregatte
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11.11.2011, 22:50
bonded333
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Same problem - after latest Mac Java update

Getting same issues as above - blue spinning ball, downloads work but jDownloader screens completely frozen, unable to move between screens, highlight downloads, etc.. Basically lost control of operation.

Whats the best solution - wait for a fix? download a new version?

Thanks for your help guys!!
:outch:
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12.11.2011, 09:32
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Until the cause has been found and the problem has been repaired, you could revert your JRE to a previous version.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12.11.2011, 14:58
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

im still trying to find the cause of this freeze
i can tell that a clean setup does not freeze. so i suggest...i'm sorry for that...to reinstall jd or cleanup the config folder inside the app till now.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12.11.2011, 19:03
bonded333
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re-installed JD - no change, screen freeze, spining blue-ball

Hi Jiaz

Thanks for your comments. But having re-installed JD (didn't delete older version though) I am still getting all the same problems (screen freeze, blue-ball, but can use the screen Menu only).

I am using a 2009 MBP, with OSX 10.8 and latest Java update from Thursday. Have used JD for 2-3 years with no trouble for past 2 years ...

Is is possible or worth the hassle to revert to the older Java version on Mac?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12.11.2011, 22:24
barty2811
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm getting the same problem since the Java update. I don't know how to roll back the Java update nor clean up the config folder but have tried re-installing JD, with no success. This is very frustrating and any clear advice on addressing the issue would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 13.11.2011, 00:39
barty2811
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Actually...I seem to have found a solution by accident. Go to Utilities>Java Preferences.app>General and make sure the 32 Bit Java is the first choice. The default in mine was 64 Bit and now that I have swapped the order, JD appears to be working normally.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 13.11.2011, 00:52
corruptus
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Do not working for me.
I swapped both and JD is still freezing. Even I rebooted with any luck.
Please, try to think in other step you have already done.

EDIT: You can swich to Nightly until the issue is solve, this version is working OK.

Quote:
Originally Posted by barty2811 View Post
Actually...I seem to have found a solution by accident. Go to Utilities>Java Preferences.app>General and make sure the 32 Bit Java is the first choice. The default in mine was 64 Bit and now that I have swapped the order, JD appears to be working normally.

Last edited by corruptus; 13.11.2011 at 01:16. Reason: new solution
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 13.11.2011, 04:46
VirusX
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

updated to the latest nightly build. No problems anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 13.11.2011, 11:33
pippopippo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What do You mean for "swich to Nightly".

What is "Nightly" ?

tks
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 13.11.2011, 11:35
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What is Nightly and Where do I Get it?.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 13.11.2011, 13:32
pippopippo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ok, I am a Mac (lion) user.

the post posted by remi says:
"cd /Applications/jDownloader.app/Contents/Resources/Java
sudo java -jar jdupdate.jar -branch NIGHTLY "

but in my installation the file jdupdate.jar is in the following path:
/Applications/JDownloader.app/Contents/Resources/app/jd

anyway when from terminal (in the dir /Applications/JDownloader.app/Contents/Resources/app/jd where the file jdupdate.jar is) i do the following command:
sudo java -jar jdupdate.jar -branch NIGHTLY, I receive this error:"Unable to access jarfile jdupdate.jar".

Any hint?

tks
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 13.11.2011, 13:54
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

replace "cd /Applications/jDownloader.app/Contents/Resources/Java"

by "cd /Applications/JDownloader.app/Contents/Resources/app/jd"

and try the second command again.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 13.11.2011, 14:00
pippopippo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

..nothing...

still

Unable to access jarfile jdupdate.jar


--please help
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 13.11.2011, 14:25
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm sorry but I don't know where these files are on a Mac. Try to find the file jdupdate.jar and change the path accordingly.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 13.11.2011, 14:47
xbauerx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remi View Post
replace "cd /Applications/jDownloader.app/Contents/Resources/Java"

by "cd /Applications/JDownloader.app/Contents/Resources/app/jd"

and try the second command again.
test with "cd /Applications/JDownloader.app/Contents/Resources/app"

and the second command: "sudo java -jar jdupdate.jar -branch NIGHTLY"
by my mac 10.7.2 run the update. the freeze problem is again

sorry for my bad english
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 13.11.2011, 14:56
pippopippo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ok xbauerx...it is webupdating....i'll let you know.....
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 13.11.2011, 17:13
pippopippo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

it seems to go fine..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:10.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.