JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20.01.2010, 15:44
Gweilo's Avatar
Gweilo Gweilo is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 716
Default http & ftp downloads?

I've got the impression JD is being used to download files on normal http and ftp links (i.e. not on the warez-style file hosts).

I can't see any way to do that in the JD interface. Is it possible, if so how?

Pasting such links in the Linkgrabber doesn't produce anything.

I use Flashget for those, so it's not vital, but would be nice to have a unified interface.
  #2  
Old 20.01.2010, 15:54
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 49,301
Default

Please post http/FTP example links that do NOT work!

GreeZ pspzockerscene
EDIT

Moved->Hoster-Plugins!
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
  #3  
Old 20.01.2010, 18:52
Gweilo's Avatar
Gweilo Gweilo is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pspzockerscene View Post
Please post http/FTP example links that do NOT work!

GreeZ pspzockerscene
EDIT

Moved->Hoster-Plugins!
I've tried a dozen links, nothing works.

eg: Perfectly simple direct HTTP download.
**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**
  #4  
Old 20.01.2010, 19:03
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 49,301
Default

@Gweilo
Your link works 100% for me.
Linkgrabber takes it and says "online" and i can download it so what's the problem ?

GreeZ pspzockerscene
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
  #5  
Old 21.01.2010, 01:56
Gweilo's Avatar
Gweilo Gweilo is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 716
Default

Like I said, Linkgrabber does nothing for me, whether I put the link on the clipboard with monitoring enabled or paste it in to "Add URL".

If I have a list of Rapidshare links and add this to them, paste them in, only the RS links are added: eg:

**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**
**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**
**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**

I get only two links, the RS ones, recognised by Linkgrapbber.


Does this need a plugin installed?

Last edited by Gweilo; 21.01.2010 at 02:12.
  #6  
Old 21.01.2010, 12:34
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Did you enable the "http links" plug-in?
  #7  
Old 21.01.2010, 14:16
Gweilo's Avatar
Gweilo Gweilo is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remi View Post
Did you enable the "http links" plug-in?
Obviously not. That's why I asked if there was a plugin for this.

And I can't see that under Settings/Plugins and addons, or the list of hosts.
Where is it?

Can't find anything about that in the wiki ...
  #8  
Old 21.01.2010, 15:25
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 49,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gweilo View Post
Can't find anything about that in the wiki ...
You can't find anything about that because everyone has this plugin and default it's activated so why should there be anything in the wiki about a single plugin ?
Well try to delete your plugins folder and update jd, maybe that helps.
As you can see this problem comnes from your side as it seems to work for everyone else.

GreeZ pspzockerscene
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
  #9  
Old 21.01.2010, 19:14
Gweilo's Avatar
Gweilo Gweilo is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pspzockerscene View Post
You can't find anything about that because everyone has this plugin and default it's activated so why should there be anything in the wiki about a single plugin ?
Well try to delete your plugins folder and update jd, maybe that helps.
As you can see this problem comnes from your side as it seems to work for everyone else.

GreeZ pspzockerscene
OK, I found the plugin on the hosts list. And it was not activated.
I didn't deactivate it, though I expect you will think otherwise.

Since "http link' is not actually a file host, it wasn't an obvious place for me to look, and I didn't know that it would be named that anyway, amongst about 300 hosts listed over 12 pages, 99% of which I have never used or heard of. Took a while to scan through them.

You seem to be annoyed at me for asking these questions. All I asked was how to download HTTP links.

If you want to believe that "everyone" already knows this, and "it works for everyone else", despite it not even being mentioned in any public documentation, and that hadly any posts have been made here mentioning it, well I guess "everyone else" must be much smarter than I am.

Thanks anyway, it is working now.
  #10  
Old 21.01.2010, 19:23
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 49,301
Default

@Gweilo
No, everything is okay, i just wondered that you didn't know that.
I guess many people complain about pictures (= http links when parsing links through websites through jd) being added to jd even if they don't want them^^

GreeZ pspzockerscene
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
  #11  
Old 21.01.2010, 20:19
Gweilo's Avatar
Gweilo Gweilo is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pspzockerscene View Post
@Gweilo
No, everything is okay, i just wondered that you didn't know that.
I guess many people complain about pictures (= http links when parsing links through websites through jd) being added to jd even if they don't want them^^

GreeZ pspzockerscene
So that explains why I couldn't get the "parsing" to work either.
I think that shows that it isn't a good idea to use the same settings for both
"http links" and "parsing" pages.

Occasionally I do want to get a bunch of jpegs. In that case it would be nice to be able to quickly indicate which kind of file I wanted, or didn't want.

But for that Flashget is pretty good and no need to use JD; I want JD for getting and managing multiple downloads of big files that take hours, not lots of little files that take seconds each.
  #12  
Old 22.01.2010, 10:18
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

Http and ftp are TCP protocols. They aren't hosts. They shouldn't be in the host list.
  #13  
Old 22.01.2010, 11:21
drbits's Avatar
drbits drbits is offline
JD English Support (inactive)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Physically in Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 4,437
Default

I agree with remi. Services (HTTP, TCP, FTP, TFTP) and protocols (IP, IPX) shouldn't be in the hosts list.
__________________

I am missing something. Where is the "parsing" page? Or do you mean the LinkGrabber filter page?
_____________________________________________

Here is an interesting LinkGrabber bug. This was shown in LinkGrabber as an HTTP Link, even though it is a known host. Further, the error message was "offline>No plugin available" instead of "Bad format"

**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**
**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**

I think it is low priority.

Last edited by drbits; 22.01.2010 at 11:54.
  #14  
Old 22.01.2010, 11:55
Gweilo's Avatar
Gweilo Gweilo is offline
JD Legend
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drbits View Post
I agree with remi. Services (HTTP, TCP, FTP, TFTP) and protocols (IP, IPX) shouldn't be in the hosts list.
Yes; however what it REALLY means is not the protocol but a link in that format, and all the file host links are that, the difference being that there are no further hoops to jump through to get to the actual download in this case.

I don't mind it being grouped with the normal file hosts, but it should be set off in its own section, not buried in the middle of hundreds of obscure hosts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drbits View Post
I am missing something. Where is the "parsing" page? Or do you mean the LinkGrabber filter page?
When you paste in links if they are not to the usual hosts it will tell you it is "parsing" the page, searching for downloadable content. This is governed by both having "http links" activated as a "host" and the filters.

Last edited by Gweilo; 22.01.2010 at 11:58.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:17.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.