JDownloader Community - Appwork GmbH
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31.05.2013, 15:29
sumyungguy sumyungguy is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 61
Default jd2 creates missing folder, f**ks up my Mac!

Hi,

JD2 tries to create a folder if it's missing. That's a very bad idea, especially on the Mac. It permanently renamed my USB hard drive (it's mount point anyway), which messed up various scripts and other things I have, not to mention JD2 itself wouldn't function properly anymore. I had to fix it by hand in the Terminal shell.

The Mac doesn't have drive letters for removeable drives. Instead, there are links made in the /Volumes directory, for example, /Volumes/myMediaDrive, when a USB drive is connected.

I accidentally started JD2 with my USB drive disconnected, and tried to start a download to it. JD2 complained about "invalid output file". I quit JD2.

Later I noticed that several things weren't working right, and I found that JD2 had created this folder /Volumes/myMediaDrive, as a regular folder, while the drive was disconnected. So when I attached the drive again, it got mounted instead as "/Volumes/myMediaDrive 1" (with an extra "1" on the end), which made a mess of various things... I had to unmount the drive, manually "rmdir" the bogus directory via the shell (you can't access /Volumes except through the Terminal), and mount it again.

A native Mac program would never do this, but I guess because JD2 is Java and it has its own file routines, it can. I remember Vuze used to do this too, until I made a bug report and they fixed it. I suppose JD1 also does this?

Could someone look into it? It's something that can cause relatively permanent changes to peoples' computer systems, and interfere with the operation of other things, not only JDownloader's. Most people wouldn't know how to check for it, or fix the problem. Thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31.05.2013, 16:35
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 51,177
Default

Can anyone confirm those issues?

GreeZ pspzockerscene
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31.05.2013, 17:45
kdean kdean is offline
Black Hole
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 278
Default

I'm not currently having the issue, but I have seen the same issue in the past with other cross-platform apps and not having a drive mounted.

As is stated, it would be better if JD just simply detected that the Download Folder is not there rather that creating the path structure since it interferes with the mounting of the actual drive if the Download Folder is on an external drive.

Note this only happens if the destination drive is not mounted before an app tries to use it.

As is stated, OS X mounts the drives in /Volumes with their drive name:

/Volumes/drivename

If JD creates that path due to a missing drive, then when the actual drive is mounted it mounts under the revised name because you can't have 2 drives named exactly the same, thus:

/Volumes/drivename
/Volumes/drivename 1

If /Volumes/drivename is deleted and the actual drive is ejected and mounted again it should come up without the 1 again.


FYI, you can access /Volumes in the Finder via the menubar at "Go -> Go to Folder…" and enter "/Volumes".
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31.05.2013, 17:54
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 51,177
Default

Ticket:


GreeZ pspzockerscene
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31.05.2013, 21:19
Merny
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Smile

:)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31.05.2013, 22:23
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 51,177
Default

?
Our developer Jiaz asked if you have any subfolders as downloadfolders.

GreeZ psp
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02.06.2013, 01:30
sumyungguy sumyungguy is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 61
Default

The download folder was something like /Volumes/drivename/filesfolder/downloads

It created the folder /Volumes/drivename but it was empty, didn't seem to create the subfolders inside it. Does that answer the question?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04.06.2013, 18:24
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 51,177
Default

No.
The answer is if you got the option enabled that JD should create sobfolder with packagename and add it to the downloadpath.

GreeZ psp
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14.06.2013, 21:42
sumyungguy sumyungguy is offline
Mega Loader
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 61
Default

In that case the question is no.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29.09.2013, 16:23
pspzockerscene's Avatar
pspzockerscene pspzockerscene is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 51,177
Default

Fixed with the next JD2 BETA Core update!

GreeZ pspzockerscene
__________________

Ad-free installers || Werbefreie Installer
Windows Setup<--JD2 BETA-->Linux Setup x86 || Linux Setup x64 || Mac Setup
-----=>Support Chat<=-----
Spoiler:

A users' JD crashes and the first thing to ask is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiaz View Post
Do you have Nero installed?
That's true James
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
Die Leute verstehen einfach nicht dass nur weil man mit einer Waffe auch auf Menschen schießen kann dass ein Schützenver​ein kein Ort für Amoklaufide​en ist
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:12.
Provided By AppWork GmbH | Privacy | Imprint
Parts of the Design are used from Kirsch designed by Andrew & Austin
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.