JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13.12.2017, 04:35
time2lose time2lose is offline
Modem User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: USA-WA
Posts: 2
Default Speed issue with http(s) downloads in JD2

Howdy folks!

I've been experiencing an issue with downloads in JD2 since switching from an older router to a new one. I upgraded my connection with my ISP after hearing about a promo deal, so they doubled my speed for less money.

My speeds in JD2 on HTTP/HTTPS downloads are topping out 1.2 MB/sec from hosts like Google Drive and other direct connections where no accounts are involved and even on premium hosters where previously I was able to get 10 MB/sec or more. My settings are 1 chunk per DL / 12 max DLs / 2 DLs max per host / no speed limit.

Downloads in JD2 from an ftp source work at full speed, but anything with http or https in the link causes the issue to appear. No matter how many downloads I have running, they all adjust their speed to share the same 1.2 MB/sec, which is 20x slower than I would expect with a 230 Mbps connection. https://imgur.com/a/JL2Ak

After some testing I'm able to download at full speed in Firefox (confirmed with Task Manager > Network).

Details:
ISP: Comcast/XFINITY
Advertised Speed: 200 Mbps
Actual Speed: http://beta.speedtest.net/result/6874330167
Local Link: 1.0 Gbps, Cat 6, 2 meter cable
Router: Netgear Nighthawk X4 AC2350 (R7500v2)
Modem: Arris CM820A DOCSIS 3.0
PC: MSI B350 mobo, AMD Ryzen 1700, 32 GB RAM, Win 10 Pro
Router settings: QoS=OFF, DoS/Port Scan=OFF, Router=DHCP Server, DHCP Reservation for my PC, NAT Filtering=SECURE, etc. etc.

I've been using the 10GB and 50GB files located here: hXXp://speedtest.tele2.net and fXp://speedtest.tele2.net to test my speed with hosts not related to any accounts or anything. I don't have any Google Drive files to test, but it's always been fast for me.

I've tried the things suggested by Jiaz in the thread on this board as well as in an email to their support (thanks Jiaz).

Does anyone have any other ideas? I can't help but think there's a setting somewhere that I've missed. Much appreciated!

Edit: (not trying to promote other tools) IDM works fine with the Tele2 test files above. 5 MB/sec or more. https://imgur.com/a/8KvXd

Last edited by time2lose; 13.12.2017 at 05:31. Reason: More info & images
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13.12.2017, 06:14
time2lose time2lose is offline
Modem User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: USA-WA
Posts: 2
Default

Okay, I think I've been able to figure it out. The resolution is nonsensical to me and doesn't match the symptom.

I'm downloading to a Plugable USB 3.0 drive "dock" with a 3 TB HDD attached. I changed USB ports and it magically works at full speed again. I noticed some odd hangs when using Windows Explorer to view the contents of the drive, so I figured I'd unplug it and swap ports...it worked.

https://imgur.com/a/CRCJA

Please feel free to close, delete, or archive this thread.

Last edited by time2lose; 13.12.2017 at 06:18. Reason: Clarity & image
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15.12.2017, 20:00
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 51,594
Default

Thanks for the feedback and posting your findings/solution
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:01.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.