JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06.03.2011, 10:15
Chegatron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default JD stopped working after Java update on Ubuntu

Hi,
I had to update the previous Sun-Java version from 6u23 to 6u24 and JD isn't working any more.
I was using the sh script to run it, but when it stopped working, I installed it from the repository, but it still doesn't work.

Here is the output:

Install went fine:
Code:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  jdownloader
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B/16.8kB of archives.
After this operation, 123kB of additional disk space will be used.
Selecting previously deselected package jdownloader.
(Reading database ... 216981 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking jdownloader (from .../jdownloader_0.2-0jd1~lucid_all.deb) ...
Processing triggers for hicolor-icon-theme ...
Processing triggers for desktop-file-utils ...
Processing triggers for python-gmenu ...
Rebuilding /usr/share/applications/desktop.en_US.utf8.cache...
Processing triggers for python-support ...
Setting up jdownloader (0.2-0jd1~lucid) ...

But when "press play on tape" I get:

Code:
user@calculator:~$ jdownloader 
JAR
00s.002 - FINEST [jd.utils.JDUtilities(getJDClassLoader)] -> Create Classloader: for: /home/user/.jdownloader
00s.032 - FINEST [jd.JDClassLoader(<init>)] -> rootDir:/home/user/.jdownloader
/home/user/.jdownloader
 null
00s.210 - FINER [jd.config.DatabaseConnector(<init>)] -> Loading database
00s.210 - FINER [jd.config.DatabaseConnector(checkDatabaseHeader)] -> Checking database
00s.211 - SEVERE [jd.controlling.JDLogger(exception)] -> SEVERE Exception occurred
java.sql.SQLException: Database broken!
	at jd.config.DatabaseConnector.<init>(DatabaseConnector.java:76)
	at jd.utils.JDUtilities.getDatabaseConnector(JDUtilities.java:856)
	at jd.config.SubConfiguration.<init>(SubConfiguration.java:77)
	at jd.config.SubConfiguration.getConfig(SubConfiguration.java:106)
	at jd.update.WebUpdater.getConfig(WebUpdater.java:74)
	at jd.update.Main.main(Main.java:121)
00s.212 - SEVERE [jd.utils.JDUtilities(getDatabaseConnector)] -> Database broken! Creating fresh Database
00s.213 - FINER [jd.config.DatabaseConnector(<init>)] -> Loading database
00s.700 - FINER [jd.config.DatabaseConnector(<init>)] -> No CONFIGURATION database found. Creating new one.
00s.723 - FINER [jd.config.DatabaseConnector(<init>)] -> Starting database wrapper
/home/user/.jdownloader/config/WEBUPDATE.cfg (No such file or directory)
{}

/home/user/.jdownloader/config/PACKAGEMANAGER.cfg (No such file or directory)
{}

java.awt.HeadlessException
	at java.awt.GraphicsEnvironment.checkHeadless(GraphicsEnvironment.java:173)
	at java.awt.Window.<init>(Window.java:437)
	at java.awt.Frame.<init>(Frame.java:419)
	at java.awt.Frame.<init>(Frame.java:384)
	at javax.swing.JFrame.<init>(JFrame.java:174)
	at jd.update.Main.initGUI(Main.java:459)
	at jd.update.Main.main(Main.java:129)
ERROR null

Last edited by Jiaz; 06.03.2011 at 14:20.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06.03.2011, 10:33
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Is there any reason why you need that update 24? I would just return to the update that worked.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06.03.2011, 14:20
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 62,426
Default

java.awt.HeadlessException

no x11 variable set, jd needs a desktop/x11.
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07.03.2011, 14:18
Chegatron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have x11 (Gnome DE)
I also tried setting the display variable manually
Code:
export DISPLAY=:0.0
or
Code:
export DISPLAY=:0
but no luck.

Just want to add that nothing significant was changed (that I know of) beside the Java version update. The Ubuntu installation is pretty standard with the default Gnome DE.

Last edited by Chegatron; 07.03.2011 at 14:38.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07.03.2011, 14:24
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 62,426
Default

then your bash is configured incorrectly or something like that
start jd from normal bash and start it manually with
java -Xmx512m -jar JDownloader.jar in your jd folder
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12.03.2011, 02:59
Chegatron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Just a quick update:
Since I haven't been able to start JDownloader on Ubuntu (something must be misconfigured and I don't know what), I installed it using WINE and it's working.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12.03.2011, 03:55
sharerocker
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You might be encountering this issue:
**External links are only visible to Support Staff****External links are only visible to Support Staff**

Run this in a terminal:
Code:
java -version
It should say something like:
Quote:
java version "1.6.0_24"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07)
Java HotSpot(TM) Server VM (build 19.1-b02, mixed mode)
If it says something about OpenJDK then you need to run this and select "java-6-sun":
Code:
sudo update-alternatives --config java
If you're not using OpenJDK for anything then you can probably uninstall it. To uninstall it, you can run this:
Code:
sudo apt-get purge openjdk*

Last edited by sharerocker; 12.03.2011 at 03:58. Reason: Had -s in the final apt-get line, removed it
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12.03.2011, 23:27
Chegatron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That fixed it!
(and not only JD, but another thing that stopped working related to Java)

Unfortunately, like I said, there are other users on this system and they all have root privileges so often wrong things get installed/misconfigured.

The funny thing is that I already removed openJDK.
Code:
Package openjdk-6-jre is not installed, so not removed
I just didn't do update-alternatives.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13.03.2011, 05:38
sharerocker
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Aha. Yeah. Well good to hear it's fixed.

Btw when you say "installed it from the repository" are you installing it from the Ubuntu PPA?

Since if so, that package probably should have a check for the default jre, or something.


Edit: Btw thanks for using Linux/Ubuntu. Running stuff in Wine when you don't have to isn't good times. Btw I'm on Ubuntu too and in terms of raw speed, I'm quite happy with the "Light(GTK)" style.

Last edited by sharerocker; 13.03.2011 at 05:40. Reason: stuff after "Edit:"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:13.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.