JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19.06.2009, 01:48
rocknstomper
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Newest version Eats up 100% CPU all the time

I do not know why... I have used jDownloader for years and told amny mnay people to use since it always was the best... Now I do not know with this new version being so (mind of its own) unpredictable.... now I got the latest update to make it up-to-date and now I used to down load @ 2.5mb and Now 1.2mb.. THE BEGGEST PROBLEM NOW IS I GET A 100% CPU useage when I used to only use about 10%-20% before.... is there a patch for this problem

Please help Thanks
Rocknstomper

or please tell me and show me how I can go back to useing the older versions like 4.9 where everything wsa great and no worries
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19.06.2009, 02:39
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 64,732
Default

pls always say how many chunks/downloads
and where the high cpu usage occurs (always, downloadlist, trayicon)
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20.06.2009, 00:40
d6g
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Same problem here on a Linux system.

Downloading 1 pacakage (23 parts) (non-premium) from megaupload. 2-3 seconds after the downloading starts, the CPU usage reaches 100%.

$ java -version
java version "1.6.0_13"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_13-b03)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 11.3-b02, mixed mode, sharing)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20.06.2009, 23:35
jebise101
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

for me it dose not use 100% CPU but i have noticed that javaw.exe uses 7-8% of my quad core, and then 70K memory, which seems high and i have all graphic settings on low.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21.06.2009, 07:34
sockpuppet
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

New version of JDownloader has coding problems.
Particularly with older hardware it tends to be a resource hog & there is a conflict when other java based apps are running at the same time.

Very buggy and unstable, some much better choices around
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21.06.2009, 10:06
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by sockpuppet View Post
New version of JDownloader has coding problems.
Please, if you're an expert, indicate them in the source code. I'm sure the devs will appreciate your contribution.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sockpuppet View Post
Particularly with older hardware it tends to be a resource hog
The devs are working on this. If you minimise your jD window, it consumes a lot less CPU cycles.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sockpuppet View Post
& there is a conflict when other java based apps are running at the same time.
Can you please give the names of those java apps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sockpuppet View Post
Very buggy and unstable, some much better choices around
I'm curious whether there are programs in the same league. Please give the names.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21.06.2009, 17:12
Zacker
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

HI all,

I got a similar problem. By CPU usage was going through the roof with my Ubuntu 9.04. After taking a closer look i realized there wasn't a problem with Jdownloader, but a System problem. I got to much IO/WAIT time. :(
Ubuntu was having problems communicating with the hard drive.
To test for this, simply try to copy a file that is larger then 1GB , and check under "top" or whatever how you're CPU is doing.

By the way, now the problem is gone. Not sure why, probably because of some update
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27.06.2009, 17:40
vguna
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It definitely has something todo with the download itself.
When e.g. waiting for the reconnect, CPU load drops to 5-10%.
Immediately after the transfer begins, load rises up to 100% and above (2 cores).
Perhaps some GUI refreshes in the download code or similar?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27.06.2009, 20:22
colt23
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Same problem here, CPU load is at 100% while, and only while downloading.
Minimizing the JD window to tray icon has no effect.
I dont know if this helps, but when i look at javaw.exe in Process Explorer, i get this thread, which causes the CPU load: msvcr71.dll!endthreadex+0x31
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28.06.2009, 14:35
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 64,732
Default

we could find a possible source for the cpu problem, but we are still investigating the issue
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30.06.2009, 21:16
dulume dulume is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 20
Default

the soft is now unusuable on eeepc, just freezes the system all the time.

waste of time, rubbish,

time to find an alternate
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30.06.2009, 23:34
colt23
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Calm down, they are working on it...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01.07.2009, 00:32
Jiaz's Avatar
Jiaz Jiaz is offline
JD Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 64,732
Default

just found and fixed a bug that causes 100% cpu usage....also working on another one...
__________________
JD-Dev & Server-Admin
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01.07.2009, 08:19
borgelt borgelt is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 70
Default new version

ahh, nice to hear that jiaz.
think most people here waiting eagerly for a new version to appear, especially after the likeup with the nightly build and the infinite painting gui startup bug...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01.07.2009, 10:20
colt23
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

When will the fix be available?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02.07.2009, 13:34
djuzi's Avatar
djuzi djuzi is offline
JD Polish Support (inactive)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 486
Default

When it's ready. We won't keep it just for us.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03.07.2009, 10:08
remi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by djuzi View Post
When it's ready. We won't keep it just for us.
lol
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03.07.2009, 23:42
profiler
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default oprofile of jdownloader

The issue seems to be related with the high amount of times the java program reads from a high performance timer.

I've not seen the code, but may it be that the user interface is refreshed after a fixed amount of bytes are downloaded? The problem seems to be related to the download speed.

CPU: Core Solo / Duo, speed 1000 MHz (estimated)
Counted CPU_CLK_UNHALTED events (Unhalted clock cycles) with a unit mask of 0x00 (Unhalted core cycles) count 100000
vma samples % image name app name symbol name
c011fe80 67945 57.4549 vmlinux-2.6.28-13-generic vmlinux-2.6.28-13-generic read_hpet <- here
c011fe80 153 0.2252
c011fe88 21 0.0309
c011fe8f 67771 99.7439
00000000 16924 14.3111 anon (tgid:20717 range:0xb41e3000-0xb4683000) java (no symbols)
00009440 1 0.0059
000094b1 1 0.0059
000094ca 1 0.0059
00009c6a 1 0.0059
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12.07.2009, 16:50
whatever-
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Any news on this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 18.07.2009, 11:12
vguna
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Found another thing... when setting the download speed to 10kb/s (pause), the load drops to 10-11% on the java process. So it has definitely something to do with the download-dowhatever-code.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:37.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.