JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18.10.2009, 08:14
germ
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Angry [Mac] JD completely freezes Snow Leopard

This happened twice today. Had to restart my iMac each time.

I am unable to deliver full bug report with log right now.

JD version is 0.9.059.
Mac OS X 10.6.1 (32 bit kernel)
Java version: Java SE 6 64 bit (from Java Preferences.app)

JD was downloading from rapidshare. Also using aMule at the same time.

Last edited by Jiaz; 05.05.2010 at 18:24.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18.10.2009, 12:51
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

When does the freeze occur? Does it happen after you perform a particular action? Does it happen after a certain time?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19.10.2009, 01:45
germ
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

At first, JD starts OK. I entered the download queue and it started downloading. Then, I hid the app. When I came back to the computer (the first time overnight, the second after a couple of hours) the computer was either completely frozen, or Safari was still responding but with no internet connection. I had to force a restart in both cases. I am 100% convinced it's JD's fault because I can use aMule with no problems normally.

I will try again with the log enabled after I am done with the aMule downloads.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19.10.2009, 13:52
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

Could you please also monitor memory/RAM consumption of jD? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11.01.2010, 01:51
translat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Check activity monitor. Do you have a process called pictd that launches with JDownloader and eats up huge amounts of RAM, eventually freezing the whole system? Happens with me and I have not found a solution. Search for "pictd" in the German forum.

This bug defeats the whole purpose of JDownloader. I hope a solution will be found very soon.

Mac OS 10.6.2
JDownloader 0.9.579

Last edited by translat; 11.01.2010 at 11:20.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03.02.2010, 14:38
robrecord
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have this problem too. Once I quit pictd, my computer became more responsive - it was using 1Gb of RAM. I have heard this process is some kind of legacy process, something to do with 32 bit libraries used by 64 bit processes.

jDownloader was using over 300Mb of real memory at the time this happened, too.

**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03.02.2010, 17:46
Streetwalker
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

install java 5 and everything works perfect!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15.02.2010, 05:24
Rome1304
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Get rid of pictd Process on mac snow leopard

OS
Mac osx 10.6.2

Just disable clipboard monitoring and cliptd process dissapears

you can check it on Activity Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26.04.2010, 16:50
50cmvorm50"plasma
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

my imac freezes too. mostly after 30min or 1 or 2h running smooth,
it freezes my mac, and the ball is spinning... i must reset then.
i run java SE 6, and i had "monitor clipboard" running yes. i disabled the clipboard now for testing...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27.04.2010, 12:35
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If your problem hasn't been solved, please post a detailed log.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28.04.2010, 09:43
50cmvorm50"plasma
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

problem still exists, heavier than before.
i ll post a log as described there.

but if it freezes, i must reboot, is the log from/before the freeze still saved in jd?

Last edited by 50cmvorm50"plasma; 28.04.2010 at 09:46.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28.04.2010, 11:15
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Start jD as follows in a command window :-

cd %your jd directory%
java -verbose -jar -Xmx512m JDownloader.jar -debug 2>errlog.txt >log.txt


When the problem happens, archive (zip, rar, etc.) the log files that you'll find in your jD directory and attach the archive to your post.

Edit: Incorrect instructions for OS-X. See post 42 (drbits)

Last edited by drbits; 04.10.2010 at 11:56.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28.04.2010, 22:12
50cmvorm50"plasma
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

sorry i dont know anything about the terminal
i tried your lines in the terminal window, and nothing happens, i dont see that jd starts.

"xmac:~ xmac$ cd /Applications/jDownloader.app
xmac:jDownloader.app xmac$
xmac:jDownloader.app xmac$ java -verbose -jar -Xmx512m JDownloader.jar -debug 2>errlog.txt >log.txt
xmac:jDownloader.app xmac$ "

i had a look at jd action log. the problem is, that jd wont save the action log, after the reboot, its gone. when jd freezes my mac (also JD is frozen of course) i cannot access the action log anymore...

other idea?

Last edited by 50cmvorm50"plasma; 28.04.2010 at 22:15.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 29.04.2010, 10:25
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Logs are indeed lost when you exit jD.

With the method I gave, the logs are written to a file. It works in Windoze and Linux. Macs are advertised as being more customer friendly. There might exist an easier method.

You've to wait for someone who uses a Mac. I don't know enough about Macs.

Is there a *_createlog.* file in your jD directory? Try to execute it.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 29.04.2010, 11:29
50cmvorm50"plasma
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i am sorry, i dont even have a jd directory. my jd application simply resides
in my application folder. anyone with a mac, who knows how to get the action log after a reboot? i simply must reboot by pressing the on/off button for 10sec, as JD app freezes in a second, and also freezes the whole mac. its completely FROZEN.....and i dont know when it freezes, it just happens. i also watched the activity monitor, processor and ram consumption, its at normal level, when it freezes. JD needs 5 or 10% processor speed, 50 threads and 200 MB physical RAM, later 250 MB RAM. ( i have 4GB installed)

there would be the console app. it writes logs for everything. but the log is very very long. i could send this?

wait, another one:
i can access the app itself by right clicking JD app "show package contents",
there is an action log and an error log, but both are empty (?) and one has the line
"Unable to access jarfile JDownloader.jar"

edit: i noticed that JD runs in 64bit mode, on my imac 10.6.3, just as a sidenote (?)
and my java version is as follows (see attached screenshot)

thx for help!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg java.jpg (27.4 KB, 446 views)

Last edited by 50cmvorm50"plasma; 29.04.2010 at 11:41.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 29.04.2010, 12:54
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Did you already try jD with the 32 bits version of the JRE (java)? Temporarily disable the 64 bits version.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 29.04.2010, 12:56
50cmvorm50"plasma
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

no, you mean disabling 64bit of java? or both, also disabling 64 bit of JD?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 29.04.2010, 13:08
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Both.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 29.04.2010, 13:13
50cmvorm50"plasma
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i cannot disable java 64 bit as it disables whole java then, the 2 checkboxes in java app are dependent on itself - and jd wont start.
but i can test running jd in 32bit now!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 30.04.2010, 10:49
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 66,134
Default

yes please in 32bit, i guess you have to move 32bit over 64bit in list
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:52.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.