JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08.02.2017, 05:38
iwonder
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Queuing counts toward Filejoker download limit before download

I noticed that with JD2 and FileJoker I do not get the amount of premium traffic I should. For example, I had 25GB of traffic left, but JD started reporting that I was out of traffic after downloading only about 20GB.

I contacted FileJoker support and got the following response:

"Please try using another download manager, because as we know, JD is generating download links for every added file and reduce your limit once you've queued the file, before actually downloading it. So adding to JDownloader files for over 30gb will max out your limit without even downloading."

Is there a way to fix this without abandoning JD?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08.02.2017, 06:53
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,655
Default

we do not do as they state.
jd linkchecks based on information within website (html)
download routine generates link -> downloads.

clearly there support has little to no idea or direct lying to you.

raztoki
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08.02.2017, 06:55
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,655
Default

we even cached the generated link to resume with later if possible (say you have connection issue), vs generating a new link on retry.

So yah you do the math.

raztoki
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08.02.2017, 07:27
iwonder
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Do you generate the link when the file is moved from Linkgrabber to the download queue or when the download of a particular file actually starts? I believe the former is what they're claiming.

I usually "start downloads" on more files than I can actually download at one time based on my download cap, assuming that if I hit the download limit, the files will just stay in the queue and resume when the quota resets. I think they're saying that starting downloads on files causes all of the files to be subtracted from my cap immediately, even if they haven't yet got to the top of the queue.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08.02.2017, 09:58
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 79,128
Default

Link is generated when you start the actual download.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08.02.2017, 10:00
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 79,128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iwonder View Post
I think they're saying that starting downloads on files causes all of the files to be subtracted from my cap immediately, even if they haven't yet got to the top of the queue.
Makes not much sense to me.
either you have enough traffic left -> download can start
or
you don't have enough traffic left -> download cannot start

When you start several links at once, then it is the same.
Link 1 -> start , reduce traffic for Link 1
Link 2 -> start , reduce traffic for Link 2
....
Link x -> cannot start because no more traffic.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08.02.2017, 10:02
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 79,128
Default

How many connections do you use? Max connections is set to?
Some hosters simply calculate with full filesize for each connection. So wen you download with 2 connections a 100mb file, they might calculate 200mb for it.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08.02.2017, 19:42
iwonder
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have max connections set to 4. Honestly, it doesn't make much sense to me either. I move an 8-part file from Linkgrabber to Download. The total size is within the limit. The first 4 download simultaneously. The next 2 download as expected and the last 2 say insufficient traffic.

It's possible that their math routine is just broken (intentionally or unintentionally). But it seems more likely that it's some strange interaction between how they calculate the download limit and how JD works.

I'll try setting max connections to 1 and see if that makes a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08.02.2017, 23:59
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,655
Default

jiaz was referring to max chunks (max con per file was its old name in jd1) = 1
max sim can be higher than 1.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09.02.2017, 00:01
iwonder
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Max chunks was already set to 1.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09.02.2017, 10:00
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 79,128
Default

Maybe you should try the following
Set max chunks to 1 and max downloads to 1
Then load the links 1 by 1 and after each finished download, check the website for *traffic left/available* information and if it is correct or not or how much it differs
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14.02.2017, 09:40
iwonder
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I downloaded a 654MB file that was in a single part with Max Chunks set to 1. Filejoker subtracted 1.28MB from my quota. It's double counting every download (according to JD).

But when I checked the quota from the Filejoker home page after the download, the quota is shown without double counting. In other words, the FJ site is showing more quota available than JD is.

Last edited by iwonder; 14.02.2017 at 10:30.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14.02.2017, 10:40
raztoki's Avatar
raztoki raztoki is offline
English Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 17,655
Default

I assume you mean 1.28GB not MB.
__________________
raztoki @ jDownloader reporter/developer
http://svn.jdownloader.org/users/170

Don't fight the system, use it to your advantage. :]
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 14.02.2017, 12:17
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 79,128
Default

Could you please provide screenshots of the traffic left on website/in JDownloader, send them to support@jdownloader.org

So JDownloader shows twice the usage but website shows correct once, right?
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin

Last edited by Jiaz; 14.02.2017 at 12:19.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21.02.2017, 08:06
iwonder
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The graphic below shows the latest test. I waited until I had the full 30GB quota on the FJ site. But JD still showed a lower quota when I started. When I downloaded a file. FJ subtracted the correct amount on their site. JD actually subtracted less than the correct amount this time, but still shows less than the quota I should have.

Attached Images
File Type: png JD Quota.png (21.4 KB, 28 views)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 21.11.2023, 02:17
eazy27 eazy27 is offline
Linkgrabbing Monster
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 81
Default I think that they count files that are duplicated also

I have been noticing that my totals are way down if I end up with files I already on my system and they are skipped but no downloaded. This only seems tp be happening recently
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 21.11.2023, 11:11
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is online now
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 70,765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eazy27 View Post
I have been noticing that my totals are way down if I end up with files I already on my system and they are skipped but no downloaded.
Yes and no.
Explanation:
https://board.jdownloader.org/showthread.php?t=94566
__________________
JD Supporter, Plugin Dev. & Community Manager

Erste Schritte & Tutorials || JDownloader 2 Setup Download
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:09.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.